We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good steaks poor service”
Review of Rod's Steak House

Rod's Steak House
Ranked #13 of 59 Restaurants in Williams
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Herts UK
Level Contributor
101 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good steaks poor service”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This restaurant was just across the road from our motel and as it was pouring with rain decided to eat here rather then venture too far.
When we got in we were advised by the woman doing front of house that we would have to wait 20 minutes for a table (despite there being at least 5 tables that I could see that were empty) and directed us downstairs to the bar. The bar only had one barmaid who was struggling to cope as she had to serve not only the customers in the bar but also prepare drinks for those already eating in the restaurant. We eventually got our drinks just as we were called to our table.
The steaks were good and the price was OK including as it did soup or salad. The waiters tried their best and were pleasant enough but the service was far too slow. It would seem that the management have staffing levels set at below the appropriate level.
Maybe we were unlucky on that particular night, and if in Williams again I would be prepared to give them another chance, but based on this one experience I would advise going elsewhere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Malsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    222
    117
    79
    92
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Esbjerg, Denmark
Level Contributor
201 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Wow - great steaks and nice staff”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We were so happy that we went to this nice restaurant for our one night in Williams.
Staff was friendly and food was perfect. I had the sugar-dipped steak... nice one!
We also had some chillis - which I would love to know the name of, as they were just right - spicy but not too much.
Very good meal - can recommend it to all who love a good steak.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kynde22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
63 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Historic restaurant with excellent food & atmosphere”
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

We eat at Rod's at least once a summer. Lately it had been simply due to tradition and the history of this restaurant in Williams. But this time the food quality was amazing instead of average as we experienced in the last 2 yr. The cuts of beef were delicious, cooked perfectly to order and made our experience amazing. The yeast rolls are always a treat and our waiter was very attentive (and kept us rolling in rolls). Simply delicious, attentive staff and owner, and a MUST Do when in Williams.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KarinWisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewey, Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Arizona Native Finds 27 Year Old Treasure”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

My husband and I went to Williams for dinner. We always had passed Rod's and decided to stop. This restaurant has a simple menu that is steeped in tradition. If you like a good T-bone, fresh salad and tasty buns stop and give it a try. The wait staff was friendly and informative about the menu. Clean restrooms is my thing and I give the ladies room an A!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rex00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delicious Steak Dinner”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We we driving through Williams, and noticed a billboard advertising this restaurant and decided to give it a try. We were happily surprised! The staff was very friendly, but most importantly the steaks were very good. And be sure to try their homemade rolls!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank loraine84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rod's Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Rod's Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing