We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”
Review of Highlander Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Highlander Motel
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Good, clean motel in central area of town. Alan was very welcoming, lots of ideas of things to do in the area as Grand Canyon was closed (and he makes a good cup of hot chocolate!).
Stayed in the Marilyn Monroe room which had been recently refurbished. Motel was quiet, despite being on route 66. Only drawback - no real storage for clothes, so we had to live out of suitcases.
We will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for the refurbished rooms, only $10 more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwendaphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

108 - 114 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

Nice clean rooms! Really close to Shops and Restaurants. Definitly a good stop at the Route 66!!! Great, funny Staff!!!!
So many Tips and Ideas for our Route after visiting the Grand Canyon...
We would love to stay again at the Highlander Motel at the Route 66!
Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katja G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This place was a great stop on route 66, Allan and Vince were great and very accommodating, the rooms are clean and nice close to all the shops, we stayed here to go the Grand Canyon which was closed due to the government shut down so we were a little annoyed about driving all the way out there after leaving Vegas and not being able to go but we stayed for 2 nights and on the first night it just happened to drop 5 inches of snow on the town which made the stay better as a consultation prize, it was only forecast to rain. For something to do were found a place up the road called Bearizona, somewhat of zoo with bears and wolves and other animals which was great as we dont have them in Australia, if i am to go to the Grand Canyon in the future i will defiantly be staying here again, could ask for a better place in a small town

Room Tip: Ask for one of the renovated rooms as they are renovating the rooms one by one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buddyslowrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

next time we definitely go back to highlander motel
great thing is , the manager speaks English, Dutch, French...
makes u feel very welcome
Great place for route 66
Diffidently recommend it to everybody who wants to tour the route 66
see u next time alain

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sylvie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Spent one night at the Highlander Motel and found it very clean, comfortable and friendly, would defo recommend.
Pre booked our stay and requested refurbed rooms having read mixed reviews, and we had two very nice rooms.
Great place for Route 66 travellers..

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wallibobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I must admit I am surprised by some of the other reviews and feel a little bit of 'balance' is needed. We pre-booked two rooms for the evening of Monday 23rd December and from the initial e-mail enquiry to checking out, these guys couldn't have been more helpful (particularly Vince).
It is obvious that the owner has put a lot of time and effort into renovating the rooms and we stayed in the Marylin Monroe and Grand Canyon 'themed' rooms. They were top-notch with everything you could want and way above the standard of your typical motel room on Rte 66.
When checking in, Vince offered us very welcome free drinks and pastries from the reception fridge and went out of his way to point out local places of interest and the best places to eat and drink.
All-in-all outstanding friendliness, comfort and value for money. Highly recommended

Room Tip: I understand that the rooms are being renovated one by one - ask for a themed room when booking as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This was the last overnight stop for our trip, we decided a time back that we would stop on the way home to break up the drive. Having stayed at this motel many years back we decided to stay here again.

The reservation was made well in advance, but there was no absolute guarantee, we were told at the time to call a day ahead of our advised arrival date, which we did. There was a room available, but could not check in until 2pm which is normal and not a problem for us as we planned to cut the Flagstaff part of the trip out and go across the South Rim of the Grand Canyon.

When we eventually arrived we were given Room 11 which we were told was a dinette, kitchen with a four ring stove and oven, this would suit us perfectly.

We parked our vehicle outside the room door and got unloaded. We weren't impressed with the room, there was a queen size bed and a chair, no table, no closet area to hang clothes, and desk type piece of furniture with a TV and a Microwave on it.

The day we arrived the wind was particularly strong, and an adjacent diner had a large amount of flags flying from flag poles, that just crackled in the wind, we could hear them clearly. The door on the room was not a tight fit and continually rattled, I was going to have to jam the chair behind it to hold it tight in the door frame if we needed to get some sleep.

Having gone shopping for some food, we decided to eat in; having eaten our meal seated on the bed, we decided to wash our utensils, thats when we realized we had a real problem. The sink, which had to double as a hand basin, as there wasn't one in this room, was blocked. I went back to the front desk and informed the gentleman that booked us in, and he returned with me to the room with a container of some crystals. He poured the crystals down the drain area and we watched, as nothing appeared to be happening.

He then left the room and came back with a plunger, and started to work the plunger over the drain area, with little to no affect. What I saw that came up from the drain, after he had been plunging was a black like substance, that made the water look extremely dirty. He gave up trying to clear the blockage and put us in another room.

This room was much more acceptable, larger and with two queen size beds. It had a microwave and a small fridge, and a small flatscreen TV.

When we travel, we travel with our own coffee maker, as we make our morning cups with our preferred coffee and flasks, we take a flask with us when we hit the road. Well I set the coffee pot up on the vanity area behind the hand basin, where the other provided coffee pot was positioned. I set the time and the delay brew, so that in the morning the smell of coffee would wake us up.

I woke up when the coffee should have been brewing but heard no brewing sound or smell the aroma of coffee. I got up to investigate and found the coffee machine was dead, no time was showing and it just wouldn't start. At this time my wife woke up so I turned on the light to see what was happening, it was then that I discovered that the light switch for the hand basin and vanity area were all controlled by that light switch, I would say that the circuit that the wall sockets were on were controlled by that light switch, and if we wanted that machine to work we would have had to sleep with the light on all night!

The rooms, are not very well sound proofed we heard the people in the room next to us, and during the night the occasional rain shower could be heard as the rain hit the roof.

All in all, even with the best intentions of the motel staff, the motel in our opinion left a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanFD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williams hotels
0.0 mi away
Westerner Motel
Westerner Motel
#26 of 30 in Williams
114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Canyon Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Williams / Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Motel 6 Williams East - Grand Canyon
0.4 mi away
Grand Motel
Grand Motel
#20 of 30 in Williams
74 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtowner-Rte 66
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlander Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlander Motel

Address: 533 W Route 66, Williams, AZ 86046-2332
Region: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Williams
Price Range: £36 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Highlander Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Highlander Motel is located on historic Route 66. A unique Motel that was originally built in the 1950. We have eleven rooms. within blocks of restaurant's , gift shops , local bars and grocery store.The highlander motel is a non smoking and no pets property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Highlander Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highlander Motel Williams

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing