We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely cottage!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Canyon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Canyon Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Williams B&B and Inns
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Lovely cottage!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed in the Grand Canyon Hotel's cottage on Sheridan Street, three blocks off Route 66. At 825 sq ft., it gave my husband, two daughters, and me just enough space. With plenty of dishes, utensils, and spices provided we grilled a delicious dinner and relaxed in the comfy homeyness the first night. The second night we walked into town for the nightly gunfight, shopping, and dinner. Walking back, we marveled at the dark sky and bright stars.

The Cottage has beautiful furnishings - I was impressed these folks trust to put such nice things in a rental room, and even more impressed the guests have respected that trust.

We were treated well by the staff, even though I had booked the wrong night and we arrived a day earlier than they expected!

Room Tip: This is an older cottage - the floor in the sunroom is a bit uneven, there's some peeling paint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzannePhx2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    163
    46
    17
    24
See reviews for
69
231
27
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Expedia booked us here in error. We should have been in the Grand Canyon Railway Hotel. The lobby at the Grand Canyon Hotel was not air conditioned, front door open when we walked in. There was a musty smell going up the steep stairs. We were given 4 rooms to choose from, two of which were air conditioned. No elevator to the rooms for luggage transportation, just a staircase of squeaky stairs. Rooms were very small and dark, did not look clean. My friend was bitten on the face by an insect during the time we were looking at the rooms. This was booked in error by Expedia, but we were not allowed a refund. We did not stay here, and we were denied a refund, even though the rooms were unacceptable. The charges will be disputed with the credit card company.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel. All rooms were small, not all were air conditioned. The noise from the street...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Sherry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
155 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

If you want a nice, cute and nostalgic place to stay near to the two most spectacular attractions of the Arizona State, you must to pass the night at Grand Canyon Hotel!

This hotel is very near of those attractions and more, the city of Williams is very nostalgic, with nice restaurants and houses and buildings old!
The hotel no has breakfast, but the receptionist gave us coffee and milk in the morning, and also we could use internet for free there!
The bedroom is spectacular, and the decoration is kind of early Western. Very nice experience! I recommend...

This place could be visited by singles, friends, familys and couples :D

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielMendes1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

This is hands down the coolest hotel I've ever stayed at. I love the history of this hotel. I think the squeaky wood floors and authentic decor are awesome. I can easily imagine what it was like to stay here in the early 1900's. So clean! Staff is awesome! We got the Blue Room. I was so exited! Love everything about this hotel!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Angie_1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

I wasn't sure what to expect after reading the reviews but I knew it wouldn't be an average hotel. My boyfriend and I decided to stay here during a trip to the Grand Canyon and overall we were very pleased with our experience. The room we stayed in was cute and funky, much different from an average hotel room but we enjoyed the change. My only "complaint" about the experience was they left coupons for local restaurants on the night stand in the room and we didn't see them till it was too late! It would have been nice to get them at check in so we actually knew they existed. Also, the hotel is listed as a "bed and breakfast" on trip adviser but there isn't any breakfast!!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Univeristy Place
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel is awesome. Booking their rooms online was really easy. Arriving was a breeze, even gave us a tour. There's no breakfast but the rooms are great. As other reviewers have said it's the oldest hotel in AZ but it doesn't show. Completely renovated but it doesn't show. The rooms are awesome. If you're staying in Williams you have to stay here.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank run4jesus078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
116 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

This place was a great find and I'm so glad we had the chance to stay here. It has been remodeled and renovated, then mostly decorated to an early Western decor. The rest of the rooms decor are all themed. Their website shows pictures of all the rooms. The hotel has a great Nostalgic feel to it.

We booked the romantic room because it had it's own bathroom, as I didn't want to leave my room in the middle of the night.

Check in at 3pm was easy and we were encouraged to take a peek at all the other unoccupied rooms in case we saw one we liked for next time. So many nice ones to choose from. The staff was very nice and took us on a tour of the building.

Coffee and Tea avail free in the living room area. They have beer & wine available for purchase.

Very secure building after hours. (We felt safe here, and if you're a single person traveling alone this would be your place in town for sure)

This B&B is right in the middle of the Main Street (Route 66 east) and plenty of places nearby to eat.

It's a block to the visitors center and a block and a half to the Grand Canyon Railway Depot.

Definitely pick a room with a window. Ours faced the side street which had no noise problems.

We would stay here again! Amy and her staff are great!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SJPitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williams hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
0.2 mi away
Canyon Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Ramada Williams/Grand Canyon Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Williams
Days Inn Williams
#4 of 30 in Williams
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Near Grand Canyon
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Williams
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canyon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Hotel

Property: Grand Canyon Hotel
Address: 145 West Route 66, Williams, AZ 86046
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Canyon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Canyon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing