We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the night before going to the Grand Canyon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Lancaster, Ohio
Level Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“the night before going to the Grand Canyon”
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We stayed at this hotel the night before we went to the Grand Canyon. There are a lot of hotels that are somewhat closer to the freeway but we were happy to choose this one. The family who owns the place was very interested in our comfort and answered our questions. They keep everything very clean.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NfromOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    147
    140
    57
    54
See reviews for
223
149
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eastlake
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Do not stay here- EVER! There is a coating of serious mold along the seam in the tub enclosure. The enclosure had an awful crack in it which I am sure attributed to more mold in the walls. Taking a shower was unbearable. The mold smell was horrendous. The carpeting probably hadn't been cleaned in years. The window does not open nor is there a door directly into the room so this room probably had not seen any air in 40 or more years. The air is disgusting. The lamp shade was ripped. I wondered where the health department was on this one! No matter what, choose another place- NOT this one!

Room Tip: Anywhere else but THIS
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stiz2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Williams hotels

Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2012

AVOID, AVOID, AVOID. DO NOT BOOK HERE.. What a hole!!!! After being moved to our 3rd room (yes, our 3rd room) which had a fridge and microwave that finally worked, it was still a total joke. The safe did not work. The faucets were switched between the hot and cold. Unfortunately my child discovered that first. Old food was left in the fridge and a weird smell lingered in the air. After getting settled in with the kids after driving all day, we discovered that the bathroom was full of mold. NOT just a little mold, but a lot. It was completely unacceptable. The front desk clerk, I'm guessing he's the manager, was nothing but rude. "We give you $10 back. We working on mold problem. You listen to me!!! We cannot give you refund." He actually yelled at me (I'm a mom) when I pushed for half of a refund, so he was unable to hear my other complaints in addition to the mold issue. AVOID this place at all costs. Not a safe place for the family...mold, hot water switched around, leftovers not cleaned up, rude desk clerk (unnamed guy) and obviously lazy cleaning staff. The breakfast wasn't any good either!

Room Tip: Don't even bother to book here. If a problem(s) does arise, which it will, you'll just be t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

If you're just looking for a place to rest your head, i guess this place will suffice. The breakfast area is VERY small, 4 or 5 tables. The waffle maker was broke, the coffee pots (3) were empty and the guys working the food area could care less. Wouldn't stay here here again.

Room Tip: go to another motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zenenriv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARANA
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Some of the TV stations did not work and the person at the desk(not the one who checked us in) just kind of blew it off. The next morning the person who was doing breakfast was not very friendly either. The person who checked us in was VERY friendly and helpful

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank MITCHELL W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williams hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Williams/Grand Canyon Area
0.2 mi away
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Near Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Canyon Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
1.1 mi away
Days Inn Williams
Days Inn Williams
#5 of 30 in Williams
1,405 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Williams
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams

Property: Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams
Address: 511 N Grand Canyon Blvd, Williams, AZ 86046-2011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off Interstate 40, Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams hotel near Grand Canyon Railroad offers the conveniences you need at a value you will love. Get your day off to a bright start with free expanded Rise & Dine continental breakfast, which features cooked-to-order waffles and other tasty fare. Take advantage of handy amenities at our recently updated Williams, AZ, hotel, like free Wi-Fi Internet access, 24-hour front desk and heated indoor pool and Jacuzzi, and business center. Handicapped-accessible and non-smoking rooms are also available and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. We are just steps from Grand Canyon Railway, which provides direct service to the breathtaking canyon. Take the family for a wild adventure at Bearizona drive-through wildlife park. Spend some time outdoors at sprawling Kaibab National Forest or on the rolling greens of Elephants Rock Golf Course. Fans of history and aviation will enjoy exploring Planes of Fame, the local aviation museum in nearby Valle. There are several one-of-a-kind restaurants near our Williams, AZ, hotel that are sure to appeal to every taste. Try the home-style cooking at Pine Country Restaurant, the casual menu and comfortable atmosphere of Red Raven Restaurant or the Mexican food at Pancho McGillicuddy’s. Other local restaurants include Cruiser’s Route 66 Café and Rod’s Steak House. If you prefer familiar fare, grab a bite from Pizza Hut, McDonald’s, Dairy Queen or Jack in the Box. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams Hotel Williams
Williams Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Williams

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing