We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memorable Experience”
Review of La Posada Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Posada Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Winslow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We stayed here one night in May, and had a great time. It's a bit like staying in a museum. Take the time to wander the halls, and look at ALL the public rooms, and memorabilia. There is nothing else to do in Winslow except the famous corner, but the hotel itself has plenty to keep one occupied for several hours.

If you have the time watch the constantly running DVDs in a few of the common rooms that explain the hotel and the renovation process. It's fascinating. Sit out by the train lines and watch the trains go by; you won't have to wait long as trains rumble by every 7-15 minutes, and that's all night long.

We asked for a quiet room (knowing about the trains in advance) and we stayed in the Clark Gable room which is about as far away from the trains as you can get. We could still hear the trains at night but not in a way that kept us awake.

We ate dinner at the restaurant and enjoyed it but didn't think it was anything special. (The signature soup and squash blossom appetizer were great). However, breakfast was outstanding. Don't miss it.

For the price (we paid about $110) this place is a quirky, amazing little adventure.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baraseth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,899)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,440 - 1,446 of 1,899 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2012

We happend upon the La Posada two years ago and stopped in for lunch in the fabulous Turquoise Room. We fell in love with the hotel and made it one of our destinations this trip. As others have stated, the restoration is wonderful and the history of the building and restoration is well documented throughout the building. A day could be easily spent enjoying the gardens and grounds, watching the trains and absorbing the history presented in the exhibits. Yes if you listen hard you can hear the trains a little through the thick concrete walls but it was a railroad hotel after all. The evenings of our stay there was music in the lobby area that was very pleasant. The owners Alan and his wife Tina live at the hotel are seen often out and about and are quite friendly and seem to be happy to share their experience wit the La Posada. The town of Winslow seems to be trying to rebrand itself as an art center it has a ways to go, it is a good location for day trips. I am sure that we will be staying again on our next trip west.

Room Tip: The hotel is "dog friendly" but they do have pet free rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnapolisMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We had eaten at the restaurant (Turquoise) many times but never stayed in the hotel until recently. The train runs very near the hotel but strangely isn't a bother. Really... it cannot be heard except maybe a toot once during the early evening. The grounds are delightful. The rooms are small but so interesting and so lovely, small doesn't matter. The decor of the hotel is fascinating. Everything was spotless. It was a charming stay. Oh, we had the Roy Rogers room, my personal favorite cowboy.

Room Tip: Pick your favorite character/personality and request him/her.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhpandhp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We stayed here on a driving trip we were taking through the southwest and we absolutely fell in love with this hotel. This hotel was the last of the Harvey Houses that was built and it certainly has that old-hotel charm. Beds were comfortable, the in-house restaurant, the Turquoise Room, was absolutely fabulous as well. There is a great gift shop, art gallery, and lots of historical exhibits to look at. The night we were there, they even had several men playing Spanish guitar in the lobby. There are trains that pass through here at all times of the day and night, however, they do not blow their horns next to the hotel and the hotel provides earplugs for those that are especially sensitive to sound. To be honest, I never even noticed until someone pointed it out to me. I would stay at La Posada again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

No question, Winslow is a dying town with only a song reference to claim as a highlight...except for La Posada. Beautifully restored with obvious passion, La Posada pays joyous tribute to the talents of Mary Colter and the era of Fred Harvey in concert with the Santa Fe Railroad. Be certain to watch the video to gain an understanding of what the owners faced when taking on the challenge of restoration. For those reviewers complaining ad nauseum about train noise, get a grip! Without the railroads there would have been no need for La Posada in the first place. We stayed in Room 104 ( quite close to the tracks) and had no problems getting a restful night's sleep. Staff was quite helpful, offering the free self-tour booklet as well as pointing out guided tours available from local "Fred Harvey Girls" for a small fee. We spent several hours exploring the property and then relaxed in comfortable chairs trackside to watch the rail activity. My only concern is one that several others have brought up, specifically the mixing of an amazing historic restoration with prominent display of art work that appeals to a somewhat limited group. I personally didn't care for it, but certainly respect the right of the owners to display what they chose. We had no problem focusing on the well documented history displays and videos after viewing the gallery. In sum, after a long day on the road (wonderfully Old Rte. 66) La Posada was a wonderful oasis of relaxation. Hats off to the owners for what they've accomplshed!
P.S. Standing On The Corner Park is only a block away and by chosing the right angle you can get pics that don't include the drunk individual sleeping on the bench.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HikerRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Stayed on our 35th Anniversary on tour of the SW. The overall hotel & grounds are awesome, with art in hallways and a couple of galleries on site. Room was OK, not as comfortable as some other places we've stayed. As a 30s-era hotel, it lacks elevators, so if 'traveling heavy' one can have some pretty good hauls up & down the stairs & hallways. Didn't eat at restaurant as it prices were beyond our budget; on-line reservation system didn't work when we reserved, so had to call.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Old_Drum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

La Posada is a destination, not a stopover. Don't stay here if you're just looking for a place to sleep overnight on your way somewhere. This place is worth the time to get there as early as you can and stay as long as you can! It's a gorgeous old hotel with beautiful gardens and interior rooms also. Each room is different. We had the John Wayne room (2 double beds) and the Harry S. Truman room (king bed, whirlpool tub). We loved sitting in the garden with our morning coffee and the paper and wandering the grounds. We ate dinner in the Turquoise Room and it was delicious. It's very expensive-$200 for dinner for 4 without drinks. But it was a special splurge weekend and I look forward to going back on another special occasion.

Room Tip: Our rooms were fine, but I don't know that they were any better than any others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmujmumom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winslow hotels
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Winslow Inn
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn Winslow
Quality Inn Winslow
#3 of 14 in Winslow
723 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#5 of 14 in Winslow
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Winslow
Econo Lodge Winslow
#7 of 14 in Winslow
196 reviews
1.2 mi away
Oak Tree Inn
Oak Tree Inn
#10 of 14 in Winslow
19 reviews
1.2 mi away
Motel 6 Winslow
Motel 6 Winslow
#9 of 14 in Winslow
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada Hotel

Address: 303 E Second St, Winslow, AZ 86047-3941
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Winslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Winslow
Price Range: £114 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Posada Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Posada (1930) is the masterpiece of architect Mary Colter, hotelier Fred Harvey and the Santa Fe Railway. This was the last great railway hotel built in America, and the finest historic hotel on Route 66. National Landmark building and gardens, famous art collection, and one of the best restaurants (The Turquoise Room) in the southwest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Posada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Posada
La Posada Hotel Winslow
La Posada Winslow Az

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing