We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in the area”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winslow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Meteor Crater RV Park
Certificate of Excellence
Sun Lakes, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Best in the area”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This is our second year stopping here for three night stays. The nearby cities of Flagstaff and Winslow don't have much to offer for us, since we are 40' plus a 24' enclosed trailer for our car. This is a very neat and clean little park just of I-40 and near the entrance to the Meteor Crater natural landmark park. It's a 20 mile drive to Winslow and a 30 mile drive to Flagstaff, so it makes a nice little base camp for the area. They have nice long pull-throughs with 50 amp full hookups for us, or smaller sites with fewer amenities if your needs are less. It's a nice peaceful little stop that is well worth it. Not much to pick from in this area for RVers. Nearby parks are usually buried in pine trees which can make satellite service dicey. Also cover your rig with sap and sticky needles. If you are not familiar, stay away from pines for long term stays. They can be messy.

Room Tip: Watch the tree locations before you drop the jacks and slides, if you want to use your satellite dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    32
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
44
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Just a 5 minute drive to the Crater, great park, 71 sites clean as an be, restrooms and shower were immaculate. Staff was very friendly and fast. They are inside the Mobile gas station, they have 24 hour security with electric gates. If you visit the crater save your receipt as they will give you a 5 cent a gallon discount on fuel. WiFi worked very well

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tazman1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Parguera, Puerto Rico
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Very nice and clean campground and a good stopover place for visiting the crater or the Painted Desert and Petrified Forrest as we did. Restrooms were clean and although you are near to the freeway, nighttime traffic noises were at a minimum. I would stay there again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank KP50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

We stopped here to avoid noise & high rates in Flagstaff. What a great little oasis in the middle of nowhere! Sites were immaculate. Gravel was raked, lush grassy areas, lots of shady trees. Staff was very friendly & even kept store open until 8.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valrico, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We chose a tent site here and felt it was well worth the $29 we paid. Restrooms and showers were immaculate. The grounds well kept to include plush grassy areas at the tent sites (only 4 available). It is only 6 miles from the crater. Located at the sight are a gas station and small store that offers supplies/food. WiFi is provided though signal quality/bandwidth made it hard to use. Staff was very courteous.

Room Tip: There are plenty of RV spots but call ahead and reserve a tent site as there are only four in the pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edge8400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

We booked 1 night at this park as we made our way to the Grand Canyon. We got a late start from Amarillo & between the wind, food/restroom stops our arrival at this park was going to be after 9 pm. I called to let them know we would be arriving late & discovered that they really dont like late arrivals because they dont want to disturb the other guests. I failed to check their policy for after hour arrivals and they didn't mention it either. They were going to allow us to come in through a back gate off a dirt road, but we would only have 30 amp electric & water hookups. That was not a problem since it was just an overnight stay but unfortunately we didn't have our 50 amp adapter. We had to find another park that allowed later arrivals with the hookups we needed. So if you pick this park I encourage you to arrive before 8 pm to avoid complications.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank PurvisFamilyof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This hidden gem is off the beaten path and a great stop over near Winslow. Staff were so friendly and helpful. We felt very welcome. RV park was quiet, immaculate and had a great feel. In the morning, it was a quick drive to the Meteor Crater, which was well worth the visit. I wish we could have stayed longer - it was just an overnight stop for us.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whiskerbark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winslow
20.0 mi away
La Posada Hotel
La Posada Hotel
#1 of 14 in Winslow
1,817 reviews
21.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Winslow Inn
13.4 mi away
Twin Arrows Navajo Casino Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Quality Inn Winslow
Quality Inn Winslow
#3 of 14 in Winslow
707 reviews
18.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#5 of 14 in Winslow
161 reviews
18.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Winslow
Econo Lodge Winslow
#6 of 14 in Winslow
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meteor Crater RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meteor Crater RV Park

Property: Meteor Crater RV Park
Address: Interstate 40, Exit 233, Winslow, AZ 86047
Region: United States > Arizona > Winslow
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Winslow
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meteor Crater's RV Park offers 71 "big-rig friendly" pull-through RV spaces, full hook-ups, tent sites, gated entry, private restrooms with showers, laundry, Recreation Room, free WIFI (effective May 8, 2015, the speed of our WIFI is 10 times faster than before), a Mobil gas station, country store, dog park and ADA accessible facilities. Full Hookups are $35.00 per night; Water and Electric is $30 per night; Weekly rates are also available. Please do not hesitate to contact us for additional weekly rate information. The park provides outstanding views of the San Francisco Peaks. Grab a lawn chair and view the spectacular sunsets! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing