We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint hotel in Williams, AZ”
Review of Red Garter Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Red Garter Inn
Ranked #3 of 12 Williams B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Olympia, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quaint hotel in Williams, AZ”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We enjoyed our overnight stay at The Red Garter in Williams, AZ. The rooms are very clean and well taken care of. It is in an old brothel as the website says and we stayed in The Parlor room. Deb, was very nice and helpful. She makes great treats for breakfast! John, the owner was very nice and informative about the history of his hotel and the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerWa62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    45
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
51
146
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plattsburg, Missouri, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Our first trip to the Southwest & the Grand Canyon. We decided to stay in Williams to ride the train. With the area room prices as high as they are, we decided we wanted a unique lodging experience. What is more unique than a turn of the century haunted ex-brothel? This was our first B&B experience and we are hooked! Well worth the price. Great atmosphere, period décor, wonderful hospitality. They have a coffee shop & bakery on the first floor which is open to the public (there is a breakfast niche reserved for the B&B guests). Imagine waking up to the smell of cinnamon rolls hot from the oven!

Here is an example of the hospitality we received: We had decided not to ride the train to the canyon. Instead, we were going to rise early in the morning and drive to the canyon at a time when the wildlife would be the most active. We were leaving before the morning baking was to be done and before the normal breakfast time. Hearing this Angie (one of the owners) told us she would pack us a breakfast of our choice of pastry & juice to take with us. All we had to do was pick it up at the bakery on our way out in the morning.

I mentioned four B's in the title of this review ... Bed, Breakfast, Brothel and one more . . . Beer! I am a brewmeister and a lover of handcrafted beers. Grand Canyon Brewery (located in Williams) & Historic Brewing (located in Flagstaff) have there beers on tap here. Both breweries do a very respectable job.

If we ever make it back here again, we definitely plan to stay here again!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Edward W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
in MA
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This inn may be small, but it is a great spot to spend a few days. Not only is it clean and comfortable but the people who run it are genuinely friendly. I stayed in the Parlor Room and it was perfect for me as I was travelling solo. Williams rocks on the weekends. There is a great variety of shops and restaurants too. Thanks to "everyone" for making the stay such an interesting one.

Room Tip: Parlor Room good for a couple and quieter for weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We enjoyed our stay during our trip to the Grand Canyon. The staff was extremely friendly and made us feel at home. The Big Bertha room was big enough for my wife and I and our two kids. The kids enjoyed the evening snacks. I enjoyed the history about this location. The only draw back with the Big Bertha room is the loud music that you can hear from the neighboring bar. Our first night it was very loud. The second night it stopped around 9pm.

Room Tip: Big Bertha Room has two full size beds. Very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mdx25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
348 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The Red Garter Inn is perfect for Williams. The little town has such a quaint and quirky atmosphere, it is a shame not to revel in it. When we booked our stay, we didn't think much of Williams, just a place to stay to catch the train up to the Grand Canyon. But we thoroughly enjoyed Williams and the Red Garter Inn. The inn is unique and quite fun. Great history, terrific breakfast pastries, good staff and a good room. We couldn't have asked for more. Ate dinner both nights at the two highly reviewed TripAdvisor restaurants and just enjoyed walking the shops and area on route 66 just a block away from the inn. Also nearby is a newly opened wine bar which serves the best darned beer ever! Loved our entire experience at the Red Garter and Williams.

Room Tip: We had a room in the center which had no window views, but there were transom windows and it was fin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SACALosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

My friends and I did a road trip on our vacation in Vegas from Canada to Williams. What a great night in Williams. Great little town and the Red Garter was a true hilight on this trip. We stayed in the Big Bertha room that had a huge bathroom, comfortable beds and a balcony with a view! The owner was so kind and full of history about the b&b. It was such a great visit. I would definitely stay there again!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Turbomomof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We picked this place because it was a historic property and we were not disappointed. The owners are wonderful folks, taking time and care with the place and with the guests. John entertained us at breakfast with fascinating stories of the history of this former brothel. The rooms were old and charming, and impeccably clean. If you want a chain hotel, don't stay here! If you want a place with character and wonderful history, this is for you. Deb bakes fresh pastries every morning, and you will not want to miss the cinnamon rolls. The coffee is great, too, and breakfast is included. If you are a history buff, you will love this hotel. We'd love to come back again. We met some very interesting folks!

Room Tip: We stayed in room #2 which was a little small, but quiet. We peeked in at the front room, which has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeonaHtheQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williams hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Williams
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williams-Grand Canyon Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Canyon Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Grand Canyon
0.4 mi away
Sheridan House Inn
Sheridan House Inn
#1 of 12 in Williams
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Garter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Garter Inn

Property: Red Garter Inn
Address: 137 W Railroad Ave, Williams, AZ 86046-2655
Region: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Garter Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Historic Route 66 just south of the Grand Canyon, the Red Garter offers lodging and breakfast in a beautifully restored 1897 saloon and bordello. The antique furnishings capture the 1890's atmosphere without giving up the comfort and security expected by today's traveler. Within an hour's drive see Sedona, the ghost town Jerome, Indian ruins at Walnut Canyon and Wupatki National Monuments and the Grand Canyon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Red Garter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Garter Hotel Williams

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing