We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a con”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtowner-Rte 66
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Certificate of Excellence
South Ayrshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What a con”
Reviewed 23 May 2012

For Inn & Suites read 'motel'. If this place was in the UK they would be prosecuted under the Trades Descriptions Act. We booked here because it was the only Suites that we could find in Williams. The living area is about 10ft by 12ft with two chairs (one with no arms). The only television is in this space so it is not possible to watch TV in bed. The bathroom is good - in fact it is much bigger than the living area. For what you get I consider it very expensive - we have cancelled the rest of our stay here and booked into Howard Johnsons at two thirds the price - all we are losing is one armchair. Having just come from Las Vegas and Laughlin where Suites really are Suites and also much cheaper, we consider Rodeway to be a complete con!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Survey0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RodewayDowntownerMgr, Owner at Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtowner-Rte 66, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
As the owner of The Rodeway Inn and Suites, I apologize for your experience. We would never want someone to feel “conned”. We have very accurate descriptions and photos of our rooms on our website. How did you book your room? Was it through a third party booking site? If you read the small print on third party booking sites you will notice it says room types are not guaranteed. We have spent tremendous time and energy in upgrading our rooms and preserving a historic route 66 property. Our motel is an original Route 66 motel and some room layouts are unique and were influenced by the original configuration. Our website includes very accurate descriptions of all rooms. Many of our guests enjoy staying in a historic motel that has been totally modernized and renovated instead of demolished. Perhaps your review is meant for the site through which you booked your room. As a traveler myself, when I have specific needs, I’ve learned that booking direct with a property or through their site will insure I understand the specifics of the room I am renting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    169
    42
    12
    6
See reviews for
120
217
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Originally arrived at The Lodge (across the road) looking for accomodation, and the choice was based on TripAdvisor reviews of the property (#1 in Williams, AZ). Unfortunately they were full, but they advised they ran the Downtowner across the road and had a room. Disappointed, we took the room. The disappointment only lasted until we opened the door. The room was large with 2 queen begs, flat scren TV, desk and 2 armchairs. The decor was contemporary and really appealing. There was a coffee maker contrary to earlier reviews, and also coffee and tea is available during the day at the reception (where you are always made to feel welcome).

Regarding the negative reviews regarding trains, Williams is a town on the railway and anywhere in town will be within earshot. We stayed the previous two nights at the Grand Canyon Railway Hotel in Williams, where our room was further from the railroad than the Downtowner, and we heard the trains that night as opposed to not hearing them at the Downtowner.

We enjoyed our stay, and thought it is was better accomodation than at the Grand Canyon Railway Hotel (which was standard generic hotel, except for the magnificanet lobby).

One tip, if buying fuel (gas) for your car, do NOT patronise Waggoner's Gas unless you want to receive abuse from the angry, vitreolic, horrible man who attends the pumps. I suspect the only way to avoid the abuse (apart from not going there) is to fill an empty tank instead of just topping it up like we did. We were greeted with the obscenity "[--]"...need I go on?

Apart from the Waggoner's attendant, we loved our stay at the Downtowner and in Williams, and was a highlight of our Route 66 trip.

Room Tip: All rooms are between the two (very quiet) one-way main streets, so position is not relevant. We wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sydmoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

If you're looking for clean, convenient, budget accommodations near the Grand Canyon, this may be your place. Not fancy but nicely appointed with decent amenities and a friendly staff at half the price of the hotels closer to the Canyon. It's about an hour from the hotel to the Grand Canyon, but since you've got to drive an hour from I-40 to get there anyway, why not stay in Williams? And, as its' name would suggest, The Downtowner is right downtown with plenty of convenient restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saucyredhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Stopped here on our way from Vegas to the Grand Canyon. This place was exactly what we needed after a long trip. The staff was helpful on a location to purchase advance tickets to the Grand Canyon to great places to eat. The breakfast was ok not much selection but plenty of restaurants in the area to find a full breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yosemite National Park, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Wow......found this place on my I-Phone traveling east to visit the Grand Canyon on Interstate 40 at 8 pm. The owner waited up for us to check -in (9:30 p.m. ?). Be sure you ask for the "Downtowner" not the Inn down the street. The owner was very pleasant as was the the morning staff. The place looked a bit vintage (which I liked) on the outside but the inside of the room was VERY clean and the king bed was very comfortable. Rooms were recently remodeled (more trendy styling than what I personally thought it should be). Route 66 which goes through Willaims is very quiet after 9pm in the off season. We prefered a different breakfast than their "Continental" offering and was directed to a local diner down the street that had great food (Great pancakes and omelets).
As always I remommmend folks to bring earplugs. I only could imagine how busy this place must be during peak season when the weather is warm. People would want to hang around outside and talk.
But a clean room and a comfortable bed on a long road trip is priceles (bring earplugs!).
Be sure you stop off at the Visitor Center across from the train station. Lots of local information and clean restrooms.

Room Tip: Ask to be in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank forestafalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

2 night stay Feb 12. We found the Staff (owners) very helpful, rooms were clean, with clean bedding, bathroom was clean, breakfast was ok, a good location right on route 66, infact this is one of the original 50s motels and has been very well refurbished by the owners. I would stay here again and recomend it.The only bad thing is what the wifi would not connect.

Room Tip: Room 115 was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fountainshooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Thought a little pricey at $119 for the night but maybe thats the going rate for the locality. Greeted by a pleasant and helpful young lady on reception who showed us to our room and explained everything. Room clean with the usual amenities plus tea/coffee,l arge TV with about 30 channels. Parking outside the room. Breakfast consisted of cerals/pastries etc and was pleasant, would stay again if ever in Williams.. We found Williams a town of character with a couple of good restaurants/bars and Route 66 shops.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Strongbox53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williams hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Williams
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williams-Grand Canyon Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Williams
Days Inn Williams
#4 of 30 in Williams
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Near Grand Canyon
0.3 mi away
Canyon Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtowner-Rte 66? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtowner-Rte 66

Property: Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtowner-Rte 66
Address: 201 E Route 66, Williams, AZ 86046-2603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Williams
#4 Romantic Hotel in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtowner-Rte 66 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Totally renovated. Flat screen TV's. Luxury linens. Located in the heart of Williams, great location! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtowner-Rte 66 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtowner-Rte 66 Hotel Williams
Rodeway Inn And Suites Downtowner-Rte 66
Rodeway Inn Williams
Williams Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing