We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Malted Milks To Go!”
Review of Twisters

Twisters
Ranked #21 of 63 Restaurants in Williams
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$18
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Takeout
Description: Twisters is a Route 66 original building built in 1926. The original Texaco gas station has been converted into Twisters garage bar. Our bar carries 17 beers, and 3 wines on tap, some of Arizona's best local brews. The restaurant serves some of the best steaks in Northern Arizona along with great 50's food. Hours: 11am-9pm Monday - Saturday 11am - 4pm Sunday
DEN
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Malted Milks To Go!”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

After a decent hike I stumbled into Williams. googled for best malted in Williams and got...Twisters! I double checked with some locals and off I went. One strawberry/raspberry malted later and I was convinced....great! The place was just emptying out of some bus tourists so it was a bit crowded and tables needed to be 'bused' so I slinked off to the bar area. Food is also supposed to be good but i only had room for MM! What a treat. PS - the days of the 50 cent malted are long gone.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pakrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    80
    33
    20
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dalton, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just what an ice cream parlor sbould look like!”
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

Twisters is a delightful place to down any and all things ice cream. With a 50's motif, it's hard not to enjoy everything, but the chocolate-covered cherry Blue Bell ice cream earned an A+. I saw they also served sandwiches, but it's beyond me why anyone would have a hamburger, when he could have a hot fudge sundae. Or...both! Be still my beart!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LinderMarkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food, but nothing special”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

The decor is certainly evocative of the good old days of diners of days gone by. The menu is pretty limited to burgers, chicken fingers, catfish, and ice cream treats, but hey, that's why you came, wasn't it? The lady down the street in the art gallery said that Twisters had the best fries around, and they were quite good. Almost shoestring fries in diameter, they were tasty and crispy. We'll not ask for a calorie count. The burgers were succulent and well dressed, but not overly large nor amazing. The shakes were adequate. But this normal meal cost me $20 / person (including tip).

Perhaps the waiter was a bit distracted by my teenage daughter who was flirting with him maliciously, but he forgot to take my order completely!

Anyway, the restaurant is clean, lives up to what it advertises, but not a lot more.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gkmchardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Glimpse at a 50s Diner”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This is a fun place to take the kids to experience a glimpse into the past and enjoy a root beer float with a burger and fries. The peg board game at our booth was a hit with our 10 year old granddaughter! This is a great place to stop with the kids on the way to the Grand Canyon for some good old fashion comfort food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Exgardenersinthehood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxnard, California
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“WAY understaffed”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We went here for dinner and this place just seemed in over their heads. They had a young teenager taking orders who was very friendly, but it seemed like his first night as a waiter. It was just this one kid and then one adult on the stove cooking. The stove and cooking area is all in the same room with the tables and such so you can see your food being cooked. We ordered malts that never came, and when the food arrived, it was completely the wrong order. Mind you this was after almost an hour of waiting. At that point we were so fed up, we just ate the incorrect food that was brought to us and had to ask the girl working the ice cream stand to make our shake. The food itself wasn't that bad (diner kinda like Johnny Rockets) but that was probably the worst service experience I've ever had at a restaurant. Hire more people and maybe that problem can be fixed.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelinteacher1282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Twisters also viewed

 

Been to Twisters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing