We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible terrible terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - Williams / Grand Canyon
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Long Beach, California
1 review
“terrible terrible terrible”
Reviewed 6 December 2012

this is the worst motel i had ever visited ever....the place the room that we got was in shambles.even the bathroom door would not lock. the problem started at the check in itself i booked a room with 6 people for the choice motel website and when i reached the place the lady at the front desk told that i can take in only 2 persons in the room and i will have to pay extra for rest of the people..i tried to explain her that the room has 3 beds only a mad man would book a room with 3 beds for 2 persons but she would not understand my friend who has worked in motels before said that he can explain and so the front desk lady said he could not speak on my behalf as he did not book the room and told him to get out..can you believe he told him to 'get out' how can she say so?? he is my friend this guys need some serious training in how to handle guests who come to their place, she cannot insult anyone like that. then this guy hugo comes he says he is the manager their and told me he can do whatever he likes...will you tell your guest that??are you president of united states or what?? that is so rude first the lady and then even the manager.and thanks to you choice motels will loose all my business now..i already cancelled by rewards card with them..whyndham guys at days inn are much better..please stay away from this place if you are visiting grand canyon believe me you dont want to spoil you vacation just because some guys can stop being rude...you dont get a vacation everytime and you dont want to spoil it......

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rukmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_az079, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Williams / Grand Canyon, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
We thank you for your business and we explained to you and your 5 other friends as best we could. It was difficult due to everyone having an opinion. Fact is you reported two guest for that stay in our room. The website says that room accomodates up to six people and if you are to add the other guest you would see a price adjustment. Yes, we do have an extra person charge like all other hotels and chains. We do provide an excellent value with free wi-fi and waffles and cereal and toast and fruit. Thank you again, Hugo C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    73
    65
    18
    19
See reviews for
49
83
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

This is the only place I would stay in Willaims, AZ and I have been roaming this state for 10 years.. The owner and their staff keep this place neat, clean and ready for the next visitor. Just an hour away from the Grand Canyon, Once you have encountered the Grand Canyon, come back to Williams. There is so much in Williams to see.
Endless shops throughout, you will not be dissapointed

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelJohn092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aisaac
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Very clean, comfortable, huge bathroom. Looks recently renovated. Highly recommend this lodge if you're looking for somewhere clean and comfortable, and very affordable.On the main road in town, we walked to dinner every night. The breakfast room provides hot and cold food, although the selection is sparse.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aisaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Ok I stayed in this motel for 2 nights; each night was in a different room as I did not know for sure how long my stay would be, due to just staying there for a quick hunting trip.

Both rooms where very close to the same but the first one room# 110 the bathroom was set up very odd and when you opened the door it would hit the toilet bowl.

The second night stayed in room# 116, this room had a very nice bathroom even had a shower that was all larger tile. But this room when the ac/heat was on it would blow the curtains up (the adjustment on the vents was broke) made it very easy to see in the room, had to find a way to hold them down.

The parking lot is also kind of small and the spaces are small, if it is not crowded then you will have no problem.

They have a free breakfast, I did not use this as we would leave the motel before it was severed starting at 6am, from what I have read it is nothing to write home about.

Williams is a pretty busy little tourist stop and seems like everyone was having a good time, looks like the night life maybe fun as well. We saw people out and about as we were coming back in to pass out from the days hunt.

So if you are looking for an inexpensive motel to stay at then this is a nice place, pretty clean, nothing fancy, but also not that expensive to stay at, so you are getting what you paid for.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jvtuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Very nice motel in the Charming town. , cozy and clean rooms, continental breakfast, but satisfying. Take a walk around Williams, we were cowboys Street show was really nice.
There are a number of motels on the main street Williams. They sit on historic Route 66

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elik972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Kensington, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

My family stayed here in October 2012, and other than we couldn't find a hotel close to the Grand Canyon,we chose this EconoLodge.It is quite a bit run down, but very cheap. I would prodably try another hotel if I were to travel through Williams again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012 via mobile

Small rooms, comfy bed, decor a bit old. Decent breakfast. Nicely situated at an hour's drive to the canyons.

Price is good, good alternative for people who don't want to shell out at the GC village. Town had a carnival of sorts that day, was very colorful!

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sr S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williams hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
0.6 mi away
Ramada Williams/Grand Canyon Area
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Near Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Canyon Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams
0.9 mi away
Canyon Motel & RV Park
Canyon Motel & RV Park
#11 of 30 in Williams
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Williams / Grand Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Williams / Grand Canyon

Property: Americas Best Value Inn - Williams / Grand Canyon
Address: 302 E Route 66, Williams, AZ 86046-2606 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Region: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Williams / Grand Canyon 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Inn Grand Canyon Gateway offers the most value for your money when staying for business, pleasure, or just passing through. We offer clean spacious rooms, free continental breakfast, and free Wi-Fi throughout the property. Our guest rooms include hairdryer, 32 inch flat panel satellite TV, HBO, ESPN, table with chairs and clock radio. Microwave, mini-fridge, and coffeemaker are available upon request. Take advantage of our extremely comfortable beds and relax while saving money year-round with our Kids Stay Free Policy (11 and under in parent's room). For your convenience our hotel is 100 percent smoke free. Sorry, no pets allowed. We are located off East State Route 66, and are near attractions such as Arizona State Railroad Museum, Kaibab National Forest and Bearizona Wildlife Park. Americas Best Value Inn Grand Canyon Gateway is your best choice within the southern terminus of the Grand Canyon Railway of Arizona. We offer ideal accommodations and location whether you are in town for business, vacation, sightseeing, music or food festivals, or simply passing through on your way to Phoenix or Tucson. At Americas Best Value Inn Grand Canyon Gateway our goal is to provide our guests a great experience, not just a place to stay. At Americas Best Value Inn Grand Canyon Gateway, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Williams / Grand Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Williams
Econo Lodge Williams
Williams Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing