We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A buffet with something for everyone”
Review of Grand Depot Cafe

Grand Depot Cafe
Ranked #15 of 63 Restaurants in Williams
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast
Los Angeles, CA
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A buffet with something for everyone”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Our package tour included two breakfasts and two dinners at the Grand Depot Cafe, which is part of the Grand Canyon Railway Hotel. There is a large variety of food available in this all-you-can eat cafe. You are seated by a hostess, and a waitress takes your drink order, and at dinner time, brings you dessert. The dinner featured, among many other dishes, a carving station for roast beef and turkey, and a made-to-order pasta station. The breakfast featured, among many other dishes, a made-to-order omelet station. A model train circles a track above the room, to the delight of all. At dinner time, a "cowboy band" entertains. and at breakfast, a cowboy roams the tables and chats with the children.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank GrandmaSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    198
    172
    68
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“variety, good quality food”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Our expectations were low based on other reviews, but this restaurant served us quickly each day, and the menu was varied each time. Breakfast included oatmeal, cereal, yogurt, pancakes, bacon, egg casserole and made to order omelets. Dinner included salad bar, soup, baked chicken, baked fish,BBQ ribs, baked potato, broccoli, rolls, and soft serve ice cream for dessert. I only wish they had native Arizona-Mexican food on the buffet.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Observant_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fast and Easy”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The food here for breakfast and dinner was fine: plenty to eat, lots of choices, hot pasta bar, baked potatoes, beverages and desserts. Where the problem was, especially at dinner, was the staff. They had that dull glassy look in their eyes as if they could not believe they actually had to be there, work and be nice. This lack of appreciation that the only reason they have a job is because of the tourists was evident from the time we entered the depot including the cashier, hostesses, and waitress (who never showed until we asked to see a manager.) The bar staff stood off together chatting hoping no one would bother them. Be careful if you ask to sit somewhere else than where the hostess tries to seat you. She says loudly in a huff: then just show me where you want to sit. We saw this over and over - hilarious.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traceyb161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easley, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Numerous food choices”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

You will not leave here hungary. Wonderdful salad bar, a paste bar to create you own freshly prepared.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank TinaRongione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great for Families”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I already posted a comment under the hotel. The food was pretty good and I'd say it is an excellent situation for families. It's right next door to the hotel and there is something for everyone. It beats driving around town and finding something that everyone would like. I suppose the price would be an issue, but the pain of it would be hidden in your hotel package, if you got a package.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Irvine_TSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Grand Depot Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing