We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cock roach infested dump” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Desert Sun Motel

Desert Sun Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Winslow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Desert Sun Motel
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Winslow
jimboslice59
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cock roach infested dump”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2008

It appears that the manager is trying to make some improvements to the motel but right now it's a dump. When I stayed I was laying in bed and watched cockroaches running around the room. There are much nicer and more modern reasonably priced motels in the area so I would make this one a last resort.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Arriving
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank jimboslice59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lperna, General Manager at Desert Sun Motel, responded to this review, 31 July 2010
New owners have taken over since this review was written and have updated and upgraded dozens of rooms but have retained the classic route 66 style of this vintage 1950's motor inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    2
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
1
1
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
LasVegas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2007

1950's Vintage motel. The room we had looked all new- carpet, tub, furniture, TV & bed. New but old fashioned style gas wall heating kept us cozy. Decent diner across the street. On old route 66, this is the first motel we noticed traveling West through Winslow, Arizona. Above average for the price.

  • Liked — clean, inexpensive night's stay
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank vegaslasersbuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LasVegas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2006

Nice room, great on-site manager who might own the place. I got a brand new room- think I was the first guest to ever stay in that room. Looks like he's redoing most rooms. It's an old motel and some rooms look like they haven't changed in 40 years but the new rooms have all new flooring, beds, furniture. I would go back.

  • Stayed October 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank phase_blade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2006

The rooms smell as if some one had died in them. The mattresses have pee stains and they have no phone service. The office is always closed and no manager around until after 3 in the afternoon. How can a place like this stay in business???

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Winslow hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winslow hotels
0.4 mi away
La Posada Hotel
La Posada Hotel
#1 of 14 in Winslow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,708 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Winslow Inn
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn Winslow
Quality Inn Winslow
#3 of 14 in Winslow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#7 of 14 in Winslow
3.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
1.3 mi away
Oak Tree Inn
Oak Tree Inn
#9 of 14 in Winslow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
2.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Winslow
Econo Lodge Winslow
#5 of 14 in Winslow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Sun Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Sun Motel

Property: Desert Sun Motel
Address: 1000 E Third St, Winslow, AZ 86047-4136
Region: United States > Arizona > Winslow
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Winslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Budget motel with clean comfortable rooms, some with fridges and microwaves, some with full size kitchenettes. All rooms have color cable TV with 32 channels. Rooms are available on a nightly, weekly or monthly basis. The motel is located on the east side of town, one block from the main drag (2nd Street) and close to Downtown. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Desert Sun Hotel Winslow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing