We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Turquoise Room”
Review of La Posada Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Posada Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Winslow
Certificate of Excellence
Tijeras, New Mexico, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Turquoise Room”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

The hotel is awesome and well worth touring, but the jewel is the restaurant. You will find gracious eating, delightful ambiance and reasonably priced delicious exotic food. I make it a point to stop there every time I pass through Winslow.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,833 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,350
    367
    76
    21
    19
See reviews for
337
1,056
93
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (648)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 November 2013

A wonderful, historic old hotel. . The restaurant is A-1. Very friendly staff. A great little gift shop. Fascinating Spanish decor. Conveniently located. La Posada is a truly unique relic from another era, and worth the trip just to explore.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tw0c0ldhands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evergreen, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

This was my 2nd stay here - next time I hope it will be for longer. Everything about La Posada is excellent - the helpful staff, the historic and beautiful common rooms, the delicious food. Even thou elegant it is totally comfortable and welcoming. There is so much to see and appreciate both outside and inside it takes more than a one-night stay to absorb it all. In the evening we were serenaded by a talented guitarist. The owners are very dog-friendly - have started to charge a one-time $60 fee - however $50 of that was returned quickly after checking out. We appreciated the owners allowing us to order breakfast in the restaurant and enjoy it beside the fireplace in the ballroom - so that our 'puppies' could join us. Lots of grassy areas to walk the dogs.

Room Tip: Room 111 is large (2 very comfortable double beds) with a tile floor and a bathroom with a whirlpool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marjorie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I LOVED this place. The old remodeled railroad Fred Harvey hotel has a history that is amazing, the little touches everywhere are charming, the room was lovely (Betty Grable room). The grounds were beautiful, the inside rooms so very interesting. There are many places to sit and relax. It has a very nice gift shop and a bookstore with great children's titles. To make this place even more special, it is filled with the huge oil paintings of its owner - artist, Tina Mion. There is also a "museum" of her work in the hotel. Finally, the dinner I had at the hotel's Turquoise Room was the best food I have ever had in Arizona. I visit a friend in Flagstaff regularly (only about an hour's drive) and I will insist on going to La Posada on every visit from now on.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdetroit13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

OK, I have traveled a lot. This place is absolutely amazing. I wish we could have stayed longer and we WILL be back! Yes, Winslow is a crummy little town, but you don't need to go anywhere but La Posada. And the owners and some of their colleagues are trying to improve Winslow with infusions of art and culture.

La Posada was the Grand Dame of railroad hotels under Fred Harvey. Designed by Mary Jane Colter, it closed and became offices. Slated to be torn down it was saved by Allan Affelt and his artist wife Tina Mion in 1997. It has been restored to a thing of beauty...gorgeous, warm, welcoming common areas, filled with the remarkable art of the amazing Tina Mion.

Train noise? Really? This is a classic, beautiful restored TRACKSIDE hotel, so yes, the trains go by. However, they no longer use their horns in town. Anyone who is bothered by the "train noise" should probably just stay home. I sat outside for hours at night (had a room with a balcony) and watched the trains roll by. My lovely wife slept soundly just inside.

The gift shop was great, the people warm and friendly, the bar was great, the restaurant epic. The room was gorgeous...yes it is an old building, but WOW! Just stay here. We are already planning a train trip from Chicago just to stay here for several days. Again, just stay here!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seekonk, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed at La Posada from 11/6/13 to 11/9/13 in the Alice Faye Room, #114. The room was on the small side, but navigable for the 2 of us, and was located in the west wing of the hotel on the northern Rte. 66 side (farther away from the trains). It was very clean and the tile floors had rugs for more comfort underfoot. The bathroom was a good size and this particular room had a whirlpool tub, which we unfortunately didn't get to use.

Yes, the disturbances from the passing trains are less apparent in this location, but as other reviewers have said, if you are a light sleeper, you will still hear and feel the trains passing by. Use earplugs or a take a Benadryl to help you sleep if you are easily roused by noise. Other rooms in this wing that will experience less of the noise are #'s 112 to say, #120, because they are to the north of the building. I never made it over to the eastern wing, but I can assume that the rooms on the second floor above us are similarly numbered so, #'s 212 to maybe 218 would be a bit more audibly train-proof.

We found the hotel to be very beautiful and full of historical photographs and literature about Fred Harvey and the metamorphosis of the hotel from its early days to what it is now. Every one of the personnel were pleasant, informative and helpful, whether it was a question about the hotel itself and the facilities available to guests, to questions about area attractions like "Standing on the Corner" and where to get a good breakfast outside of The Turquoise Room.

Things to know:
1) This part of Winslow appears very run down and desolate when you are driving through, especially if you arrive after dark...it's almost a little scary. Daylight, however, improves this visual a bit, as you can now spot some of the new art galleries, antique shops, restaurants and small parks. It appears that efforts are being made to revitalize this part of old Route 66, but apparently things are evolving slowly, as they always do when cash-flow is an issue.

2) La Posada does have: in-room TVs, hair-dryers, air conditioners, iron and ironing board, ceiling fans, free morning coffee & tea available in the gift shop (which has lots of cool stuff), a computer you can use in the gift shop (to check in with your airline, for example), daily papers to read, a very large lounge area with fireplace and comfy chairs, a bar and restaurant (The Turquoise Room, a separate entity from the hotel), great prices for the rooms (which stay the same year-round, $119 to $169/night).

3) La Posada does not have: an elevator, in-room coffee makers, in-room telephones, short walks into the hotel or to any of the guest rooms (if you have difficulty walking or climbing stairs, this might be of concern for you).

4) We found this to be a great central location for lodging if you are planning to visit the Petrified Forest/Painted Desert (~ 1hour away), Grand Canyon Railway (1.5 hours away), attractions in Flagstaff (1 hour away) or The Meteor Crater (35 minutes away).

We will stay at La Posada if we are ever out this way again...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsCaptain93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed at the La Posada Hotel in Winslow on October 24th to celebrate a birthday. Phoned hotel for room choice - reservationist are very helpful. We chose Lauren Hutton room (#242) - large king deluxe w/whirlpool. The room was spacious and well-designed. We did hear the train at night so if you are a light sleeper this may not be the room for you.
Before arrival I watched a video about the hotel's history. I definitely recommend you do this as well as view the video at the hotel. The reason for staying here is the architectural significance (Mary Colter-designed) and the historical significance. We enjoyed browsing the hotel, its many galleries, the gift shop, enjoying a drink in the Martini room, and eating in the Turquoise room for both dinner and breakfast. Check out review of Turquoise room. Our martini and manhattan were perfectively made.
Other than the visitors center - a must go - and the remembrance park with beams from World Trade Center there is not much to see. Some museums were closed when we arrived so that could have been part of the problem. We walked the center of town and had our pictures taken at the corner ...that's about it. We did enjoy watching the trains go by and this made up for the lack of town activity.

Room Tip: Do not choose #242 if light sleeper. All rooms are nice; however, a ground floor away from the trac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Apricot_Alma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winslow hotels
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Winslow Inn
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn Winslow
Quality Inn Winslow
#3 of 14 in Winslow
710 reviews
1.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Winslow
Econo Lodge Winslow
#6 of 14 in Winslow
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#5 of 14 in Winslow
165 reviews
1.2 mi away
Oak Tree Inn
Oak Tree Inn
#9 of 14 in Winslow
18 reviews
0.7 mi away
Motel 10
Motel 10
#12 of 14 in Winslow
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada Hotel

Property: La Posada Hotel
Address: 303 E Second Street, Winslow, AZ 86047-3941
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Winslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Winslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Posada Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Posada (1930) is the masterpiece of architect Mary Colter, hotelier Fred Harvey and the Santa Fe Railway. This was the last great railway hotel built in America, and the finest historic hotel on Route 66. National Landmark building and gardens, famous art collection, and one of the best restaurants (The Turquoise Room) in the southwest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your La Posada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Posada
La Posada Hotel Winslow
La Posada Winslow Az

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing