We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Stayed here on the way up to the Grand Canyon, good value for the money, large clean room and just a short walk from the center of Williams. It became even better value when we paid four times as much to stay in a smaller room in Tusayan the following night.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    153
    151
    61
    56
See reviews for
241
154
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Upstate South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

For a small town Willaims Arizona has some big prices. Ho Jo's was a good price, walking distance to everything , was reasonably clean, good breakfast, and the staff was particularly helpfull. Hotel was nice enough to check our bags even though we had checked out for the trip so we could see the Grand Canyon without dragging our luggage

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank medevac3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2012

The rooms smell like smoke. I couldn't bare it. It's in the middle of a ghetto but the town of Williams is nice. DO NOT stay at this hotel. Also very small cramped indoor pool. Will not be staying in the cigarette smelling rooms again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GBelich15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Average hotel but a great town to visit so don't let where you stay spoil you time here. I will come back to Williams the people are fantastic.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pete66_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

If you're just looking for a hotel without paying astronomical prices within the Grand Canyon national Park area, this hotel is ideal. About an hours drive from the parks outskirts, it is just a standard hotel.

Internet wasn't working when we were there and the guy behind the desk was pretty clueless, so we ended up using McDonald's free WiFi just across the street. There was a pool but it was full of rowdy kids so we didn't stay very long!

About 10 minutes from a supermarket in Williams if you want to stock up with food, and is literally just a 20 second drive from the I40 so you can get on with your journey with no problems.

Would stay again, for convenience and value!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duffduffmcduff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orem, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

I've stayed here twice now several years apart. Both times the sleep was terrible. They have rubber/plastic covers over their mattresses. I guess its to help keep them clean but it helps their guests listen to themselves toss and turn all night. Extremely uncomfortable and makes for a terrible nights sleep. Breakfast is two choices of cold cereal, waffles and some sad looking pastries. The oranges juice tastes more like Tang than real juice. They must not air condition the hotel itself because the lobby and hallways were hot and the temp outside was only in the low 80's. I had to put the air conditioner in my room on 68 or 70 just to get it comfortable. The only good thing I can come up with is this place is walking distance to downtown and all the things to do down there.

Room Tip: There isn't one
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solartj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylors, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

My husband and I met friends to see the Grand Canyon. I origionally made the reservation for four nights but twenty minutes later realized we would only be there for three nights. When I called to cancel the fourth night twenty minutes later, a woman who couldn't understand English answered the phone. Finally a gentleman got on the phone and I cancelled the extra night. We had made these reservations about 45 days in advance to our trip. Upon check-in, the man wanted to confirm that we were staying 4 nights and I told him no, it was three nights. He told us that we would be charged for the 4th night regardless. I told him that I had canceled the fourth night and he told us that they had a no cancelation policy and would be charged. I wasn't happy at all with this but there wasn't anything other than putting it on here that I could do.
The rooms were out-dated but clean. There is NO elevator and the friends we were with and us, had large suitcases since this was a 10 day trip overall. Not to mention the back surgery one of our friends had recently! There were only about four or five small tables for guests to eat breakfast from and the area was awfully hot!! No one came to clean off the tables when other guests finished their meal - you had to do that yourself. Our room was on the second floor and we had a perfect view into the window of a rental or house next door. We had to keep the curtains closed the whole time we were there. All vending and ice was on the first floor. When I made the reservation, I requested a room with a king size bed but were we're put in a room with two doubles.
I would only stay here if there were no other rooms available in Williams. And I guess this could be a possibility - other than having clean rooms, this hotel didn't have much going for it.

Room Tip: First floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkyLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williams hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Williams/Grand Canyon Area
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Near Grand Canyon
0.2 mi away
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Williams
0.3 mi away
Canyon Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williams-Grand Canyon Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams

Property: Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams
Address: 511 N Grand Canyon Blvd, Williams, AZ 86046-2011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off Interstate 40, Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams hotel near Grand Canyon Railroad offers the conveniences you need at a value you will love. Get your day off to a bright start with free expanded Rise & Dine continental breakfast, which features cooked-to-order waffles and other tasty fare. Take advantage of handy amenities at our recently updated Williams, AZ, hotel, like free Wi-Fi Internet access, 24-hour front desk and heated indoor pool and Jacuzzi, and business center. Handicapped-accessible and non-smoking rooms are also available and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. We are just steps from Grand Canyon Railway, which provides direct service to the breathtaking canyon. Take the family for a wild adventure at Bearizona drive-through wildlife park. Spend some time outdoors at sprawling Kaibab National Forest or on the rolling greens of Elephants Rock Golf Course. Fans of history and aviation will enjoy exploring Planes of Fame, the local aviation museum in nearby Valle. There are several one-of-a-kind restaurants near our Williams, AZ, hotel that are sure to appeal to every taste. Try the home-style cooking at Pine Country Restaurant, the casual menu and comfortable atmosphere of Red Raven Restaurant or the Mexican food at Pancho McGillicuddy’s. Other local restaurants include Cruiser’s Route 66 Café and Rod’s Steak House. If you prefer familiar fare, grab a bite from Pizza Hut, McDonald’s, Dairy Queen or Jack in the Box. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams Hotel Williams
Williams Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Williams

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing