We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maximum "Pointes"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Buffalo Pointe Lodge
Ranked #9 of 12 Williams B&B and Inns
East Kilbride
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Maximum "Pointes"”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Myself and two friends stayed at the Buffalo Point for two nights as part of our Route 66 road trip. The inn is in a great position, not only for all the restaurants and bars within walking distance in Williams, but also as a base to visit the Grand Canyon.

The building is full of character and has just been taken over by the new owner Alley, in September 2013. We arrived slightly early but received a friendly welcome from Alley who showed us up to our room on the upper floor. The room had two bedrooms, both of a good size with ceiling fan, tv and a shower room. The beds were very comfortable and we all enjoyed a good nights sleep, not having the continual noise of an air conditioning unit to contend with. Breakfast was continental style which we had in the small lounge/dinette although we could have had it out on the veranda which runs the length of the building. Alley is in the process of opening the restaurants at the side so this should provide greater scope for breakfast and other meals.

Alley, as a host was very warm and friendly and deserves all the success in her new venture. If I was to visit this area again, I would definitely stay here and would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DannyMcLEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    37
    12
    10
    3
See reviews for
18
45
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arvada, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

This B & B is quaint & in such an adorable little town! We loved the country atmosphere. The most fabulous part is the new inn keeper that recently purchased the inn & is updating some rooms! She is so friendly & we enjoyed talking to her before & after breakfast! There were guests from Europe there & we so enjoyed meeting them at breakfast too!
There were lovely pastries, fruit, and drinks there for breakfast. The restaurant was not open yet due to the season, but sure it will be a great addition.
We saw some of the other rooms & they were nice too.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Glory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

When we arrived in Williams and saw the lodge we immediately liked it. The owner was not there to greet us but had left our key in an envelope with a lovely little welcome note. We immeidately felt at home. Yes - the rooms are small and particularly so by American standards but this was due to the building being old. The rooms were pleasantly decorated and were clean and comfortable. We met the owner the following morning at breakfast and she was very welcoming. We had also been made aware that the property was up for sale. However, on meeting the owner we were told that she and her husband had only recently bought the building so it would be good to see if some of the comments from previous reviews are taken on-board. I would recommend staying at this lodge and would happily go back there myself.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PPitstop101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Wanted to go to the Grand Canyon. Williams AZ is the ideal spot to stop. It is about an hour away from the Canyon. I really liked the little town, heard some good music at a local pizza restaurant. I was however, charmed by they name of the motel. It really is no different than your average motorlodge. The room was very small, I was told a Queen bed,but I believe it was a full sized. There was only one bar of soap, no water glass, I parked on the street, I did not see the parking area. WiFi was advertised, but I could not get any WiFi. As for the Breakfast, it consisted of warm coffee and a bagel, juice. It is such small space I had to eat outside, it was pretty cool out or take it to my room. I am now seeing that it is for sale. That probably explains a great deal.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nifty60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights during our visit to Grand Canyon. Williams is a nice little town with great atmosphere, one hour drive from the canyon. It is well equipped for visitors who did not manage to get accommodation closer or contious of cost.
Buffalo Point is a nice small lodge in Williams. The room was clean and sufficient, extra point for the fan, which makes your night sweet on the comfy bed. The room comes with continental breakfast. It is basically toast, butter and jam, with juice and maybe some fruits. If you plan a proper day in the canyon, you better have a full breakfast somewhere ( plenty of choice in town) The ad said there was Wifi in public area... If the public area means the other inn on the other side of the road, then it is true.
Anyway, it all came for 86usd per night, which I find bit overpriced. Worth checking other options in town.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Firstly, I must say I think this property should be in the Hotel category: it is not someone's house - therefore not a B&B, and you can't buy a drink or a meal - therefore not an Inn.

This is an old, characterful building which is still for sale and operated by the Canyon Country Inn opposite.

Although perfectly pleasant, being in an old building, the room we had was on the small side.
Whilst I don't generally have a problem with this, what I do have a problem with is that for $84/night (plus tax) I don't even get a bedside light, despite there being a nightstand, let alone anything other than an old TV.

The bathroom was also particularly small. This could be so much better if the space was used properly, e.g. replace the full bath with a shower cabinet. Presumably the problem is, understandably, as the place is for sale the current operators aren't going to make the necessary investment. All I'd ask is, set your prices accordingly as I feel the current rates don't represent good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, WI
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Our family--three generations--booked two rooms here. As other reviewers have noted, the place is for sale feels a bit forlorn; currently it's being managed by the hotel across the street. Yet the rooms were tidy, breakfast was very good, and the manager even plugged in a mini-fridge in a common area for us to leave our food. Especially nice for us was the ample outdoor space for eating and for our 10-month-old to crawl around. The continental breakfast was better than expected: bagels, yogurt, fresh fruit, muffins, juice, coffee.

Only downside was the noise level, as the walls are on the thin side.

Overall, and excellent value.

Room Tip: Light sleepers may want to request that they *not* be put in room 9, which opens directly to a commo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lsilver3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williams hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
0.0 mi away
Canyon Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Williams
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Grand Canyon
0.2 mi away
Grand Canyon Hotel
Grand Canyon Hotel
#4 of 12 in Williams
447 reviews
1.3 mi away
Canyon Motel & RV Park
Canyon Motel & RV Park
#11 of 30 in Williams
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffalo Pointe Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Pointe Lodge

Property: Buffalo Pointe Lodge
Address: 437 W Route 66, Williams, AZ 86046-2429 (Formerly Mountain Country Lodge)
Region: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Buffalo Pointe Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Route 66 original. This Bed and Breakfast dates to 1909 as a lumber barrons mansion, then the bus stop and Mayors' house. Located downtown Williams and 45 minutes from the South Rim of the Grand Canyon. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Buffalo Pointe Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing