We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Grasp Of Route 66 Goodness”
Review of Dar's Route 66 Diner - CLOSED

Dar's Route 66 Diner
Cuisines: American, Diner, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Los Alamos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
164 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Perfect Grasp Of Route 66 Goodness”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

It's a diner. It's got old fashioned decor. The food is better than any real Route 66 diner ever had (at least when I was a kid). Folks are friendly. It's fun. I had the pulled pork special and it was special indeed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    36
    15
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Outstanding Service, Good Food”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stopped here for a quick breakfast on our way out of Winslow, after standing on the corner that Glenn Frey sang about. Being in a hurry, we asked for a quick takeout. They made us a non-menu custom egg sandwich, a custom kid's grilled cheese, and some other items from the breakfast menu. We chatted with a nice couple at the counter while waiting, talking about Harleys, the weather, the great state of Arizona, etc. Then, after putting two and two together, we asked them if they were the owners. Low and behold, they were! What a friendly place. Good diner-type cafe-style food. Very friendly service. Recommend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CardiffKayaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food, great location, great people!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Stopped by here with no clue on where to eat but a good rating on tripadvisor. 3 of us got the burger special which was $7 for a huge burger, tons of fries and a large iced tea. Burger was perfection. Service was fantastic and it was clear that its family owned. Our only regret was not having enough room for desert. Seriously this is an old style 50s diner right "on the corner" in winslow with tasty food at affordable prices. You cannot go wrong!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackson2425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Shakes - Super Service”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

What more do you want from a Rte 66 Diner! We has vanilla shakes after a long hot day, and were made to feel welcome. Nice building, nice (kitsch) décor.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank BDG1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pataskala, Ohio
Level Contributor
126 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fun Diner...Old fashioned hamburger!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

While in Winslow, AZ, my husband and I stopped to have lunch at Dar's Route 66 Cafe. After hearing other patrons rave about their hamburgers that they were served, we decided to order two.

The hamburgers were excellent if you want an old fashioned, freshly hand pressed burger on a toasted butter bun. What a treat!

Two burgers and two drinks (one sweet and on non-sweet tea cost $21.06.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dar's Route 66 Diner also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing