We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arizona”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtowner-Rte 66
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Arizona”
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

First glance its like a scene from a bates motel, stereotypical roadside motel, but we found the staff very helpful, and the rooms were excellent.we cannot recall sleeping in a bigger bed.the facilities were clean and tidy and all worked.downside!!! Close to railtrack so train horns heard on two occasions through night as xing close buy, but it all adds to journey.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    172
    42
    14
    7
See reviews for
123
222
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Province of Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

Our western usa road trip brings us to Williams for the night before our visit to the grand canyon tomorrow.

We stayed here due to the ratings on trip advisor. On the whole we were pleased with the motel, however cant help but feel they ate charging more for giving it a lick of pait and pkacing in some cool pictures and a 4 poster bed!!

My only negative apart from the elevated cost was the beds did not look as if they had been changed and seemed to have been slept in. The sheets in the middle were far to wrinkled to bed frwshly made. But when we realised all the staff had gone. We slept ontop of the upper sheet.

The other negative was when we went for breakfast we asked if we could leave our bags in the room while we took 30 mins to walk into town, we were reminded by the receptionist that we had until checkout at 11am, and no flexibility was given.

The motel has been reformed and does look nice and quirky, but not sure if it is worth 175$ the night. It is still a motel!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mr_Journey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RodewayDowntownerMgr, Owner at Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtowner-Rte 66, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us. When we purchased and renovated this historic property our goal was to provide a comfortable relaxing environment that didn't feel like a typical motel room. As sleep is very important, we chose to use only 100% cotton sheets on our beds. Cotton sheets are very soft and comfortable, enhancing a great night’s sleep. Since the sheets are cotton and we do not yet have a press, sometimes during the drying process the sheets become more wrinkled than a typical polyester blend sheet. This does not mean they are dirty as we absolutely wash all linens between guests. We also have a staff person on call every night. This information is told to guests at check-in and also printed on the information provided to guests at check-in. I wish you would have called us so we could have put your mind at ease by remaking your bed. We would never want our guests to have an uncomfortable night sleeping on the top of the sheets.
I’m not sure why you felt the only changes to your room were paint, pictures and a 4 poster bed. This motel was built in the 1940s. When we purchased and remodeled the motel, we updated everything, including room and bathroom layout. Upgrades included all new furniture, upgraded mattresses, granite countertops, custom framed beveled mirrors, unique art work, new carpet, new plumbing fixtures, new showers, sinks and toilets, slate flooring, all new windows and doors etc. The rooms are unrecognizable from when we purchased the property. By the price you quoted you must have stayed in a junior suite which included a microwave, refrigerator and sitting area with french doors and hardwood floors.
One of the benefits of staying in our renovated historic motel is the great location- we are walking distance to shops, restaurants and the historic downtown area. We encourage guests to explore our quaint town. As you stated, our check out time is 11am and we are often sold out during the busy summer months. As such we have a short amount of time to prepare for the arrival of the next night’s guests. However, if at all possible we extend the check out time. Did you ask for a later checkout? Or if a longer amount of time is needed, we frequently hold guests’ luggage in the office. Again, we apologize for not meeting your expectations and hope the remainder of your trip was enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
Level Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed at this historic hotel last night, and loved it. And while the room was very small it was all updated and very clean, even had silk feel sheets on our king size bed and white comforter. And the mattress was the most comfortable of any we ever slept on. The location is also ideal, within a very short walk to the historic downtown shopping and dining district. And at night it was totally quite, despite being immediately on the historic Route 66, as the busy traffic has been re-routed around the town and so the town itself is very quite at night. We also loved the hot breakfast in the morning, that included sausages, yoghurt, orange juice, waffles and much more. We would definitely stay there again, it will be out no. 1 choice.

Room Tip: Our room was very small, but held a king bed that was ultra comfortable. If you need a larger room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelSister_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
212 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Three, actually, and each time was great. Each room was beautifully decorated and spotless. Although we didn't use them because we had brought our own, we loved the organic shampoo and lotion; we now take that kind of detail into account while reviewing a hotel and considering staying there again. Beds are very comfortable.

Check-in is across the street and has always been easy. We've had breakfast outside and inside. Our only remark would be that by now, to keep going with their eco friendly actions, they should have ceramic dinnerware and glass for breakfast. I hope to see that next time because we'll definitely go back there if we're in Williams again. Great motel for a good price.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigmoumout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
140 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stayed here last night and it is beautiful! The owners also own the Lodge on Route 66 and have very high standards. This property must of been recently renovated and is spotless, updated with beautiful furniture and a large new bathroom. Sheets are crisp and the towels are thick. The price was less than the Comfort Inn down the road. Yes there is wifi and in room coffee......plus continental breakfast. Better than some 4 star properties that I have stayed at.

Plus the town of Williams is a neat place to check out!

Room Tip: Don't be fooled because it says Roadway Inn........this is terrific!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marge J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I guess because it is a Rodeway Inn and also has just the basics; a lot of travel sites have this place as a One-Star Motel. Trust me, except for those lack of amenities the quality of the room is at least 3.5 stars, maybe 4 stars.

Older reviews say, no WiFi or in-room coffee. It has both now.

The owners also own "The Lodge on Route 66" right across the street, which also rates very high on TA. Breakfast is served at The Lodge. Bfast is just the basics including those self-serve waffles that are popular now.

The Downtowner was voted by its Rodeway peers as location of the year for 2013. I am not surprise now having stayed there.

Williams is a fun little town near Grand Canyon. Lots of nice shops and restaurants to go along with this wonderful little motel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I was a bit nervous when we pulled up as it looks like a suspect motel with cheesy flashing sign, but instead of Jason at the desk we found a very helpful staff, very accommodating and friendly. Then we saw the room and it was very good. Two four-poster beds and the best bathroom we've had on our trip so far. A comfortable night, an adequate breakfast with yummy do-it-yourself waffles, and again friendly, attentive staff.
Very happy

Room Tip: They all seem good. There is a utility room opposite the reception, across the road with an ice mach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paddywolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williams hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Williams
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williams-Grand Canyon Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Grand Canyon
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Near Grand Canyon
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Williams
Days Inn Williams
#5 of 30 in Williams
1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtowner-Rte 66? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtowner-Rte 66

Property: Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtowner-Rte 66
Address: 201 E Route 66, Williams, AZ 86046-2603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Williams
#4 Romantic Hotel in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtowner-Rte 66 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Totally renovated. Flat screen TV's. Luxury linens. Located in the heart of Williams, great location! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtowner-Rte 66 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtowner-Rte 66 Hotel Williams
Rodeway Inn And Suites Downtowner-Rte 66
Rodeway Inn Williams
Williams Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing