We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a neat property”
Review of Red Garter Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Red Garter Inn
Ranked #3 of 12 Williams B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Owner/Innkeeper John Holst did a fantastic job of renovating this property into a bed and breakfast establishment. From what I read online when he purchased it the building was being used to house old tires, several thousand of them. Today all four of the rent able rooms are restored with vintage furniture that gives it the appearance of what it probably looked like in the 1930's when it was an active brothel. We found the furnishings quite comfy and most of all the mattress was comfortable. Usually, the mattresses in these restored structures are the short coming of the place, but this mattress was firm enough for us. The downstairs is now a pastry shop and you get free pastry and coffee when you go down in morning. They make them on the premises and they are very tasty. Want a late night snack? Just tell them and you can take a one or two up to your room. When we were there bottles water were also free to the hotel patrons. If you are planning on taking the Grand Canyon Railway down to the canyon for the six hour day tour this is your jumping off point as the the depot is right across the street and within walking distance, which we did. There is a vacant lot directly across from the hotel for free overnight parking and where you can leave your car if you ride the rails. I don't know if any other train uses the railways that are across from the hotel, but if they do we only heard the whistle from the one going to and from the canyon during the daylight hours. The road in front of the hotel is not highway 66 (next block over) so there was no road traffic at night. As with a lot of these old hotels the downside would be that there is no elevator and the internal stairway to the rooms is steep (used to be termed "the cowboy's endurance test"). Subsequently I can see no way that anyone using a wheelchair could make it up here without being carried. These older hotels are all grandfathered in as to the ADA requirements and can't be expected to tear the whole building down to put in accessories, so keep that in mind.
Be sure to try some of the local business for foods and such. The Sultana Bar (walking distance) supposedly has the oldest liquor license in the state of AZ and the barbecue was quite good for a small place like Williams.
As for paranormal activity...there was a lot of odd stuff that occurred while here but most we could write off to possibly being other guest activity; what is termed "people pollution" of evidence. However we did record enough to show that activity does exist on the premises but you will probably not notice without proper utilized equipment. Nothing out of ordinary was directly observed.

Room Tip: There are only four rooms to choose from. The "Best Gal's Room" which faces the stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank stanjanparanormal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

We booked this hotel because we thought it would be a novelty to stay in an old (possibly haunted) brothel during our trip to the Grand Canyon. We'd stay there again because of the welcoming and friendly staff and the charming nature of the Inn. We arrived and got an orientation to the hotel and our room, we were told we could help ourselves to the cookies and drinks which was a lovely touch. We stayed in the Madam's room which is an interior room, with a skylight so you still get to see the light of day. There are railway tracks nearby so light sleepers may be disturbed by the sound of trains and their horns as they come to the level crossings. I can honestly say the noise didn't really affect us though as we are fairly heavy sleepers.

The Inn is also a bakery, and you can select freshly baked items for breakfast. During breakfast John told us about the history of the Inn and some stories from its past. On both mornings we were there, we were given cookies and a drink to take with us on our day's adventures.

The Inn is well situated as well, right in the centre of Williams, which is such an adorable town, well worth a visit in it's own right.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElleJay85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The Red Garter is an old brothel that has been renovated into a small bed and breakfast inn. A "lady" seductively beckons from the upstairs window, and a small flight of stairs leads to the upstairs rooms. Our room was nice, old, quaint, and clean. Loved the deep, claw-footed tub - wished I had brought some bubble bath. There were fresh baked pastries for breakfast in the bakery downstairs. Unique, but overpriced - I really don't think it was worth the $200 we paid to spend the night. And if you decide to stay here, be aware that Check-in is only 4 - 8 p.m. We left the Grand Canyon earlier than we would have liked to arrive before 8:00. There is no A/C. And parking is in the public parking lot. We had to drag all our gear down and across the street, then up the stairs.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TravelingfromDixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwholst, Owner at Red Garter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Traveling from Dixie, Thank you for the review and kind words, we do our best but apparently missed the boat on letting you know we often and gladly check our guests in after hours if they call and let us know the are going to be late. We also apparently didn't point out the brand new individually controlled AC units we put in last winter. I will have a heart to heart with my staff about our check-in introduction. Sorry about the stairs, I guess the cowboys going up to meet the ladies didn't bring much luggage back in the day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

bypassed by I-40, it looked like the small arizona town of williams would suffer the same fate as may along old route 66. instead, the railroad came to town running a tourist attraction from williams to the grand canyon. as a result, the town has streets and streets of motels, bars, and curio stores.

among them is the red garter inn with proprietor john holst, a most helpful and affable host. as he will tell you, the old, two-story building has a fascinating history including use as a prohibition-era drinking establish, gambling den, with loose women above and a two-story outhouse (figure that one out). anyway, the room are accessed from about 20 narrow stairs and are well restored and charmingly decorated. downstairs, john and his staff serve a delicious small breakfast from the fresh-baked-daily bakery. the cranberry/oat scone was the best i have ever had. we have stayed here twice and certainly will return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My friend and I were looking for a place to stay on our way home from a long roadtrip. Luckily the Red Garter had one room left. My friend was a little apprehensive about the name of the place but when we rode into town we were so very pleasantly surprised. We stayed in the good girls room which overlooks the street. Beautifully appointed with period furniture and finishings. From the windows we had a clear view of both the sunset and sunrise. It just happened to be Saturday night and we enjoyed walking around Williams Main Street with shopping, restaurants and fun bars!! The town was buzzing on this last night of the holiday weekend. Getting back to our room we felt safe and comfortable. Bed was comfy with great pillows and homey blankets.

In the morning we were treated to a table set for our breakfast, complete with a newspaper, yummy cafe latte and breakfast of fresh pastries and fruit.

A quick story about the history of this charming location from the inn keeper and we were on our way!! She even packed us a little care package for the road!! Iwill definitely return!!!

Room Tip: Good Girls Room was very comfortable!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Great restored building! Very nice accommodations, and gracious inn keepers! Tasty treats, local history, ghost tales, and great location! Treated like old friends and we will be back! Anything Route 66 is at your doorstep, along with old west history!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank rickd886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

what a great place. when we arrived our keys we on the front desk waiting for us. we were greeted by a young woman that checked us in told us about breakfast hours and walked us to our room. the next morning we were greeted by the owner john, his staff and fresh baked goodies. all served with coffee, juice, cereal.....
if its nice sit outside there is a small patio to the side of the breakfast room have your breakfast there. we talked about our day and got some pointers for the day.

our room, "the best gals room" was big. it had a large sitting area, a queen bed, sat TV and great large windows which made the room very bright. the bathroom is a bit small but had everything we needed. the shower was nice and hot. the room is at the front of the bldg so the street noise can be heard but for the most part the town shut down early enough that it was not a big deal. the train whistles are very loud though and one or two did come through during the first night. we would stay here again for sure. the location was great in town but off the main street and walking distance to everything. there is a wine (and beer) bar right behind the INN the share a common alley way and they have great wine flights for 10 bucks and we had the butchers cutting board that was really good. and if you have too much your walk back is only a few steps, LOL.

...not really touted as "gay friendly" we were greeted with smiles right from the get go and had a wonderful time. and in the end we were walked outside when it was time to leave and given hugs and coffee for the road. Thumbs up!

Room Tip: there are 4 rooms: two "smaller" queen rooms - dbl queen room - "the best gals"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilAnthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williams hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Williams
0.6 mi away
Ramada Williams/Grand Canyon Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Trappers Rendezvous
Trappers Rendezvous
#2 of 12 in Williams
212 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lodge On Route 66
The Lodge On Route 66
#3 of 30 in Williams
820 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtowner-Rte 66
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Garter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Garter Inn

Address: 137 W Railroad Ave, Williams, AZ 86046-2655
Region: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Williams
Price Range: £108 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Garter Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Historic Route 66 just south of the Grand Canyon, the Red Garter offers lodging and breakfast in a beautifully restored 1897 saloon and bordello. The antique furnishings capture the 1890's atmosphere without giving up the comfort and security expected by today's traveler. Within an hour's drive see Sedona, the ghost town Jerome, Indian ruins at Walnut Canyon and Wupatki National Monuments and the Grand Canyon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Red Garter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Garter Hotel Williams

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing