We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little rundown place to stay the night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - Williams / Grand Canyon
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Came through town late one evening to go to the Grand Canyon in the morning and was able to book this with my points on my phone. We came in about 9pm and they apparently don't have a person sitting at the desk all night so you have to ring a bell. Looks like they are remodeling the office area, so looking through the window I was thinking I was in the wrong spot or they were closed for good but a man did come out after a bit of a wait and buzzed me in. He took my information and gave me my keys and pointed to where my room was. I'm not saying he was "short" with me but he was certainly wanting to get back to doing something else. I was pleased to see the heater was on in the room as it was in the teens outside and at least the area by the heater was warm. The bathroom was set up oddly and it was very cold back in there. The building is very old and kinda run down but we were only staying a few hours and were out of there early to catch the sun rise in the Grand Canyon so it was OK I was not too thrilled with the fact the place cost more points than others that I have stayed at that were WAY nicer. I did have to call the front desk guy back to get the code for the internet since he never gave me that information at check in and we were unable to log in. The heater was right under the window and it was hard to keep the curtains from flying open so I had to rig it so they didn't since my bed was right by the window and being two ladies alone its not like I want someone watching me sleep or to wake up with anyone looking at me. We didn't stick around for breakfast so cannot say much on that subject but the carpets were dirty thats for sure, so I didn't take my shoes off in the room and the concrete bathroom with window was kinda creepy and cold. When we checked out in the morning again no one was at the desk and they just had a drop box for keys hanging by door. I was a bit disappointed in the customer service of this location and probably would try another one within my hotel chain to use my points just based on customer service alone.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peppertaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 75 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014

Help was helpful stay was great price was good. Room was clean t v didn't, work they took care of the problem
.. close to a great cafe. Close to train depot.parking was easy. The morning breakfest was very good.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We stayed there two nights. We enjoyed it being close to the grand canyon and close to old route 66. The people in the town and hotel were all very nice to us. I would stay there again, but could use some minor updating in the rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diane p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

The room was very, very small. However is was clean. There was only my husband and myself in this room and we were tripping over each other in this room for the short time we were in this room. The table and 2 chairs smashed up against the old heater and the the bed were difficult to use and maneuver around. The rather tall wall unit heater that looked like a furnace was very loud and was hot to the touch. I am glad we did not have small children in the room with us for fear of them touching this unit. We choose to be a little cooler to sleep rather to have the rattling noise keep us awake all night. At 8:50 a.m. as I was just exiting the shower, housekeeping is already knocking on the door. When attempting to use the blow dryer, it shorted out and fried. Then there was breakfast.... which is a little cold room off to the side of the rooms. Do not expect to really eat anything here except for toast, with a jar of peanut butter left on the counter and some cold cereal. There was not even a microwave in the breakfast room for guests to use. I would not recommend this hotel as a first choice. There are many other hotels in the area. Other than the room itself was clean and it was a convenient location it does not have much to offer. The price for the room seems high for the quality you actually receive.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I did sleep like a baby. The place looked like it was remodeled recently. But could have used more attention to detail. The sink in the bath room was just some particleboard holing up the sink.
The location and the front counter person was great and familiar with the aria of where to go eat late at night. Not much noise heard from the other rooms as we were on the first floor. Over all it was comfortable and clean

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Carlos B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I'm not sure why there are so many bad reviews for this hotel. It is a great location if you are going to the Grand Canyon and the price was right. The room was updated (new bathroom, floors, etc.), the beds were decent and the manager was very friendly. I have no complaints at all.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alysia87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed here for one night on the way to the Grand Canyon. We wanted to stay in Holbroook, AZ at the Wigwam Motel (heard it is a great experience) but we didn't want to stay so far away from the Grand Canyon. When I called to book a room in Williams to sleep in a CABOOSE, they were booked up. Call ahead of time and you can have the cool experience. Econo Lodge in Williams is very small rooms and bathrooms are nasty. The door wouldn't even shut on the bathroom. The bed linens were clean but didn't want to take off my shoes until I climbed in the bed. I have seen worse but for $100 it was pitiful.

Room Tip: Tons of hotels in Williams, but pricey because of the location to Grand Canyon. Book Ahead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkcarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williams hotels
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Near Grand Canyon
0.6 mi away
Ramada Williams/Grand Canyon Area
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Williams
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Canyon Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams
0.9 mi away
Canyon Motel & RV Park
Canyon Motel & RV Park
#11 of 30 in Williams
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Williams / Grand Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Williams / Grand Canyon

Address: 302 E Route 66, Williams, AZ 86046-2606 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Region: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Price Range: £32 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Williams / Grand Canyon 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Inn Grand Canyon Gateway offers the most value for your money when staying for business, pleasure, or just passing through. We offer clean spacious rooms, free continental breakfast, and free Wi-Fi throughout the property. Our guest rooms include hairdryer, 32 inch flat panel satellite TV, HBO, ESPN, table with chairs and clock radio. Microwave, mini-fridge, and coffeemaker are available upon request. Take advantage of our extremely comfortable beds and relax while saving money year-round with our Kids Stay Free Policy (11 and under in parent's room). For your convenience our hotel is 100 percent smoke free. Sorry, no pets allowed. We are located off East State Route 66, and are near attractions such as Arizona State Railroad Museum, Kaibab National Forest and Bearizona Wildlife Park. Americas Best Value Inn Grand Canyon Gateway is your best choice within the southern terminus of the Grand Canyon Railway of Arizona. We offer ideal accommodations and location whether you are in town for business, vacation, sightseeing, music or food festivals, or simply passing through on your way to Phoenix or Tucson. At Americas Best Value Inn Grand Canyon Gateway our goal is to provide our guests a great experience, not just a place to stay. At Americas Best Value Inn Grand Canyon Gateway, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Williams / Grand Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Williams
Econo Lodge Williams
Williams Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing