We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean older hotel”
Review of El Rancho Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
El Rancho Motel
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Williams
2 reviews
“Clean older hotel”
Reviewed 19 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights on our visit to GC. Clean old school hotel. Not the Ritz...but i would stay here again!! Its located on north side of town making it easy to leave for GC. For the budget traveler its great.
.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebelman75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    60
    37
    10
    8
See reviews for
30
50
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

The hotel and rooms are in need of SERIOUS maintenance. Paint (inside and out) carpet, tile, caulking, bedding (my blanket had huge burn holes), and the filters in the filters in the air conditioners needed to be replaced very badly... but there's so much potential!!

The room was very reasonable and the beds were very firm (which I like) and they had a microwave and fridge (needed for small kids).

I wish the community would pitch in (maybe for the sake of the whole town) and go down the street and take care of basic maintenance needs at each establishment. The whole community would benefit.

NOTE - the appearance of cleanliness would be greatly improved with basic maintenance. Sometimes things that are just plain old can't be cleaned to the point where they look clean anymore.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Stayed at a couple motels in Williams as my family and I went to see the Grand Canyon (our first time). Clean rooms, vintage style, were given a second room at a discount!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CheerfulMom7633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

This motel was chosen for us as we were visiting friends from out of town. Located on Hwy 66 at the quiet east end of town it is definitely a dated motel. The rooms contained most ammenities, but overall they had seen better times. Everything was tired looking and worn out. The pool, proudly displayed on their business cards, was during our visit, an unusable swamp.
A dilapidated picnic table near the outdoor poolside seating was probably put in place about the same time that Hwy 66 was a main thoroughfare through Arizona. ( We all got wood slivers in our pants.) While conveniently located as a starting point for a visit to the Grand Canyon, it is however, only within walking distance of just a few restaurants or stores.
The most postive aspect? Friendly and helpful management.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HerrMV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Williams hotels

Pescara, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2010

We went for vacations to US and this was a stop over to next day to the Great Canyon. Excellent place, very friendly personnel.

Will come back for sure.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dariowool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2010

El Rancho proved to be a very good stopover, and we stayed for two nights. Comfortable, clean and good value. Williams itself is a great Town to stay in, interesting with real character, and we really enjoyed the bars/restaurants with some live music and good food in the evenings. Well located for Grand Canyon 55 miles away. Would love to revisit Williams in winter.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cavans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

Our group of 5 stayed here....after a week of backpacking in the Grand Canyon. We had planned to camp our final night near the South Rim, but it was a *long* day of hiking out of the canyon. And I think we were all ready to hit up a motel for a clean shower and not get all our tents out again.

The hotels near the Canyon are all expensive, so we decided to take the extra hour or so to head back to Williams. I remembered from Expedia that the rooms at the big chain hotels/motels were a bit pricey, so basically we just all decided to crash at the first 'cheap' looking mom-and-pop motel we came to in town. And that landed us at the El Rancho Motel.

After a 12-mile hiking day, I think we were all pretty exhausted. Originally I planned to get two rooms, but the attending lady in her nightcap said we could all 'cozy up' and stay in the 'suite' for 15 green backs less. I figured 'what the hay, I'll save 15 bucks." That still brought the total to 95 green backs, which was more than I wanted to hear....but at that point, we just wanted to crash....so we took it.

The room was very quite in a corner spot. A queen in the main room, and 2 doubles in the back. The main thing we wanted was a nice, hot shower. You never know about these motels....but I'm happy to report that we still had hot water by the end of the 5th shower. Actually, if you've stayed in a lot of 'cheap' motels, it's often the bathroom that's the nastiest part of the room....but in our case, I think the bathroom was probably the *nicest* part of the suite!! Ample water pressure too! About the only thing I could complain about were the towels -- not very big and a bit coarse.

We probably aren't the best to comment on the beds, after coming out of the Grand Canyon backcountry. I think we were all so ready to crash that we didn't even notice whether the beds were comfy or not. We all showered...and then crashed faster than Lindsey Lohan in drug rehab!

Weather was not very hot for an early September, but the two A/C's in both our rooms were more than ample at keeping us cool for the night. After 108 degree days in the Canyon, we were happy to have some blasting A/C!

Check in and out were fast. The attendant was willing to extend our check out to noon since we got in a little late....but we were ready to get on the road and hit up a casino buffet in Nevada on the way home!

If I were traveling with the wife and kids, I'd probably be more apt to hit up a name-brand motel (like Motel6 or Days Inn) if I wanted something budget-minded. But sometimes you just gotta stay in one of these no-name, non-chain places....just for the adventure of it.

Yeah, yeah....the pool is outta commission still. But how many people stay at a hotel like this and actually *use* the pool? My point exactly! So I won't ding them a star for that.

My only real gripe is that the room was probably not worth 95 green backs, especially on a Thursday night. Travelers to and from the Grand Canyon would probably be better off stopping in Kingman, AZ (2 hrs West) or Flagstaff (45 min. East). Your dollars will stretch farther in those cities. We stayed in Kingman on the way in, and got two rooms at a Days Inn for $38/each. Very good deal! Unfortunately, it was just too late to head back there....so we were sort of forced to crash in Williams instead.

As long as you aren't expecting something super nice, I'd say "it is what it is" -- a budget lodge for passers through. Maybe a bit more expensive than I would have liked to pay....but no big complaints otherwise.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TexanMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williams hotels
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Williams / Grand Canyon
0.7 mi away
Westerner Motel
Westerner Motel
#26 of 30 in Williams
111 reviews
0.6 mi away
Canyon Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Highlander Motel
Highlander Motel
#20 of 30 in Williams
305 reviews
0.5 mi away
9 Arizona Motor Hotel
9 Arizona Motor Hotel
#24 of 30 in Williams
68 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Canyon Hotel
Grand Canyon Hotel
#4 of 12 in Williams
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Rancho Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rancho Motel

Property: El Rancho Motel
Address: 617 E Route 66, Williams, AZ 86046-2705
Region: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — El Rancho Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the El Rancho Motel of Williams, Arizona, located in historic downtown Williams, gateway to the Grand Canyon and old Route 66. Home of the Grand Canyon Railway - The perfect destination for travelers looking for relaxation and comfort, or travelers looking for adventure. Whatever you are looking for, the El Rancho Motel of Williams is the perfect motel choice for your visit to the Grand Canyon. Just steps away from some of Williams finest attractions - The motel is walking distance to fabulous restaurants, shopping, museums and the famous Grand Canyon Railroad. Located with Route 66 old time traditional ambiance and lots of amenities, the El Rancho Motel of Williams, Arizona is not only the best choice in motels, it is an outstanding valve. Pool is scheduled for upcoming renovations and not available for use at this time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your El Rancho Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rancho Hotel
El Rancho Motel Williams
El Rancho Williams

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing