We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charged me and I didn't even stay...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - Williams / Grand Canyon
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Level 5 Contributor
3 reviews
“Charged me and I didn't even stay...”
Reviewed 26 June 2009

We booked a stay at this hotel over the internet. When we pulled into the parking lot I became very worried. The hotel's exterior was very rundown and old. However, I thought I would give it the benefit of the doubt. I looked in a few rooms that were being cleaned and decided this was not a sanitary place to stay. The hotel lobby smelled of urine and the rooms were very old and nasty. We did not speak to the clerk at this time. I contacted Choice Hotels and asked to cancel the reservation. They contacted the hotel and the desk clerk said she was unable to cancel because it was inside the 24 hour cancellation (and she did not know how to cancel). We returned to the lobby and the clerk was extremely rude. We ask to at least see a room that had been cleaned and she said she could not show us a room until 3:00 and only after we checked in. . I ask to speak to the manager and she said they were not there. I ask her to contact them and she said she did not know the number.We left and never return. Our credit card was still charged, even though we never set foot in the room. I filed a complaint with Choice Hotels and they said the hotel manager still refused to offer a credit. DO NOT BOOK A STAY AT THIS HOTEL

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kkaylor7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_az079, manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Williams / Grand Canyon, responded to this review, 27 June 2009
Clean rooms and office. Getting repainted. Nice staff. 24 hr cancell policy. If u have other plans dont get upset at the motel or staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    73
    66
    19
    19
See reviews for
50
84
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Silicon Valley, CA
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2009

Old route 66 motel that has been refurbished. Flat screen HDTVs, location, breakfast and location overcome its shortfalls. the rooms are old, with old heaters and A/Cs, but are comfortable. Breakfast of eggs, sausage, waffles, cereal very nice.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MVFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2009

We checked in and were told where our room was..we waded through 4 inches of un-shoveled snow, which tracked into our room, to find the wall furnace not working. They came and lit that and my husband went to ask them to please shovel a path so we did not track any more snow into the room. I thought I would use the toilet while he was gone and when I lifted the lid discovered the water in the bowl was ice...as was the tank and there was no water at the sink.
We were moved to another room in which the wall furnace worked and the water was not frozen, but...we were either cold or hot depending on whether the furnace was running. The bathroom never did get warm so we forgot about showering.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tdbertram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Williams hotels

Cheshire,CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 December 2008

Was in the room one minute. Toilet didn't work. The manager said it was the chain and appeared he expected me to fix it. He did come and "fix" it. NOT. No way was that toilet going to work. I Had a look at the shower and the rest of the room and said forget it. The shower was disgusting and the room was ancient looking and freezing. Don't go by the pictures online. I don't know where those nicely painted rooms are. are you kidding me they are drab and OLD!!! I went back to say the toilet still doesn't work and that I wasn't staying and the manager got all bent out of shape. Mind you I was in the room maximum of 5 minutes. He made like he didn't know how to credit my card. And then gave me a receipt that had neither the motels name or address on it and no where did it say a credit to my card just that the reservation was cancelled. I wanted something that had that info on it. He became rude and literally"waved me out of the place" and told me to go down the street for another place. He also wanted $5 to "clean" the room that I walked in and out of. DO NOT STAY HERE! the pictures online are totally misleading. I made a complaint to Econo Lodge.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — the rude manager
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valicarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_az079, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Williams / Grand Canyon, responded to this review, 9 December 2008
So sorry u had a bad experience, We fixed the toilet, offered another room and then cancelled the reservation upon your request. The credit card was not charged so no receipt is available since only an authorization was obtained. We did however give u a letter stating cancelation and number.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Visalia California
1 review
Reviewed 24 November 2008

Stayed here one night on the way to Grand Canyon. Next time we will plan more time at Williams, a lot to do and see there.
The Motel was excellent, clean, quite and very friendly staff. A perfect stop over when traveling I-40 Thur North Central Arizona. Recommend it highly.

  • Liked — Clean room, friendly helpful staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bigleono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego,CA.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2008

Basically, The small "kings" room was acceptable and recently refurnished. But the shower space in the bathroom was extremely tiny.
Breakfast there was just basic (tea, coffee, toast ,bagels, fruit jelly and mini donuts.). I guess you could find something better for the same price in the neighbourhood, since there are many motels in that street.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 7traveler77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2008

Nice staff, room was clean and recently refurnished. however, the beds were very uncomfortable!
It was very noisy, more than we expected it to be (after staying in various motels alike) Bathroom is tiny.
For breakfast there was tea, coffee, hot chocolate, toast and bagels, fruit jelly and some really bad mini donuts. I guess you could find something better for the same price in the neighbourhood, since there are many motels in this street.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Rondreis2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williams hotels
0.6 mi away
Ramada Williams/Grand Canyon Area
0.4 mi away
Canyon Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Near Grand Canyon
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams
0.9 mi away
Canyon Motel & RV Park
Canyon Motel & RV Park
#11 of 30 in Williams
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Williams / Grand Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Williams / Grand Canyon

Property: Americas Best Value Inn - Williams / Grand Canyon
Address: 302 E Route 66, Williams, AZ 86046-2606 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Region: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Williams / Grand Canyon 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Inn Grand Canyon Gateway offers the most value for your money when staying for business, pleasure, or just passing through. We offer clean spacious rooms, free continental breakfast, and free Wi-Fi throughout the property. Our guest rooms include hairdryer, 32 inch flat panel satellite TV, HBO, ESPN, table with chairs and clock radio. Microwave, mini-fridge, and coffeemaker are available upon request. Take advantage of our extremely comfortable beds and relax while saving money year-round with our Kids Stay Free Policy (11 and under in parent's room). For your convenience our hotel is 100 percent smoke free. Sorry, no pets allowed. We are located off East State Route 66, and are near attractions such as Arizona State Railroad Museum, Kaibab National Forest and Bearizona Wildlife Park. Americas Best Value Inn Grand Canyon Gateway is your best choice within the southern terminus of the Grand Canyon Railway of Arizona. We offer ideal accommodations and location whether you are in town for business, vacation, sightseeing, music or food festivals, or simply passing through on your way to Phoenix or Tucson. At Americas Best Value Inn Grand Canyon Gateway our goal is to provide our guests a great experience, not just a place to stay. At Americas Best Value Inn Grand Canyon Gateway, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Williams / Grand Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Williams
Econo Lodge Williams
Williams Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing