We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Launching Pad for the Grand Canyon”
Review of Grand Canyon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Canyon Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Williams B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The self-proclaimed oldest hotel in Arizona is a gem. Located right on historic route 66 and within walking distance of great places to eat, this place is a steal. Similar to a bed and breakfast, you get to choose you're own room upon arrival - there are different themes to choose from! Very old fashioned and antique feel add to the ambiance. The owner was very welcoming and helpful. It is about a 45 minute drive from the South Rim of the Grand Canyon - we stayed here to avoid the prices and masses of people as you get closer to that wonder of nature. This ended up being a very pleasant surprise, and the drive into the South Rim from Williams is a piece of cake... and scenic. I will definitely stay again when I go back to see the canyon again - this place is an experience in itself.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trovato44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (467)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

150 - 156 of 467 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

The place was fantastic, great price and old fashion charm. Staff was extremely helpful and nice. We were able to view all the empty rooms to get a nice tour of the building. Our room was on the front of the building and we had the windows open to let in breeze. There was some noise from traffic on Route 66 in front of hotel but not too bad. Room was very comfortable even for July weather.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We were traveling for 6 weeks already and had seen a lot of hotels and motels on the road, so we kind of forgot what kind of hotel we booked in Williams. It was such a pleasant surprise! Not only was it located directly on Route 66, it was also a historic treasure! The owner of the hotel gave us a warm welcome and showed us a couple of rooms we could choose from. Every room in this facility is themed, so they had a dorm room for example or a Mexican room. We chose room number 4, which was very cute, quite big and was decorated in the 19th century midwestern style. It had two windows, which both had a view on route 66. Sadly we only stayed one night, but I'd definitly stay there again!

Room Tip: You can choose a room yourself out of the few available ones the owner will show you. This is really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lauralie_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed in the Grand Canyon Hotel's cottage on Sheridan Street, three blocks off Route 66. At 825 sq ft., it gave my husband, two daughters, and me just enough space. With plenty of dishes, utensils, and spices provided we grilled a delicious dinner and relaxed in the comfy homeyness the first night. The second night we walked into town for the nightly gunfight, shopping, and dinner. Walking back, we marveled at the dark sky and bright stars.

The Cottage has beautiful furnishings - I was impressed these folks trust to put such nice things in a rental room, and even more impressed the guests have respected that trust.

We were treated well by the staff, even though I had booked the wrong night and we arrived a day earlier than they expected!

Room Tip: This is an older cottage - the floor in the sunroom is a bit uneven, there's some peeling paint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzannePhx2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Expedia booked us here in error. We should have been in the Grand Canyon Railway Hotel. The lobby at the Grand Canyon Hotel was not air conditioned, front door open when we walked in. There was a musty smell going up the steep stairs. We were given 4 rooms to choose from, two of which were air conditioned. No elevator to the rooms for luggage transportation, just a staircase of squeaky stairs. Rooms were very small and dark, did not look clean. My friend was bitten on the face by an insect during the time we were looking at the rooms. This was booked in error by Expedia, but we were not allowed a refund. We did not stay here, and we were denied a refund, even though the rooms were unacceptable. The charges will be disputed with the credit card company.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel. All rooms were small, not all were air conditioned. The noise from the street...
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Sherry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

If you want a nice, cute and nostalgic place to stay near to the two most spectacular attractions of the Arizona State, you must to pass the night at Grand Canyon Hotel!

This hotel is very near of those attractions and more, the city of Williams is very nostalgic, with nice restaurants and houses and buildings old!
The hotel no has breakfast, but the receptionist gave us coffee and milk in the morning, and also we could use internet for free there!
The bedroom is spectacular, and the decoration is kind of early Western. Very nice experience! I recommend...

This place could be visited by singles, friends, familys and couples :D

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielMendes1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

This is hands down the coolest hotel I've ever stayed at. I love the history of this hotel. I think the squeaky wood floors and authentic decor are awesome. I can easily imagine what it was like to stay here in the early 1900's. So clean! Staff is awesome! We got the Blue Room. I was so exited! Love everything about this hotel!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Angie_1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williams hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Grand Canyon
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Williams
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williams-Grand Canyon Area
0.2 mi away
Canyon Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
1.1 mi away
Canyon Motel & RV Park
Canyon Motel & RV Park
#10 of 30 in Williams
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canyon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Hotel

Address: 145 W Route 66, Williams, AZ 86046-2501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Williams
Price Range: £58 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Canyon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Canyon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing