We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun vintage Motel experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Canyon Motel & RV Park
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Reviewed 28 July 2014

It was our first day out on a five week trip around the country, The Canyon Motel was our choice at Williams AZ. It's a throwback in time, even a real key to the room with a vintage looking "plastic" key fob. Our room number was 15 it was a very small room, with small bathroom that included a shower, keep in mind that this place has been around a long long time! Our room was clean and the employees very friendly. We spent the afternoon at the Grand Canyon then back to Williams for dinner. We had dinner at the place with the big cow out front which has also been around for a long time as well,we wouldn't go back their food was not so good and the service was terrible. The next morning when we checked out of the motel we mentioned our not so good experience at the cow place, we were advised as to where we might get a good breakfast, so sorry I can't give you the name of the place, but it was right in the middle of town where all the locals go it was the BEST breakfast in our 5 week trip!!! Just ask they will be glad to tell you ;-)

Room Tip: Note they have train cars you can stay in as well, but we opted for the vintage Motel room instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (718)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 718 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Like another reviewer said don't expect the hilton! But clean rooms great laundry facility and friendly helpful staff. Located a short drive into town. Only draw back was the hard pillows! Close to the Grand Canyon and Williams is a town not to be missed.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brendastarr52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This motel is very good located around 1 hour driving to the Grand Canyon.
Need to mention that they have a very good customer service, lady who was on the desk during the morning was very nice.
The WIFI sign was very poor the first 2 days and they allow us to us their computers at reception and the other 2 days the conexion was very good and fast.
The room was small with 2 double beds and there are a coffee machine, microwave and fridge. The room was clean but some bits on the window was broken.
And good thing to mention that is really close ( less than 5 minutes driving) to the famous Route 66 if you want to visit it!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank angles88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

we had a family emergency over 48 hrs before our reservation date but have to forfeit the entire room cost because of their cancellation policy. I would not have minded paying a small cancellation fee but this is Outrageous.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Forrest C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This review is about the RV part not the motel. They have a dry storage section & we keep our RV there during the summer. Less costly than in phoenix & we don't need to haul it up & down the mountains from Phoenix.

We used to take the RV out of storage & go to the National forest bit since travel restrictions we just rent a space. Last year we were up for 2 separate 2 week rentals but this year we stayed up for a month & saved more than $100 over the broken up time. The roads are on way and may be confusion but for new customers they use an electric cart & direct your to your space.

The staff is fantastic. I have a handicapping issue so I need a close handicapped shower & they go out of there way to accommodate my needs. The bath rooms and laundry area are always clean but we didn't use the laundry this year due to the water restriction, our choice it was open for use, we went to Flagstaff instead. We didn't use the pool so we can't comment but may people did.

Many spaces are on a slight gradient but the RV spaces are fairly level, The parking spaces beside the RV locations may be flat or slightly to moderately sloped. They have greatly improved the cable TV signal strength since last year. You are between 2 rail roads one 1/4 mile away & one 3/4 of a mile away so rail noise is a possibility but it didn't bother us.

The facility has rail car as well as rock built room. We have never been in them so we can't comment.

Would highly recommend this place for short or long term. Last year one RV was up for more than 4 months.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed here one night on our journey across the SW touring the Nat'l Parks, and was very impressed. We wanted to get a caboose, but unfortunately, they don't allow pets in the cabooses, so we reserved a little motel room. The romm was really cute on the outside. There were some glitches though!

We arrived about an hour early due to the time change, and were really tired from the long drive from Page to Williams. I was so tired and hot that I was feeling sick and just wanted to lie down for awhile. We couldn't check in early because they hadn't checked to make sure the rooms were okay, so we went downtown for about an hour wasting time. Came back and the desk clerk said they still hadn't checked the rooms yet. She was nice enough to check us in and give us the key though. Went over to the room and waited and waited to see if someone was going to check the rooms. We had already opened the door, and the room was fine! One of the kids went back down to the front office, and was informed that they had checked them already! (I don't know when because we had been waiting for them to show up???).

The room was nice, but dated! There was a BIG TV (no plasma), a frig (which was nice), and 2 queen beds. The room was set up kind of odd, and the furniture wasn't that nice. But, we slept good - the beds were comfortable. The coffee was okay. There was no breakfast in the a.m., and the toilet clogged up in the middle of the night! Luckily, I was able to fix it.

The grounds are very nice - the playground and pool for the kids was nice. All in all, it was a nice visit. I would stay again.. It's the Route 66 novelty!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KUMtngal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This hotel was in a great location - near attractions, but not right in downtown - surrounded by pine trees. Overall, the hotel was great. The cleanliness of the room and the front desk assistance was awesome. If i was to write a complaint it would be - the bed was a bit hard for my taste and pool room was quite drab and dirty. I am not sure if every room has them but my son REALLY enjoyed the glow in the dark stars on the ceiling. Will definitely stay again - THANK YOU!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank R G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williams hotels
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn Near Grand Canyon
27.4 mi away
Grand Canyon Inn & Motel
Grand Canyon Inn & Motel
#23 of 30 in Williams
604 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ramada Williams/Grand Canyon Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
1.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williams-Grand Canyon Area
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyon Motel & RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Motel & RV Park

Address: 1900 East Rodeo Rd, Williams, AZ 86046
Region: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Price Range: £30 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Canyon Motel & RV Park 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Canyon Motel & RV Park is a remarkable 1940 Historic Route 66 property in the Pine Trees of the Kaibab National Forest. It has the Original eighteen (18) Flagstone Cottage type rooms as well as (2) two 1929 Train Car Caboose Suites and (3) three 1950 Pullman railcar rooms. In addition to these unique lodging selections, it has forty seven (47) full service RV spaces, seven (7) tent sites, a seasonal indoor heated pool, coin laundry, and a cool general store. It’s unique and different and definitely a one of a kind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Canyon Motel & RV Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyon Motel & Rv Park Hotel Williams
Canyon Motel And Rv Park
Canyon Motel Williams
Canyon Hotel Williams

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing