We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautifully Restored HIstoric Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Posada Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Posada Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Winslow
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautifully Restored HIstoric Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2011

The La Posada was built in 1936. This is a loving and beautiful restoration of a historic building and some reviewers have ignored that. To me, that historical step back simply adds to its wonderful charm.
I stayed at La Posada two nights in late May, 2011. The experience was great. Both check-in and check-out were prompt and friendly. The hotel itself has many interesting aspects, and a booklet guiding you to interesting things will be given to you when you check in – use it! The interior is lovely and the garden is quite beautiful. From the windows of the Turquoise Room restaurant you can see the frequent freight trains and the rare passenger train rumble by. For me, the restaurant was a highlight of the hotel experience – the food was excellent and the service was superior every time. The Cadillac Margarita is a work of art not to be missed!
The one small exception to an otherwise great experience at La Posada, which really should be remedied by management, was the failure to provide guests with written descriptions of the hotel services. For example, water and ice are available from a machine on the first floor, but we only discovered this by accident; recycling is also possible but we stumbled on this – nowhere was the information provided for us. A guide to hotel services would be easy to create and very helpful to all guests. But this was only a minor and very easily fixed annoyance.
The rooms at La Posada are small but nicely decorated and well furnished, the hotel is beautiful inside and out, and the Turquoise Room restaurant is indeed a jewel. This is a beautifully restored historic railroad hotel and it is a place to which I would happily return again and again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheCountWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,257
    344
    71
    20
    19
See reviews for
311
988
89
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (613)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eyota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

When we made the reservation we were told that this is the best place to stay in town - that this beats the Best Western hands down. What we found was: Dark, dreary interior, the art is not related to a train station, the "for sale" prices are outrageous. The "original" paintings by the owner’s wife are well...... different. The restraunt / bar was overpriced - we refused to eat there because of the high prices. There is no continental breakfast of any kind unless you only want decaf coffee - no cream / sugar. They want you to eat an overpriced breakfast in the restraunt. A sign leading to the 2nd floor states to this affect: "no outside food or beverages to be brought on the premises”. The room had a microwave, no refrigerator, no phone or intercom to front desk, small terrace doors that when shut you could see daylight underneath. The room ( The Managers Room) did have a jetted tub with newer fixtures, bed was fair, faced the tracks less than 50 yards away - so we had to try to get sleep listening to trains coming by every 20 minutes - sometimes two at a time! We heard and felt every train that passed by the Winslow Train terminal that night, after 10 PM. At 2 am we couldn't take it any more. We got up and moved to the Best Western after receiving a refund. When I complained about the noise from the high speed trains, the desk attendant's come back was that people actually come here to listen to the trains! I was so happy to see the Best Western, it was 1000 times better!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank kmidnighthauler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argyll, Scotland
Level Contributor
179 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

Did you ever see Judy Garland in 'The Harvey Girls'? The Fred Harvey Hotel she was a waitress in what is now the historic La Posada Hotel in Winslow, Arizona, designed by Mary Colter and built to serve the passengers on the famous Santa Fe Railroad. The Silver Train stops here on its way from Chicago to Los Angeles. This double-decker train took stars to Hollywood and they dined in the legendary Turquoise Room on the way. This streamlined and elegant reminder of a bygone era stops a few yards from the hotel entrance - the station is next door to the hotel. To see this while staying here is like stepping back to the glamorous world of the thirties and forties.

If this is not enough, the back entrance to the hotel opens on to Route 66, the classic route from the east across the States, finally finishing in Santa Monica on the Pacific Ocean.

But to get back to the hotel itself. Run down through the latter half of the 20th century, closing in 1957, it nevertheless inspired the talented and committed artists Allan Affeldt and Tina Mion to buy it, and use their artistry and that of others to restore and re-create this marvellous building in this evocative location. The result is truly fantastic. Beautiful rooms with oak doors, gorgeous furniture in period style; lounges and reception rooms with amazing paintings and sculptures by the owners themselves; halls and gardens with an atmosphere unique to this hotel; a thirties bar where the margaritas taste like heaven; and to finish, a superb dining room named, of course, The Turquoise Room.

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. Just one night is an entire experience of the best of what the western states in American can offer. Service is wonderful, the location cannot be bettered, the rooms are fabulous, the food is a joy. If you are travelling through Arizona by car at any time, this is a 'must' stopover, and if you can stay longer, do.

Room Tip: Book well in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank veronica59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

The hotel is quite charming and old...very quaint. We had a nice room overlooking the interior garden. Fortunately we were not in the back of the hotel which is adjacent to the railroad tracks. There is train traffic going through frequently 24/7. The restaurant is extremely overrated. The food was terrible. Unfortunately the hotel is in a rundown neighborhood so there is literally nowhere else to eat.

Room Tip: Ask for away from the train tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pinglosangeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
57 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

My husband had visited LaPosada several years ago and was enthralled with its beautry and elegance, and enjoyed a terrific meal in the Tourquoise Room. He was anxious to share the experience with me when I was able to return to AZ with him this year. The hotel is being beautifully restored, and the history of it is fascinating, but I found myself more inclined to stay in my room and not explore its many surprises rather than be confronted by the many bizarre and macabre paintings on display, especially a painting of Nancy Reagan, with a frozen smile and image of Ron Reagan as her pupils, we couldn't avoid on the stairway to our room. The art is not in keeping with the hotel's atmosphere.

Room Tip: call early
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soberflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
576 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 528 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

Stayed here for one night while traveling through Winslow. I wish we could have stayed here multiple nights as this is a hotel to be savored and enjoyed for a few days. Everything about this hotel is wonderful. Easy check-in with friendly staff. The room was pleasant and well decorated. The hotel is a delight to wander through; several garden and patio areas with furniture to relax on; rooms with sculpture and art to enjoy; a game and fireplace room; a lovely gift shop and a great yard to relax outside and watch the trains go by. This hotel is full of historical ambience and since it was a Harvey hotel for train guests, it is a lot of fun to go outside and watch the freight or passenger trains pass by and stop at the hotel. In fact, Amtrak makes a few stops each day at the hotel. The restaurant on site has wonderful ambience and remarkable food. I was oohing and aahing over my meal there. I could go on and on about this hotel. The owner has spent much time and money renovating a building that was set to be destroyed and has done an amazing job. I noticed a number of very contented guests at this hotel. I can't wait to return some day soon. The room price is so inexpensive with all the amenities you receive at this hotel; one of the best deals around! If ever in the area you must stay here!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MSWMom50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2011

We learned about La Posada in a Frommer's book and I am so glad we stayed there. What a delight. Rooms are named for famous guests (I stayed in the Douglas Fairbank's room) and are beautiful. The gardens are to be explored and appreciated. We took the self-guided tour and learned a lot about the history of the hotel and Mary Colter's vision and influence. We stayed here because we visited the Petrified Forest. The only drawback is no elevator. It is not to be missed. Check out this treasure!!

Room Tip: First floor. Away from the train station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmarieb75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winslow hotels
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Winslow Inn
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn Winslow
Quality Inn Winslow
#3 of 14 in Winslow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
1.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Winslow
Econo Lodge Winslow
#5 of 14 in Winslow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#7 of 14 in Winslow
3.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
1.2 mi away
Oak Tree Inn
Oak Tree Inn
#9 of 14 in Winslow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.4 mi away
Violet Rose Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada Hotel

Property: La Posada Hotel
Address: 303 E Second Street, Winslow, AZ 86047-3941
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Winslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Winslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Posada Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Posada (1930) is the masterpiece of architect Mary Colter, hotelier Fred Harvey and the Santa Fe Railway. This was the last great railway hotel built in America, and the finest historic hotel on Route 66. National Landmark building and gardens, famous art collection, and one of the best restaurants (The Turquoise Room) in the southwest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your La Posada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Posada
La Posada Hotel Winslow
La Posada Winslow Az

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing