We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun!”

Grand Canyon Railway
Book In Advance
More Info
US$139.99*
and up
Grand Canyon Railway Adventure Package
Ranked #1 of 36 things to do in Williams
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historic train that takes a 65-mile trip from Williams to the Grand Canyon and offers great views of the Arizona high country.
Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fun!”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We had a great time on the train. It was so much easier than driving to the Grand Canyon (we're in an RV.) Caleb, our attendant was super friendly and helpful. Great experience!

Helpful?
1 Thank Patty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,910 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,029
    1,139
    361
    176
    205
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great way to get to the Grand Canyon”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

My family and I took the train from Williams, AZ to the Grand Canyon on a day trip. This was part of a package that we purchased. The train itself was clean and comfortable. It's about 2hr ride each way. Light snacks and beverages were included with the trip. We had 10+ people in our party and were all seated facing each other (most of us anyway) and were able to get up and chat during the train ride. You can sometimes see wildlife (deer) from the train. On the return trip there is a pretend "hold up" where cowboys board the train and try and take your money. Some of the kids liked it, but others weren't too happy. Overall, the kids really liked the train ride and so did the adults!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank CtheGlobe77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Looks better on their website!”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We love railroads, so during our 2014 summer visit to Arizona we booked in advance the 2 day trip on the Grand Canyon Railway for two people which included two overnight stays in their hotels, two meals per day in their restaurant and the actual train ride to the Grand Canyon - total price for two people $1200.00. The train departs from their station located in Williams, AZ. this will be your first night stay in what is a small quaint hotel. Nothing special here, just a clean room, plenty of parking including RV parking. The breakfast and dinners are buffet style served in their restaurants. This is typical buffet fare, aluminum trays with poached food sitting there for hours on end. Get there early if you want to eat anything remotely "fresh: The restaurants are nicely decorated and very comfortable.
The train ride from the hotel to the GC is about 70 miles each way, and it's pretty much a straight line up and back. Their promo video looks very nice and exotic but most of the ride is on bare dessert track with nothing much to see. It's a couple of hours of train time each way. Once you arrive at the GC you will access the very same internal transportation system as everyone else which will take you to all the great spots on the south rim. You will spend the night at their hotel inside the GC, some more "buffet" for dinner and breakfast and a train ride back to Williams, AZ.
It was nice, but we expected more for over $1000 for two people. Prices vary according to time of year, some off-season promotions with the hotels and meals are available for under $500 for two people. You can also book the train by itself for the day ride at $75 pp each way. If you are looking for just a nice train ride for the day this may be a better deal for you.
If you just want to see the Grand Canyon on a budget, just drive the 76 miles from Flagstaff, it's a straight shot on the highway. Access to the park is just $25 per car load (up to 14 people) which includes plenty of free parking and use of the parks bus transportation system. A great value for a family, and you will see EVERYTHING that the $1000 dollar train ride visitors are seeing, without the buffets and cheap hotels. Everybody should visit the GC at least once in their lifetime, but the Grand Canyon Railway may not be the best value for the money in doing it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Op4play
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Travelers beware.”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This trip was a terrible waste of money and time. It was way to expensive for what you get. Go any other way but this. I f you really want to see the grand canyon take one of the guided tours so you can really see and enjoy it. This train is such a ripoff.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Tripsfortruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Youngsville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

This was an easy and fantastic way to see the Grand Canyon. No worries on the trip. We did the overnight stay at the Maswick Lodge. My favorite part ( being a single mom traveling with two kids) was that they took care of all the luggage transporting.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grand Canyon Railway also viewed

 

Been to Grand Canyon Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing