We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a complete joke!”
Review of Highlander Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Highlander Motel
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

All I can say is that the staff at this motel are completely incompetent and it appears are unable to follow or complete simple tasks. We purposely per-booked this motel as we are driving Route66 and are on the road all day everyday. So to arrive after dark to find my room had been sold just 3minutes previous to our arrival because the information the receptionist took was COMPLETELY wrong! And to make it worse the manger kindly rubbed it in over and over that 3 minutes previous we would of had our room. We were then offered at a hell hole of a motel out of town and away from all the action...great! We had no choice as all the other motels were fully booked. All in all this motels staff need a lesson in how to correctly fill out customer details and in customer service when they make such a massive mistake! What a joke and what complete idiots!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wadeycakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

120 - 126 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2013

If you want the feel of the old Route 66 this is the place. They have been putting a lot of work into the motel. We reserved on line but called first and still a big miscommunication. I asked THREE times if the bed was a queen size and I was ASSURED it was. We got there and they were double beds. Not nice. But, a Very Good location and great people. The room was small, a little worn out but clean.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeorgeKaplanRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Fantastic option to stay at in Williams! The Belgium guy at the front desk is simply fantastic and super kind! Without even asking, when we arrived, he gave us several maps indicating where to go and what to see.

The room was just perfect and everything was nice and clean. We had paid for the renovated room. There was as usual complimentary coffee, and we were very suprised to know that we could take from the fridge at the front desk, water and many other stuff they had there for free!

I would definitely stay here again when travelling to Grand Canyon, which by the way, is around an hour away from the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lamissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Quaint 60s style motel..... Being renovated by the owner, a room at a time. We stayed in one of the refurbished rooms, the Marilyn Monroe Room, very small but had everything we needed. The owner came by to talk one evening while we sat at the tables/chairs outside each room. The owner and the manager were so helpful, and offered discount coupons to places in town, and talked about their favorites. Everything was in walking distance. We stayed one night, and decided to make it a second night. Wonderful hospitality!!

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MomMom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed for the third time in this motel in historic Williams and for the third time in a row we had a great experience! The motel is an older building, but it fits totally with the vintage atmosphere in Williams. The rooms are well kept and maintained, there is a flatscreen tv, microwave, everything that you need. Did I mention the fluffy towels?

Oh, and the mattresses! The owner said he replaced all the mattresses when he bought the motel a couple of years ago and he wasn't cheap!
We also noticed that since our first stay almost two years ago, some of the rooms have been renovated. The owner gave us a look in these room and they look very stylish, he did a great job there! He said he is in the process of renovating all rooms, but to me, even the not renovated ones look perfectly fine!

In the little reception is a refridgerator where you can get some juice and pastries. Alain (the owner), makes very sure you're not leaving with an empty stomach. He really wants to take good care of his guests.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. I couldn't believe the cleaning lady still remembered us from previous visits.

Overall this is a great place to stay and that comes from a spoiled brat like me who always avoided motels like the plague :-)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yessica_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The hospitality and service we received from the owners and other staff are truely amazing indeed. We stayed here for three nights in two of the rather small, but nicely renovated rooms. Being in the old Route 66 part of Williams, the whole town breathes that uncomplicated fifties atmosphere, and the Highlander Motel is no exception. We had an exceptionally nice experience.

Apart from the daily shoot out show at 5 PM, some fine local restaurants and a ton of souvenir shops, there is little entertainment in Williams. But what we loved so much were the overall cosyness of the town, the moderate summer temperatures, the beautiful landscape it is situated in and the heartfelt solidarity of the people that live here. Williams is also a perfect base camp for Sedona and Grand Canyon NP. It will save you a lot of money, and a drive through the area in any direction is a treat.

Apart from breakfast, which is a selection of juices and other beverages, and cakes for you to warm in the microwave, you can take anything from the fridge in the front desk all day. As this is a vintage 1950's Route 66 motel, expect a modest accommodation, but with everything you need (the WiFi is 21st century!), a friendly face and a very nice little town around the corner. I would recommend staying here to anyone. In fact, I'd love to live in Williams, AZ. Thank you, Alan and Sandra, for bringing that to us.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Houtjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed here for one night this weekend. I booked it based on yelp and tripadvisor reviews. It's owned by Allen who greets you when you check in. Vince is awesome and is over the top helpful and friendly. The lobby has drinks and pastries available anytime for your convenience. He does let you know they don't open the lobby until 8am so you can take pastries ahead of time if you want them earlier than 8. Vince gives you local eating tips and coupons for discounts, he also goes over a map with local points of interest. Then you are walked to your room. The room is immaculate, I wipe everything down with Lysol wipes (at every motel) and there was not a speck of dirt on them when I was done!! There is a propane grill available to use.A small fridge and microwave in the room. The A/C works wonderful. There is a small coffee pot and all the necessary coffee/sweeteners etc also in the room. There are tables outside where people would sit and visit. We would definitely stay here again! You are treated like a friend from the second you arrive until you leave.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Azdamac4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williams hotels
0.1 mi away
Canyon Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Williams / Grand Canyon
0.9 mi away
Days Inn Williams
Days Inn Williams
#5 of 30 in Williams
1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Motel 6 Williams East - Grand Canyon
0.4 mi away
M Star Route 66 Grand Canyon
1.4 mi away
Canyon Motel & RV Park
Canyon Motel & RV Park
#10 of 30 in Williams
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlander Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlander Motel

Address: 533 W Route 66, Williams, AZ 86046-2332
Region: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Williams
Price Range: £25 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Highlander Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Highlander Motel is located on historic Route 66. A unique Motel that was originally built in the 1950. We have eleven rooms. within blocks of restaurant's , gift shops , local bars and grocery store.The highlander motel is a non smoking and no pets property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Highlander Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highlander Motel Williams

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing