We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Williams
SOUTHAMPTON
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never Again”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

where do you start, we were staying in the usa for 4 weeks and this i'm sorry to say was the worst hotel i have ever had the pleasure. after a hot and sticky 5.5hrs drive we were all looking forward to a nice dip in the pool. it was green reception claims it was ok to swim in and just had a problem with the towns water!!! well my pool at home you keep filled all the time so no towns water is going to change that more like lack of maintenance/chemicals . with all the walking you do on holidays like this you need a good night sleep to recharge your batteries ready for the next days heat and hiking. i woke up feeling worse than before bad back jesus was on pain killers for the next couple of days. and to finish off breakfast room was tiny 4 table to serve over 50 rooms!!!!! garbage sort your self out its a disgrace

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLIM02380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    148
    141
    57
    54
See reviews for
226
149
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bullhead City, Arizona
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

This was supposed to be a family trip to the Grand Canyon. After a night at this hotel, we were exhausted. The beds were extremely uncomfortable, It was not just two 60 year olds backs. My 15 year old granddaughter's back even hurt from sleeping on that bed. A good night's sleep, waking refreshed and ready to have a good time at the Grand Canyon was definately not what we experienced.Lock did not function on connecting room. We tried to lock it. It did not work. The people in the other room attempted to lock their side, unsuccessfully.
When we went to the main building for the free cont. breakfast, there were only 4-5 tables for guests to use and the small, unaccomodating dining area was packed with people attempting to plate breakfast and sit somewhere. Most were just coming in and leaving without breakfast due to the lack of space. It was elbow to elbow. We left and went to a local restaurant. Tired, achy and unfed. This hotel is a 0 on a 0-10 scale. NEVER STAY HERE!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BamaKathy1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Williams hotels

Clovis, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

This is an old, run down hotel and I would not recommend it for bringing along your spouse or family. It is, on the other hand, quite sufficient for a single male traveling in a truck or on a motorcycle. The only thing that really bothered me on this stay is that after I checked in, the clerk informed me that the tap water was contaminated and completely un-useable. I had to buy bottled water from a nearby store to use for all water uses. Later I learned from the City of Williams that the water had been that way for weeks due to a broken pump. They might have mentioned that when I made my reservation.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We stayed here for one horrible night on our way to Colorado. At check in, the man at the counter asked for a major credit card which is standard. I gave him my card and while I asked him the early checkout info he ran my card and charged it for the room. He handed me a receipt that said "NO REFUNDS" and said, " You pay now. Not in the morning." After receiving payment in full for the room, he Then he told me we couldn't drink any water at the hotel because it was contaminated. He said we could brush teeth and shower in it but absolutely no drinking it. Also the indoor pool was green because he just put chemicals in it to "shock it". I know pools get "shocked "because algea has grown in it, not the other way around. Slot of great information to recieve after your card has been charged & they won't give you your money back. When we got to our room, I know why the have established a no refund/ pay before you have a chance to get the hell outa there policy. There was blood stains on one of the pillows and cigarette burns in blanket. I was truly worried we were going to get bedbugs! We were in such a hurry to get outta there we forgot our sons Teddy bear and a pillow. We called from the from the road & talked to someone who said they would mail it to the address on the credit card. As of 2 weeks later still no bear and pillow and everytime I call to find out when or if it was sent nobody there has any information. They say to call back and they refuse to take a message and call me back. Not only would I never stay there again for any reason, I would never stay at ANY Howard Johnson in the USA.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Msweet05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
249 reviews
232 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

This was not a pleasant experience. Grotty hotel, horrible rooms, even worse bathrooms, awful night's sleep. Cheap, yes, but not worth the saving. Never again.

Breakfast area is big enough for about 6 people to eat, in a grotty lobby area.

And (common to too many hotels we stayed in): horrible polystyrene (styrofoam) plates, cups and plastic cutlery. Not only unpleasant to use, but what about the tons of rubbish they generate? Very American, unfortunately...

The hotel had a problem with the water supply, and we were told not to drink it. When asked if we could use the filtered water in the drinks machine, we were told we could buy water in the nearby gas station!

Williams is a cool town, though. This hotel is not. Avoid. Really, avoid.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gobbledyspook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

we stayed here to go to the grand canyon , never been here before it was a good clean small hotel good pool indoor with a spa , good parking and a great breakfast included in the price , found the staff good and egar to help , we had one small problem the water in the hotel was brown a problem with the local water supply. not their fault just a short walk to the town overall i think it is a good stop over point and value for money

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldbenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria, New York
Level Contributor
568 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

This is a family friendly motel situated about an hour from the Grand Canyon in Williams Arizona. We stayed there as a party of five, including one child (under six) as part of a one day trip to the Grand Canyon. The motel is well placed for those driving to the Canyon and is a few minutes walk to a vintage tourist train that goes to the Canyon and back daily. The rooms we stayed in were connected together and had double beds, phone, TV and combination bath and toilet, but no extra frills. We paid $99/room per night before taxes. Our rooms were clean and very quiet (we made a point of staying on the second floor to avoid the crowds). The only disappointment we had was that the complimentary breakfast advertized consisted of juice, cold cereals and waffles, but no hot food like eggs and bacon; and was held in a small lounge facility with not enough space to accommodate all the guests. Staff were friendly, but often not immediately available at the front desk for questions. We would also recommend that you make sure that you park near your room as the hotel is spread out into several buildings. All in all a good deal and worth the price for a family with children.

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor and ask for a double bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neil102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williams hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Williams/Grand Canyon Area
0.2 mi away
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Near Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Canyon Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Williams
1.1 mi away
Days Inn Williams
Days Inn Williams
#5 of 30 in Williams
1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams

Property: Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams
Address: 511 N Grand Canyon Blvd, Williams, AZ 86046-2011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off Interstate 40, Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams hotel near Grand Canyon Railroad offers the conveniences you need at a value you will love. Get your day off to a bright start with free expanded Rise & Dine continental breakfast, which features cooked-to-order waffles and other tasty fare. Take advantage of handy amenities at our recently updated Williams, AZ, hotel, like free Wi-Fi Internet access, 24-hour front desk and heated indoor pool and Jacuzzi, and business center. Handicapped-accessible and non-smoking rooms are also available and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. We are just steps from Grand Canyon Railway, which provides direct service to the breathtaking canyon. Take the family for a wild adventure at Bearizona drive-through wildlife park. Spend some time outdoors at sprawling Kaibab National Forest or on the rolling greens of Elephants Rock Golf Course. Fans of history and aviation will enjoy exploring Planes of Fame, the local aviation museum in nearby Valle. There are several one-of-a-kind restaurants near our Williams, AZ, hotel that are sure to appeal to every taste. Try the home-style cooking at Pine Country Restaurant, the casual menu and comfortable atmosphere of Red Raven Restaurant or the Mexican food at Pancho McGillicuddy’s. Other local restaurants include Cruiser’s Route 66 Café and Rod’s Steak House. If you prefer familiar fare, grab a bite from Pizza Hut, McDonald’s, Dairy Queen or Jack in the Box. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams Hotel Williams
Williams Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Williams

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing