We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, in all senses of the word. All expense spared.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Reviewed 21 August 2011

This was not a pleasant experience. Grotty hotel, horrible rooms, even worse bathrooms, awful night's sleep. Cheap, yes, but not worth the saving. Never again.

Breakfast area is big enough for about 6 people to eat, in a grotty lobby area.

And (common to too many hotels we stayed in): horrible polystyrene (styrofoam) plates, cups and plastic cutlery. Not only unpleasant to use, but what about the tons of rubbish they generate? Very American, unfortunately...

The hotel had a problem with the water supply, and we were told not to drink it. When asked if we could use the filtered water in the drinks machine, we were told we could buy water in the nearby gas station!

Williams is a cool town, though. This hotel is not. Avoid. Really, avoid.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gobbledyspook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (530)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

407 - 413 of 530 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2011

we stayed here to go to the grand canyon , never been here before it was a good clean small hotel good pool indoor with a spa , good parking and a great breakfast included in the price , found the staff good and egar to help , we had one small problem the water in the hotel was brown a problem with the local water supply. not their fault just a short walk to the town overall i think it is a good stop over point and value for money

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldbenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

This is a family friendly motel situated about an hour from the Grand Canyon in Williams Arizona. We stayed there as a party of five, including one child (under six) as part of a one day trip to the Grand Canyon. The motel is well placed for those driving to the Canyon and is a few minutes walk to a vintage tourist train that goes to the Canyon and back daily. The rooms we stayed in were connected together and had double beds, phone, TV and combination bath and toilet, but no extra frills. We paid $99/room per night before taxes. Our rooms were clean and very quiet (we made a point of staying on the second floor to avoid the crowds). The only disappointment we had was that the complimentary breakfast advertized consisted of juice, cold cereals and waffles, but no hot food like eggs and bacon; and was held in a small lounge facility with not enough space to accommodate all the guests. Staff were friendly, but often not immediately available at the front desk for questions. We would also recommend that you make sure that you park near your room as the hotel is spread out into several buildings. All in all a good deal and worth the price for a family with children.

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor and ask for a double bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neil102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

I was not pleased with the experience of staying at this hotel. I couldn't book online and had to pay over $100 a night when I arrived. I was meeting a friend, otherwise would have stayed somewhere else. The wi-fi didn't work. I heard the staff yelling at other staff. The rooms were outdated. The best part of the entire stay were the waffles.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akochara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

In a few words...it served its purpose. Hotel customer service is not good. There are no elevators in this motel. You might think as I initially had, "No elevators, oh well dont really need them." If you do, then your dead wrong just like I was. Once you been on the road, tired and sleepy, lugging around luggage up the stairs is definitely no fun. RETHINK staying here just for that reason alone. Rooms were clean enough. Not a beautiful hotel, slightly below average. Breakfast is from 6am to 9am...we are on vacation who gets up this early. Very small eating area. Oh and there's something wrong with the water so if you want to brush your teeth (they specifically tell you not to drink the water but that its ok to use it to brush your teeth, scary) buy bottled water like we did.

Room Tip: Look elswhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Likes2Review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

We stayed in a room with two queen beds. Both beds were very uncomfortable to sleep in. If you were able to fall asleep, you'd wake up with a stiff back and neck. We asked for a non-smoking room, but since the other side of the hall is smoking, all the smoke would drift into the room. Even though we had the air conditioner on, if you sleeped in the bed by the door, you wouldn't feel the cool air because it would mainly go under the curtain. If your room faces the back of the hotel, don't plan on having a view of anything but private homes. The breakfast they offer ends at 9AM. A little too early I feel if you're on vacation.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flowerzzz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2010

We went up to play in the snow & got caught in a bad storm had to get a room & in the middle of the night had to bring our dog inside so he wouldn't freeze. The mgr kicked us out even tho we took the dog back out to the truck. No human compassion! Bad bad business. I hope they can sleep at night! The interstate was closed in & out of Williams no where to go. I will never stay there again!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Riskeebehavior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williams hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Williams/Grand Canyon Area
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Williams
0.3 mi away
Canyon Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
1.1 mi away
Days Inn Williams
Days Inn Williams
#5 of 30 in Williams
1,490 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Near Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams

Address: 511 N Grand Canyon Blvd, Williams, AZ 86046-2011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Williams
Price Range: £43 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off Interstate 40, Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams hotel near Grand Canyon Railroad offers the conveniences you need at a value you will love. Get your day off to a bright start with free expanded Rise & Dine continental breakfast, which features cooked-to-order waffles and other tasty fare. Take advantage of handy amenities at our recently updated Williams, AZ, hotel, like free Wi-Fi Internet access, 24-hour front desk and heated indoor pool and Jacuzzi, and business center. Handicapped-accessible and non-smoking rooms are also available and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. We are just steps from Grand Canyon Railway, which provides direct service to the breathtaking canyon. Take the family for a wild adventure at Bearizona drive-through wildlife park. Spend some time outdoors at sprawling Kaibab National Forest or on the rolling greens of Elephants Rock Golf Course. Fans of history and aviation will enjoy exploring Planes of Fame, the local aviation museum in nearby Valle. There are several one-of-a-kind restaurants near our Williams, AZ, hotel that are sure to appeal to every taste. Try the home-style cooking at Pine Country Restaurant, the casual menu and comfortable atmosphere of Red Raven Restaurant or the Mexican food at Pancho McGillicuddy’s. Other local restaurants include Cruiser’s Route 66 Café and Rod’s Steak House. If you prefer familiar fare, grab a bite from Pizza Hut, McDonald’s, Dairy Queen or Jack in the Box. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams Hotel Williams
Williams Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Williams

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing