We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, free campsite!”
Review of McHood Park

McHood Park
Ranked #10 of 11 things to do in Winslow
Attraction details
Watervliet, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great, free campsite!”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I've been to Winslow twice and, both times, I stayed in the McHood Park campgrounds. It's free! Plus the ranger (who isn't always there) is extremely helpful and friendly. He was willing to bring me worms from his own refrigerator to fish with AND can let you in on hot fishing spots. On the weekends, the park is busy and lots of people come in and out at night. But, everyone minds their business and enjoys the sites and the creek, which you can canoe/kayak all the way up the canyon.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Chelsey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    3
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Martinez, California
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

South of town on 89 and then east is Lake McHood. It';s more of a wide slow spot in a river than a lake, nestled beautifully among some canyons. Very photogenic and fairly uncrowded when we were there, which was a hot Staurday afternoon.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottonwood
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Park and river access.”
Reviewed 18 January 2013

I have been there twice and it is a cool park on Clear Creek.One time the water was way up and it was just like a lake out there. Someone was water skiing and many people were in boats fishing.
I am pretty sure it is a city of Winslow Park.
You can walk along the creek past the parking lot to get some good views.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank csedona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice little park by a creek -- and camping is free!”
Reviewed 19 October 2011

McHood Park sits next to Clear Creek and offers canoeing, fishing, swimming, picnicking, and free camping. There are picnic tables, grills, and even a bathroom with a flush toilet. No electricity or water hookups are provided, so be prepared. If you bring your own canoe, you can take the creek all the way to Clear Creek Canyon, a deep rock canyon that is a magnificent, secluded sight.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
8 Thank TravelingMamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to McHood Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing