We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great start to our vacation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Canyon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Canyon Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Williams B&B and Inns
Peralta, New Mexico
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A great start to our vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed in the family loft with 2 twins and a queen. Finally! A place that split the two teenage boy/girl twins into their own beds! Better than two rooms, which I haven't done, but I still know it's better because we remained together. The location is perfect and we spent a lot of time walking around. This hotel is located in the middle of it all. Parking was not a problem even though parking is not allowed on the main route. Buck is a hoot! Two of us couldn't sleep so we started walk-exploring. We ended up at Buck's place while the teens were still in bed. He does need to write that book. He is a wealth of information. If you are ever in Williams, Buck is the lead guy in the street shootout. He has a shop there that if you weren't being interested, you would walk right on past. Not us. He says he is the 5th fastest draw in the US and talked about taking your eyeballs out with his whip. Which are allowed on airplanes. He is a former Marine and law enforcement with an incredible background. He teaches quick draw and whips. Did I mention he's extremely versed in movie trivia? Looking for a living museum in Williams? Lookup Buck. He's a one man best western experience ever.

Room Tip: There are photos of most of the rooms online. I read our room did not have A/C, but it did. The hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    158
    46
    17
    23
See reviews for
66
228
26
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights on a trip to the Canyon. The room was nice and quiet, the AC worked well as did the ceiling fan. The people working were very helpful and friendly. The hotel had parking behind the building which was nice, since you can't park on 66 at night. It was about 45 minutes up to the canyon, but it was a good place to stay. We rented a room with a bathroom, which we were happy about (we didn't enter the shared bathroom.) The only thing that I didn't particularly like was that the window in our room didn't look out at anything at all and provided little light.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here for two nights while visiting the Grand Canyon. We had booked a room with a double bed, but the hotel runs on a first come first serve choice of rooms basis. We picked our room, a double as we had hoped, and went to get our baggage. Upon returning from the car the gentleman behind the counter came up and told us that in organising the rooms he had only put us down for one night and not two, and said that room was actually booked. He then dropped the key to a two single bed room in our hand and took the other off us. We were fine with this until the second night when we saw that the original room was still empty, we assume this was because the people who were apparently booked chose a different room as well, which just makes his reasoning for us not having it illogical seeing as it was what we booked.

Apart from that it was pretty nice, it looks really cute, the room we ended up sleeping in had a vintage American football theme. The beds themselves were quite squeaky, probably because of their age, but are confortable enough. It can get quite warm in the rooms in the summer, they do have a mini airconditioner unit hanging out the window which helps a bit and a ceiling fan also. The room does have a sink in it, which makes it a but nicer not having to wait for a bathroom when you just want to clean your teeth or something. There's a bit of dust here and there and the floors all seem to be on an angle, but it sort of adds to its rustic charm.

The woman behind reception, who's name I did not catch, was very helpful and good for a chat. She showed us her pet lizard and a few photos of old animals she had in the fish tanks in the lobby.

Overall it was fairly enjoyable and it is quite a cute old establishment.
But don't go with the expectation you will get exactly what you booked. The location is good and about an hours drive from the canyon.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ancel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

I agree with other reviewers who said this is a cross between a hostel, a bed and breakfast, and a boutique hotel. Every room is unique and decorated differently. Our bed was comfortable and the room decoration was really cool! The owner and the rest of the staff are friendly and treat you like a friend. Coffee was hot and ready in the common room every morning. It was really more like staying in a friend's home than in a hotel.

The price was great, it was within walking distance of several good restaurants and about an hour south of the Grand Canyon.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ksm99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

You will either love or hate this hotel! I loved it, but it is so difficult to categorise. I might say it was a backpackers' hotel or in the same breath a boutique hotel.
What it is, is the original hotel in the centre of Williams, lovingly restored, but brought up to the 21st century. If you arrive early enough, you can choose your room and each has its own theme; mine had a nautical theme, with amongst other things, a starfish, a Russian Naval Uniform hanging on the wall and a globe of the world. The room was not large, but had a chest of drawers, a small chair and a little table. There was an overhead fan and air-conditioning. There was a shower, toilet and washbasin off the main room, which had the original flooring restored, with carpet runners. There was not enough space for a wardrobe and very little hanging space for clothes.
Downstairs there was a magnificent lounge at the front of the building that seemed to get very little use. In the middle was reception and the staff there were so friendly and helpful, it was hard to believe. At the rear was another lounge for residents with a communal fridge and microwave and a pc and several sofas. This was where guests could gather, share a beer and discuss the day's happenings.
The rooms did not have television and the was no elevator, but each room had free wi-fi. There is limited parking at the rear of the hotel, but ample on-street parking nearby.
When the staff here say 'Have a good day', they mean it! I am so very glad that I chose this hotel, but I do realise it is not right for everybody.

Room Tip: Room at the back will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon, Indiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

The Grand Canyon Hotel first operated in 1901. The empty building was rescued and refurbished around 2004. If you are looking for a hotel that is a cross between a bed & breakfast, boutique and vintage, then this is the place for you! If you are looking for big rooms, a TV, oversized bathroom and a concierge, then look elsewhere.

We stayed in the "Blue Room" for 3 nights. Its windows faced historic Route 66 and the window fans were more than adequate to keep the room comfortable. Some rooms have window air conditioners, but the two that face Route 66 do not. Surprisingly, the town rolls up about 10pm and noise from the street was not a problem. The bathroom was small but very functional. Sink in the bedroom. Some rooms share a bath. For some others, a bathroom in the hall (a water closet in vintage terms) is available. Make sure you know what accommodations you are booking so there are no surprises when you arrive.

The owners and staff were friendly and helpful. There was a refrigerator on the first floor that you could use to store items. Unfortunately, no ice. Again, this hotel is more of a bed and breakfast feel, without the breakfast. An excellent diner is next door, and there are dozens of places to eat in historic Williams, so that wasn't a problem.

There is parking behind the hotel, or on side streets. DO NOT park on Route 66 overnight. You'll get a ticket!

Overall, we really enjoyed our time here, with a real feeling of what it must have been like generations ago.

Room Tip: Check out each room on their website. Private bath? Air Conditioning? Make sure you know!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DmDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

As soon as I stepped into the hotel, I knew it was going to be good. The staff knew who I was (I don't know how), they were polite and super nice. The room I got was the WWI (World War 1) room and it was so cool with clothes & pictures of that era. The bed and sheets were really comfy. Slept like a baby every night. The window fan was a nice touch and a nice window view for sunrise & sunset was a plus. The hangout area was awesome. My girl is a writer and she stayed up all night down there. She forgot a few things and the morning person saved everything for her. The wi-fi too was really good. Usually at other hotels it's super slow. The place is top-notch prime place to stay in Williams. It's not the Marriott or a Best western, but you'll feel like you were in the late 1880s staying there. Even though a heatwave hit that area when got there, the hotel was nice & cool throughout the day.

Room Tip: Choose the World War 1 room. It was very comfy and the view for the sunrise & sunset was excelle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teflonrobg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williams hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
0.2 mi away
Canyon Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Williams
Days Inn Williams
#4 of 30 in Williams
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ramada Williams/Grand Canyon Area
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Williams
1.1 mi away
Canyon Motel & RV Park
Canyon Motel & RV Park
#10 of 30 in Williams
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canyon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Hotel

Property: Grand Canyon Hotel
Address: 145 West Route 66, Williams, AZ 86046
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Canyon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Canyon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing