We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mui Local” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brown Mug Cafe

Brown Mug Cafe
Ranked #9 of 30 Restaurants in Winslow
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Los Alamos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
164 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Mui Local”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

This is Mexican Food Diner Decor as real as it gets. It's a working restaurant that's been there a long time for a good reason: they know what they're doing. Real Navajo Tacos -- the best we've had in years. Great folks, friendly, warm and fun. You won't leave hungry.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    28
    10
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
“Is that SPAM in the Green sauce?!?!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

the worst green chili sauce EVER. not sure what the pink blobs of mystery meat were...i'd guess it was SPAM. so gross.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Abby Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good cheap eats”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Very modest, but homemade Mexican. Tasted great and real down home service. We liked it. Not 'fine dining' but better than most.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MandyAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunkhannock, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
82 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

We were passing through with hungry kids and it was getting late. When we got there, it was obvious that they were getting close to closing but seated us anyway with a smile. All I can say is WOW, what a meal. It was almost more food than we could eat. I've never been served a meal for such a reasonable price where the food was almost spilling off the plate from the sheer volume of it. The price was minimal and the food was fantastic. We wanted an excuse to come through this way again just to stop here. It will be on our stop list next year when we go across the country again. Don't miss this place if you are driving through Winslow.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maya N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinth, Mississippi
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food and Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

This place was recommended by hotel staff. I was told that it was locally owned and had been there for a long time and you could tell. The restaurant was older and not updated but the food was great.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dhaynes67_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brown Mug Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Brown Mug Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing