We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We always look forward to our next visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Turquoise Room

Turquoise Room
Reserve with OpenTable
Turquoise Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 30 Restaurants in Winslow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Native American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: One of the southwest's unique restaurants, providing a mesmerizing interpretation of Arizona food. Discover a wonderful road restaurant as you travel Arizona and explore the renovated Fred Harvey Winslow hotel - La Posada.
Clarkdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
110 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“We always look forward to our next visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We love this place. We visited again a few days ago and had breakfast while traveling through the area. We try to stop here every chance we get. It's about 100 miles from home and sometimes a group of us on motorcycles will just make the trip to enjoy breakfast or lunch there. It is truly old-school service where nothing seems rushed or like fast food. The LaPosada atmosphere with Harvey Girl care and service. The history lessons available just by wandering around are amazing......but back to the food. We love the local influence on the menus at all meals. Try the Corn Maiden for breakfast, but if you are there for lunch or dinner, make sure to try the "Signature" soup....awesome! Enjoy the trains going by and take time to watch a video in the motel lobby (not a fair name for this enjoyable atmosphere).
There are so many delights on the menu, that one or two trips will be just a sample for you. Make sure you have an appetite when you arrive.....and enjoy as we do. Prices are very reasonable for the excellent food and service received.
The grounds are a masterpiece with gardens and metal work that will amaze you. They have preserved a lot of history here.
The parking lot is very motorcycle friendly with a reserved space....and no problems with a large group.....They handle us easily and with a great attitude. I have their number on my cell and call them when we're about an hour out when we have a group....and they take it from there.
I am writing this for the Turquoise Room, but the LaPosada Hotel is a beautiful setting for this and they blend together as one.....a hidden treasure in Winslow, AZ.....Enjoy!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,055
    208
    71
    24
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
182 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Innovative menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

I knew when we made reservations at La Posada that we would have to eat in the Turquoise Room. I am glad we did! The menu is unique, full of native ingredients. We were not in an adventurous mood so we made pretty mundane choices, carnitas and filet mignon. But they were both very good and well prepared and presented. Service was attentive. My steak was tender, cooked just the way I like it, and very flavorful. The carnitas were tender and tasty, although my partner thought they were a bit bland. I had a glass of Zinfandel from their "green" menu and it was lovely. We would certainly eat here again if we were in the neighborhood. And next time we would try something more interesting... bison or elk or deer or quail...

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ALT44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mystic
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“It's just not that wonderful”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Everyone loves La Posada Inn in Winslow Arizona: its wonderful old architecture, its resurrection from near death in 1997, and the owners' admirable determination to save and conserve one of the old Harvey hotels of the southwest. The restoration is worthy of the visitors' love, but I simply can't agree with rave reviews of the hotel restaurant, the Turquoise Room. The large lamb sampler served up an oddly cut lamb chop that had almost no meat on it. The lamb posole was bland nearly to the point of having no taste at all. The lamb sausage was greasy and covered in some brown sauce. The day was hot and there weren't many light mains on offer (game is featured, which is altogether too heavy for summer dining). My companions had grilled vegetables, which they ate with enthusiasm, and the black bean and corn soup, ditto. I should have followed their lead. Meanwhile, the waiter hovered about, sent us a bottle of wine instead of a carafe, and misreported the ingredients in one of the dishes. At least he wasn't forced into a costume drama like the waitresses, all of whom must wear long and ample white dresses, white frilly aprons, and little white caps. They are meant to remind us of the legendary Harvey Girls who worked at the hotel in the 1930s, but the attire evokes an Americana theme park that is at odds with the reincarnated and reinvigorated hotel. Tip: linger in the tastefully preserved public spaces of the hotel proper and take in the modern/postmodern artworks exhibited by one of the hotel owners. Then drive to Flagstaff for a good and less distracting meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CMcNabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
470 reviews
259 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
“Still Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We did both dinner and breakfast. At dinner our companion looked up from the deer filets and said "I love this place". We also had the Carnitas and the Shrimp and Lobster Pasta. All three were excellent. The wine list was short but excellent - the recommendations on the menu are well-conceived.
Breakfast was the Breakfast burrito and the Boilermaker, plus a lighter arrangement negotiated with the helpful and knowledgeable waitress.
In each case, well-designed dishes delivered complex tastes. Execution was flawless. Service was "old-fashioned" in the Harvey House tradition. In short, this place is memorable.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SantaFeDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Don't just stand on the corner in Winslow, go to the Turquoise Room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stopped here twice going between Flagstaff and Albuquerque and enjoyed it both times. The food is good, portion size lets you share, and the desert (raspberry and date butter crumble) was great. It doesn't hurt that the restaurant is in the historic La Posada hotel, so take it easy and enjoy both the food and a stroll through this historic landmark. The restaurant wasn't so busy we needed reservations, and while it wasn't the fastest service either time, we enjoyed our drinks and the break from the freeway.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank camplund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Turquoise Room also viewed

 

Been to Turquoise Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing