We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Historic Hotel”
Review of La Posada Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Posada Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Winslow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed at La Posada and dined in the Turquoise Room for our anniversary last week. The hotel's history and restoration are amazing. The rooms were comfortable as were the beds. The walking tour was so informative. The video playing on the restoration efforts was excellent. Food in the Turquoise Room is amazing. We will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ksb_48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,917)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,502 - 1,508 of 1,917 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2012

What a unique hotel. We extended our stay an extra night so we could enjoy the atmosphere of the hotel, and great restaurant a little longer. Will revisit in a few years to see the planned changes.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We (two couples) traveled to some Arizona sites and made the La Posada a destination stop for us on the way home. We love to stay here, the history, the rooms, the restaurant. We especially appreciated that when we called (four months ago) for reservations, the person was quite helpful, was able to look up the section we had stayed in previously and set up our two rooms in the same section. We will continue to try to stay here whenever we travel through the area in the future.

Room Tip: Reserve early for room choice, but remember they do charge your credit card upon reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Lovely building beautifully restored. Couldn't hear the trains at all, despite being me to the railroad. Very comfortable bed and lovely room. The lobby is in the gift shop and the hallways are like galleries/ museum with artwork everywhere, which does make you feel as if you are staying in a gift shop, but the standard of furnishing in the rooms is very high. We ate in the Turqoise room restaurant , which was expensive, but very pleasant experience. The menu was varied food good and serving staff exceptional. Definaty recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Urbantourer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed one night here with our two kids. The hotel architecture and the artwork are absolutely beautiful. There is a lot to explore and nice places to sit an enjoy the quiet. Our kids enjoyed the games, including great chessboards in the ballroom. There is also a fun hay maze on the grounds for kids, where we played quite a bit. Our room was lovely and quiet. We only heard one train during the night, so it wasn't really a problem. We thought the room rate was fair for an historic hotel. We didn't go to the restaurant for dinner as it is very pricey and there aren't really great dining options in Winslow. We did eat breakfast in the restaurant, which was decent but overpriced for what it was ($60 for breakfast for 2 adults and 2 kids). I would recommend an overnight stop at La Posada if you are in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Picacho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We found everything about this historic hotel great and a good value.

Room Tip: We did not notice the trains but could be a concideration for others
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brangwinjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We did not spend the night in this hotel. We wanted to for our honeymoon, but couldn't make it work with our other destinations. I am glad we didn't stay there. The hotel is interesting. My spouse loves trains so it was fun to hear the trains behind the hotel. The hotel had a lot of history which was fun to read about. They only really displayed one artist's paintings, and I wasn't a big fan of her work. As other reviews have said, the hotel is one of the only interesting things in the town. Standing on the corner was a cute photo, but it took a second to snap the photo. The town is run down and depressed. I wanted to buy a keepsake, but I found them overpriced. They were two to three times as much for a similar item that I found in Sedona and the Grand Canyon. We probablly won't go back. However, the hotel is nice to walk through once.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank CarlosRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winslow hotels
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Winslow Inn
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn Winslow
Quality Inn Winslow
#3 of 14 in Winslow
730 reviews
1.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Winslow
Econo Lodge Winslow
#7 of 14 in Winslow
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#5 of 14 in Winslow
177 reviews
1.2 mi away
Motel 6 Winslow
Motel 6 Winslow
#11 of 14 in Winslow
85 reviews
0.4 mi away
Violet Rose Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada Hotel

Address: 303 E Second St, Winslow, AZ 86047-3941
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Winslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Winslow
Price Range: £109 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Posada Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Posada (1930) is the masterpiece of architect Mary Colter, hotelier Fred Harvey and the Santa Fe Railway. This was the last great railway hotel built in America, and the finest historic hotel on Route 66. National Landmark building and gardens, famous art collection, and one of the best restaurants (The Turquoise Room) in the southwest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Posada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Posada
La Posada Hotel Winslow
La Posada Winslow Az

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing