We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very well situated for Grand Canyon North Rim”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Canyon Inn & Motel
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We were a family of four staying for one night near the Grand Canyon. We approached this motel with some trepidation given other reviews but were pleasantly surprised. The receptionist was brisk but efficient, the room was well-appointed, and the immediate area interesting. You are only 20 miles from the Grand Canyon rim which is considerably nearer to the Canyon than Williams (the hotel is 23 miles outside Williams), although Williams is much larger and more interesting (try the burgers and homemade cream soda at the unreconstructed 1950s café Twisters). There is a garage with a good general store and souvenir shop right next door. I didn't sleep well and woke with bad backache but the rest of the family were fine so can't necessarily damn the beds for that. We didn't try the restaurant for breakfast or dinner. Worth considering.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (596)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 596 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

We were looking for somewhere for a family of four within easy striking distance on the Grand canyon. This fit the bill for distance, 20-30 mins drive to the South Rim. Somewhat dated décor and fixings, aircon was there but very noisy, heated pool is not heated, there is a restaurant and bar. The food and restaurant service is definitely not worth the 18% service levy (that may be applied to groups) and IS applied to families of four. On top of the already 'inflated' prices too much to bear.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 791IanW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Pros: 20 min away from Grand Canyon. Annex building remodeled rooms were very nice.


Cons: Pool needed vacuuming, maintenance on the grounds was lacking (burned out bulbs, light post knocked over, grass needed cutting, weeds pulled) Standard rooms were okay, clean, nice size, beds weren't very comfortable, poor WIFI, restaurant quality was fair (food bland and tasteless), halls reeked of sanitizer, no phones in the room (?), television reception made viewing unwatchable

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank travlr82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

we checked it late evening and left next day by 9, over all it was a good stay. Staff is friendly, i saw all women (no guys) in the staff. Room was clean and beds were comfortable, they suggested us a restaurant in williams and it was very good. This motel does not have a lift or elevator, so make sure you book your hotel which requests for rooms in ground floor. Breakfast was buffet and had a good spread. It was an okay stay

Room Tip: there are no good rooms, its all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KAvishh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Just OK. Much cheaper than the hotels at the Grand Canyon Village and closer to the Grand Canyon than the hotels in Williams. It is an half hour drive to the National Park. Valle itself is very small, with only this hotel, a gas station and the airport. The administration closes after 10PM, so you better check in earlier when you are planning to see the sunset at the Grand Canyon. We arrived there around 11AM and could already check in. The room is nice and clean. Breakfast is not included. There is a restaurant where you can have breakfast (just the standard menu: eggs, pancakes, etc.).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank HannekeLeonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

As an amateur to this place, and with some feedback around we decided to stay in a good hotel and after a lot of search online we landed up here. We payed around 75$ for the room. It is isolated and quiet around which is little scary as we were told by the hotel staff that there are animals around and we need to drive safely. We managed to reach there late in the evening and were shocked as we entered the room, it ended as we entered. For 75$ we could find something similar in NYC. It was way too small and it gives you creepy feeling too. The AC was way too old and bathrooms too small to fit even a single person.

If you have budget constraints and are not fussy about the accommodation this is a decent place to stay. It's just the size of the room and amenities in the room that is a turn off. And yes, definitely overpriced.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chinky A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed here because of the good reviews. Don’t know what the reviewers were thinking. It is in the middle of nowhere and when we pulled up we were shocked to see how bad it was. We asked for a king bed but could not find our reservation and so we got 2 queens. The owner was really nasty to the receptionist because she put out room in wrong, who does that in front of people. It is very old and falling apart, you hear everything, the people walking above us, their TV’s because of thin walls. Yes the room was big and did have new tile as you entered which went into the bathroom but downhill from there. The rug was old and had stains. You could hear the water running in the shower and flushing toilet next door and the furniture was old. We tried to open the window for some fresh air and the screen started to fall out. The mattresses were soft, creaked when you moved and uncomfortable. The bathroom was super small; you could not close the door which was chipped all along the bottom without moving out of the way, in fact, there was a ¼ of an inch space between the toilet and door (see picture). The toilet was very low and old. The shower/tub and fixtures were old but did have good water pressure. The towels were paper thin, small, and dingy, should have been thrown in the garbage (see picture). Don’t think they ever saw bleach or fabric softener. They patched the shower ceiling and then painted it a different color (see picture). The hallway needed updating; the heat registers were coming off the wall. We picked this place because the Best Western and Lodge 20 miles closer to the Grand Canyon were about $200 but if we ever went again we would stay there and not here. Be careful of the elk during the day and night. It is their home, we almost hit them twice.
We eat at We Cook Pizza, stay away. The pizza was awful with cheap sauce and very chewy mozzarella. They had a small salad bar which you could up once, lettuce, spinach, cukes, beets, peppers, potatoe salad, coleslaw, imitation bacon and sunflower seeds. I guess you could just have salad.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krysiaCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williams
22.2 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 6 in Tusayan
1,755 reviews
22.2 mi away
Grand Canyon Plaza
Grand Canyon Plaza
#6 of 6 in Tusayan
57 reviews
22.1 mi away
Red Feather Lodge
Red Feather Lodge
#4 of 6 in Tusayan
2,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.3 mi away
Quality Inn Near Grand Canyon
22 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
21.9 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canyon Inn & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Inn & Motel

Address: 317 S State Route 64, Williams, AZ 86046-9585
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Price Range: £46 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Grand Canyon Inn & Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms at Grand Canyon Inn & Motel are non-smoking with free WIFI. We are located 23 miles south of the park entrance and 30 miles north of Williams. Our front desk is open from 7am until about 9pm. Breakfast is available off menu, served until 11am. Our lounge has all the favorite beverages and large screen televisions. Our seasonal outdoor pool is open from Memorial Day until Labor Day. Rooms with 2 queen beds have refrigerators. A guest microwave is available in the lobby. Parking is free for our guests. Hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Canyon Inn & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canyon Hotel Williams
Grand Canyon Williams
Grand Canyon Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing