We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint Hotel - Poor restaurant”
Review of La Posada Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Posada Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Winslow
Certificate of Excellence
los angeles
Level Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Quaint Hotel - Poor restaurant”
Reviewed 30 May 2011

The hotel is quite charming and old...very quaint. We had a nice room overlooking the interior garden. Fortunately we were not in the back of the hotel which is adjacent to the railroad tracks. There is train traffic going through frequently 24/7. The restaurant is extremely overrated. The food was terrible. Unfortunately the hotel is in a rundown neighborhood so there is literally nowhere else to eat.

Room Tip: Ask for away from the train tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinglosangeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,781 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,310
    356
    75
    21
    19
See reviews for
328
1,031
90
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (635)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
57 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

My husband had visited LaPosada several years ago and was enthralled with its beautry and elegance, and enjoyed a terrific meal in the Tourquoise Room. He was anxious to share the experience with me when I was able to return to AZ with him this year. The hotel is being beautifully restored, and the history of it is fascinating, but I found myself more inclined to stay in my room and not explore its many surprises rather than be confronted by the many bizarre and macabre paintings on display, especially a painting of Nancy Reagan, with a frozen smile and image of Ron Reagan as her pupils, we couldn't avoid on the stairway to our room. The art is not in keeping with the hotel's atmosphere.

Room Tip: call early
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soberflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
578 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 536 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

Stayed here for one night while traveling through Winslow. I wish we could have stayed here multiple nights as this is a hotel to be savored and enjoyed for a few days. Everything about this hotel is wonderful. Easy check-in with friendly staff. The room was pleasant and well decorated. The hotel is a delight to wander through; several garden and patio areas with furniture to relax on; rooms with sculpture and art to enjoy; a game and fireplace room; a lovely gift shop and a great yard to relax outside and watch the trains go by. This hotel is full of historical ambience and since it was a Harvey hotel for train guests, it is a lot of fun to go outside and watch the freight or passenger trains pass by and stop at the hotel. In fact, Amtrak makes a few stops each day at the hotel. The restaurant on site has wonderful ambience and remarkable food. I was oohing and aahing over my meal there. I could go on and on about this hotel. The owner has spent much time and money renovating a building that was set to be destroyed and has done an amazing job. I noticed a number of very contented guests at this hotel. I can't wait to return some day soon. The room price is so inexpensive with all the amenities you receive at this hotel; one of the best deals around! If ever in the area you must stay here!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MSWMom50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

We learned about La Posada in a Frommer's book and I am so glad we stayed there. What a delight. Rooms are named for famous guests (I stayed in the Douglas Fairbank's room) and are beautiful. The gardens are to be explored and appreciated. We took the self-guided tour and learned a lot about the history of the hotel and Mary Colter's vision and influence. We stayed here because we visited the Petrified Forest. The only drawback is no elevator. It is not to be missed. Check out this treasure!!

Room Tip: First floor. Away from the train station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmarieb75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2011

the wife and i had planned to stop at the La Posada in winslow whilst on out trek along route 66... I had heard that this place was a little special.. and i wasnt dissapointed... La Posada is like an oasis in the arizona desert really! - a unique spanish feel to a hotel that is really a museum of sorts but caters to its guest nicely. Great resturant. Fantastic cocktail bar with fantastic bar- tenders with a great attitude toward travellers. The room was brilliant (simillar to the mission inn in riverside CA) - big with nice tiled floors and a tiled villa feel to the bathroom.. OUR ROOM WAS SPOTLESS. the history here is the big attaraction.... so if you want to stay somewhere that has soul.. stay here... **note. its ony 2 min walk if you want to stand on the corner of winslow arizona !!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kingrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

We traveled here for a romantic mini-vacation. The hotel grounds are beautiful and interesting, a collection of small gardens and sitting areas, a wide variety of art and history in every nook. The turquoise room restaurant is worth the trip in itself, amazing meal. I would recommend asking to see your room first they are all furnished, laid out and designed completely different, some are very lovely others are older and less comfy. I couldn’t have had a nicer time, we loved it and plan to go back soon

Room Tip: ask to see your room first
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leahazgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Huron, Michigan
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Winslow, Arizona has fallen on hard times but not La Posada Hotel. It has been restored to grandeur and artistic beauty. We could not believe how reasonably priced their rooms are today! There was a problem after we first checked into our room and the front desk handled it immediately. The problem was not the fault of the hotel but the guests in the next room. If you enjoy trains this place is particularly fascinating because it began as a railroad hotel as a destination for the wealthy. Today it is also a wonderful art museum and many of the works are for sale. It is a delight just to walk around and see them. The restaurant is a bit prices but gourmet cuisine that is worth every cent! Our waiter, Nathan is one of the best waiters we have ever had in a dining experience! If we even get near Winslow again we will make a sincere effort to stop at La Posada!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cabotpierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winslow hotels
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Winslow Inn
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn Winslow
Quality Inn Winslow
#3 of 14 in Winslow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
1.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Winslow
Econo Lodge Winslow
#5 of 14 in Winslow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Oak Tree Inn
Oak Tree Inn
#9 of 14 in Winslow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#6 of 14 in Winslow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.4 mi away
Violet Rose Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada Hotel

Property: La Posada Hotel
Address: 303 E Second Street, Winslow, AZ 86047-3941
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Winslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Winslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Posada Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Posada (1930) is the masterpiece of architect Mary Colter, hotelier Fred Harvey and the Santa Fe Railway. This was the last great railway hotel built in America, and the finest historic hotel on Route 66. National Landmark building and gardens, famous art collection, and one of the best restaurants (The Turquoise Room) in the southwest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your La Posada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Posada
La Posada Hotel Winslow
La Posada Winslow Az

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing