We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bear-bone basic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel 6 Williams West - Grand Canyon
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Reviewed 5 November 2013

This is a bear-bone basic hotel, nothing to like except a place to get a night's sleep. Poor mattress, no blow dryer, coffee maker, Kleenex, stark walls, and vending machines out of order.
Trash and old mattress tossed near back entrance and front desk girl was unfriendly and seemed to hate people or life in general.

Room Tip: If it's just one night, the $50 rate makes it bearable, but only one night.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brownman58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Williams West - Grand Canyon, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We sincerely apologize for your unpleasant stay. Please kindly contact our Guest Relations department so they can have a record of your experience to help us provide you and our other guests with better service in the future: 1-800-577-3435.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (392)
There are newer reviews for Motel 6 Williams West - Grand Canyon
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 392 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2013

Room was spacious and clean. Location good for Canyon visit or route 66 trip. Laundry facilities good, pool looked ok but there was a problem so it was too cold to go in during my stay. Most staff were friendly... Housekeepers and maintenence were very friendly and helpful.. however some reception staff were not particularly helpful at all. During my stay I had planned to visit the Grand Canyon, however, due to the government shutdown it was closed. So I had two days here with nothing to do. I realise this is in no way the staff's fault however they gave me no advice or information on what to do otherwise when I asked... So I had nothing to do but wander round, read leaflets and shop etc.

So, overall, it's a good place to stay but maybe avoid needing help or advice from the staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Not your usual Motel 6. Nicely laid out, rooms were very nice and moderately priced. Front desk was very accomadating and room was quiet and comfortable. Can't give enough praise for this motel. Location was good, with the Motel 6 east only a block away.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doug C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed at Motel 6 during our visit to the Grand Canyon. Staff was very friendly. We were able to put a room on hold for family members who were coming into town last minute. My kids loved having an indoor pool. The breakfast was a little light but the price was nice.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ldymerlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed at Motel 6 Williams West for just one night as a part of our tour. It´s a two-storey building without a lift. The decor is quite outdated.

It was only a very short stay for us. We arrived late, at about 10 pm and left early the next morning.
Our room very quiet and it was rather small, but it had two double beds. We really liked the Motel-6-style-design of the bed cover.
However, when we went to bed, we realized we didn´t like the rest of the bedding: the sheets didn´t feel fresh at all and I expect they had not been changed!

It was late and we were very tired so didn´t go down to complain about the sheets.

The bathroom was also not great. The tub made strange, loud noises when I stepped into it to take a shower.

I´m pretty there may be better motels!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Badlydrawngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We chose this motel based on previous reviews and the proximity to the Grand Canyon. Upon check in, the receptionist was more interested in telling about her troubles than giving basic check in details such as where the room was located or where the ice machines were located. We already didn't expect much based on previous reviews and got what we were expecting. The room was definitely outdated, there was small amounts of what appeared to be "mold" growing in the bath/shower area. But the room itself while outdated, worked for our needs and the price was certainly much better than staying closer to the Grand Canyon. We also ate at the Pine Country Restaurant and will give our review there, but that was one of the highlights of our time in Williams, AZ. If you're looking for basic accommodations for a reasonable price and go into it expecting nothing, this is worth staying at. But if you're one who prefers a more upscale night's stay, we'd suggest you steer clear of here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Counsellor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights while visiting the Grand Canyon. It was not expensive, not for what you get, which is nothing. The decor is awful, no alarm clock, no hair dryer, no nothing!!! Who doesn't have an alarm clock???? No breakfast at all. What WAS good, was we were able to walk to downtown Williams instead of driving and had a ton of fun doing that. There aren't a lot of quality options for stays in Williams, which is a real shame b/c the town itself is tons of fun! Wouldn't stay here again. The room was clean however, but the beds were super old!!! Old school coil with no pillow top. If I hadn't been exhausted from hiking the Grand Canyon not sure how I would have slept! No elevator, that sucked!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Williams West - Grand Canyon, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

Dear Michelle T - Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for sharing your thoughts about our room design. We apologize for bed comfort issue you encountered and will take your feedback into consideration as we work to improve our guests' experience with us.
Regarding the lack of amenities such as toiletries, etc. - please know that, as an economy brand, we keep our amenities limited in order to keep our brand promise to offer great value for the lowest price of any national chain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williams hotels
0.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Williams / Grand Canyon
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Williams
Days Inn Williams
#5 of 30 in Williams
1,479 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ramada Williams/Grand Canyon Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Grand Canyon
0.1 mi away
Motel 6 Williams East - Grand Canyon
0.2 mi away
Highlander Motel
Highlander Motel
#21 of 30 in Williams
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Williams West - Grand Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Williams West - Grand Canyon

Address: 831 W Route 66, I-40 E or W Exit 161, Williams, AZ 86046-2227
Region: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Price Range: £30 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Williams West - Grand Canyon 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Motel 6 Williams West - Grand Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Williams West - Grand Canyon Hotel Williams
Motel 6 Grand Canyon
Motel Six Williams
Williams Motel 6
Williams Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing