We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lodge On Route 66

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lodge On Route 66
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2010

My wife was a bit apprehensive when we pulled in not having a great opinion of motels but The Lodge on Route 66 is no ordinary motel. We stayed in the Santa Monica suite & if you are staying in Williams for more than one night we can thoroughly recommend it. It comprises of a lounge/dining area which is divided from the bedroom by double french doors and although it is not cheap by motel standards in my opinion well worth the money.
Williams is a buzzing little town & a great place to spend a day or two - the Grand Canyon Railway is great fun as is Bearizona, a wildlife park which has recently opened.
We drove the entire Route 66 from Chicago to L.A., & Williams & The Lodge on Route 66 was one of the nicest places we stayed.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mjb2354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    244
    43
    9
    3
See reviews for
206
376
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix Arizona
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2010

Our family stayed here while riding the Polar Express. The single Queen room was very small but VERY quant and up to date. The double queen was much larger. There is a nice covered gather place with fireplaces and heat lamps (WIFI too) in the center of the parking lot. Everyone from age 50 to 3 years enjoyed our stay. Staff was great. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol_Phoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2010

Rooms are small, but nicely furnished, clean, and full of charm. Would love to stay there again. Friendly front desk, and across from excellent JD's espresso coffeeshop. Wish we could've stayed longer in this fun town.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lu1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2010

We booked two nights at this motel based on Tripadvisor reviews. We had a distinctly different experience than others.

We arrived. There was the "nice young man" to greet us. He directed us to restaurants that were simply awful but where he could give us a coupon which indicated his name. Hmmm. He told us "Yes" there was free wifi but "gosh" it only worked outside (30F to 45F) or in the office - not in the rooms, the "parts" were broken. I had checked this the day before and wouldn't have stayed without the wifi.

Our room did not look like the photos. We had 2 queen beds and it was so cramped that to walk to the bathroom at night was an exercise in not barking your shins on the bed frames.

Our toilet ran and ran and ran. We asked the women (one of the owners) at the desk if we could move rooms since the noise was going to distract us when we tried to sleep. She did not answer but said she'd look. She came, made some adjustment, said her husband would look at it while we were at dinner. We went to dinner, came back and the problem was there again. I asked for another room again. She said her husband looked at the toilet and said it needed a new flapper and would replace it in the morning. What good does that do us? Ridiculous. I persisted and she called her husband who had been working in the room next to ours all this time. He - quite put out - came in with a new stopper and in less than 5 minutes replaced the broken part. They would have left us with a running toilet rather than spend 5 minutes.

Also be aware that the photography of the rooms in no way represents what you see when you get there. The had a very good photographer. And they don't show you the bathrooms which look - except for some new gold tone fixtures - really dingy.

You need training to operate the TV - really.

Light from the center court streams through the windows at night. And finally, forget the free continental breakfast. Do yourself a favor and go to the Starbucks at the Safeway nearby or try a breakfast place in town. It's just downright pathetic.

We had booked two nights. We checked out after one.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DoubleP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Hills
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2010

Stayed at The Lodge on Route 66 on two separate nights (Wednesday and Friday), with a trip to the Grand Canyon between. We very much enjoyed our stay and would definitely return. The place is family owned and operated and is not your "cookie cutter" chain type of motel. The rooms are very tastefully decorated and the beds were very comfortable. We felt like we were staying at someone's home rather than a motel. Everything in our room was clean and in working order. No coffeemaker in the room, so we brought our own. There is a nice continental breakfast is served starting at 7:30 for several hours. The breakfast includes coffee, juices, packaged sweet rolls, yogurt, oatmeal, fruit, and breads. The owner was very friendly and gave us a good restaurant recommendation (Red Raven). In the lobby you can check out the photos of the motel renovation. You'll see the hardwork the owners have put into their place. They can be very proud of their motel!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LH-California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
80 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2010

Can't imagine there's a better place to stay in Williams, an hour's drive from Grand Canyon's South Rim. We felt very much at home - room had everything we needed and more. Breakfast was good too.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KMKTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin, USA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2010

Our family was travelling to national parks in Utah & Arizona and decided to visit historic Williams, staying in the Lodge On Route 66. We were surprised to find pillow top beds and nice decor in a budget lodge. Beds are very comfortable, clean rooms and a nice continental breakfast included. We would recommend to anyone looking for a good night's rest.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheKidsAreGone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williams hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Williams
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Williams
Days Inn Williams
#4 of 30 in Williams
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Grand Canyon
0.3 mi away
Canyon Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Near Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge On Route 66? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge On Route 66

Property: The Lodge On Route 66
Address: 200 East Route 66, Williams, AZ 86046
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Williams
#1 Romantic Hotel in Williams
#5 Business Hotel in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Lodge On Route 66 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge On Route 66 Hotel Williams
Hotel On Route 66
Motel On Route 66

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing