We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great all-American diner with amazing homemade pies!”
Review of Dar's Route 66 Diner - CLOSED

Dar's Route 66 Diner
Cuisines: Grill
Restaurant details
La Roche-sur-Foron
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great all-American diner with amazing homemade pies!”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This is a great authentic diner experience on Route 66. We stopped by on a slow night and they stayed open just for us. That shows the level of hospitality -- the waitress, the owner and the chef were all very welcoming and friendly. The decor is everything you would want from a Route 66 diner, and has been recently renovated. The food was good, solid diner food (burgers, BLTs) but the best thing we had was definitely the homemade pie, which was really outstanding! A really fun experience for the welcome, the food, the atmosphere and the location (right across the street from the Standin' on the Corner statue). If you are going to stop to eat in Winslow, look no further!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EllieAmancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    36
    15
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hicksville, New York
Level Contributor
172 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great Service - Great Food - Great Price”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We visited Dar's Route 66 Diner while on our Route 66 trip. The diner is situated on Route 66 in Winslow, AZ. across the street from the Standin' on the Corner Park.

On the day we were there, the diner was filled with locals, but we were made to feel very welcome. We had a great breakfast, which was served by our very pleasant waitress. The prices were excellent as well. The diner has a 1950's Route 66 theme, and when you walk outside on the old Route 66, it is like a step back in time.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Measuretwice8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cortez, Colorado
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great little Diner in Winslow”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

While staying at La Posada in Winslow AZ, My cousin and I decided to try the new diner in town for breakfast, located across from Standin' on the Corner, Dar's Diner. So glad we did. The service was great the food was delicious. Dar was so friendly and the food came out fast and hot. It's a work in progress and I think it will be an asset in Winslow.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
139 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Had breakfast at Dar's when we were in Winslow. Service and food were excellent. Dar waited on us and made a special meal for one of our group who needs gluten free foods. The omelets were stuffed with sausage and cheese, the waffle was terrific. Dar was friendly and welcoming. Food and drinks were served quickly. The cafe itself is across from 'Standing on the Corner in Winslow Arizona" and has a sixties vibe. A must stop!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mudge2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
135 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A yes for Breakfast”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed at the very nice La Posada hotel about a 5 minute walk form Dar's dinner. We wanted a place that was more local and we found it. Dar's is a small dinner with pancakes and eggs and the like. It's a good place and the people there are happy to serve. It's a good hardy meal and you can get a great espresso drink, yahoo. Go, sit and eat a wholesome meal and smile when they bring the check.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Baba-Kahawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dar's Route 66 Diner also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing