We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotel experiences ever”
Review of La Posada Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Posada Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Winslow
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“One of the best hotel experiences ever”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

What a place, the rooms are excellent, each one unique in many ways, the antiques throughout the hotel are just fantastic, and the modern art in the galleries just outstanding!

The owners have done a splendid job of restoring this old landmark hotel, the gardens are unique and the restaurant whilst pricey is also at a level you would never expect in a small town like Winslow.

Being an old railroad hotel does mean however that there will be trains passing through during the night, but we had no trouble sleeping as our room was downstairs and probably the furthest from the tracks, our friend room was closer and they were disturbed by the trains.

We thought that the unique experience of staying here was throughly worthwhile and that the room rate represented good value for money

Room Tip: As far away from the railroad lines as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,834 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,351
    367
    76
    21
    19
See reviews for
337
1,057
93
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (648)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

La Posada is a masterpiece. This grand hotel from the glory days of the Santa Fe railroad is also the crowning achievement of Mary Colter who is known as the architect of the Southwest. After years of neglect the hotel has been restored complete with period furniture, art, and gardens. You will be very comfortable here and you have a great opportunity to learn something about the importance of the railroads and the Harvey Hotels and Harvey Girls to the development of the American Southwest. It is all good including the bar and restaurant which is run as a separate enterprise. For all you Eagles fans from the 1970s in a two block walk from your hotel you too can be 'Standin' on the Corner in Winslow Arizona.'

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewMexicoWineguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Point, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
323 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

What a find! This is one of the old Railroad Hotels built at a railroad station. Lot's of history and art in the many spacious rooms where you can sit and relax if it is too hot to sit in one of their many gardens. The staff is very accommodating. They also have an excellent restaurant (See ratings for The Tourquoise Room). The room prices are very are very reasonable for a hotel of this quality.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the railroad tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Love, love, love this hotel. I was here in 1997 when they were renovating and it was nice but I was pleasantly surprised to see how accurately the finished product is. The lobby, gift shop, sitting rooms and stairwells are so colorful and inviting. There are many original black/white photos around to see how the hotel looked in its heyday as a Harvey House for the Santa Fe Railroad. My niece and I stayed in the "Roddy MeDowell Room" that had two double beds. Bedspreads had raised Indian designs that we found unique. We slept well on soft sheets and fluffy pillows. If I can find one fault it was the high mirror in the bathroom; we were too short to see ourselves which might have been a good thing :-) The grounds are beautiful and there were many little doorways that made for phots ops. We loved sitting out by the tracks at twilight as the Amtrac stopped for awhile. We waved to people on board and talked to fellow hotel guests. Just a marvelous experience.

Room Tip: There isn't an elevator so be prepared to pay more for a bottom-floor room or be able to walk to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yumaborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunch, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

She built this hotel as one of the last of her grand hotels. The current owner is renovating it to it's past glory which has to cost a pretty penny. It was beautiful, with quiet gardens and the BNSF (ex Santa Fe) Railroad running right by the west side. Amtrak makes a stop here and I got to watch as it stopped, loaded and unloaded passengers. A grand hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darrel-Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynchburg, United States
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is a unique hotel. One of a kind. We stayed in the Lauren Hutton suite and it was the size of a small apartment. There are plenty of gardens for walking. The paintings in the hotel are mostly done by the owner, Tina Mion. Very interesting works. The people who work there will be glad to help you in any way possible. Very convenient. The history behind the hotel is very interesting. If I am ever in that area again I will surely stay there. So relaxing.

Room Tip: I would stay in the Lauren Hutton suite again. There was no noise anywhere in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

So many people have written great reviews about La Posada that it's hard to add anything new. Yes, it's in a small desert community that used to be a hub for traveller's by train and there's not much to see other than the artwork in the hotel and a few other artisans in the town. On the other hand, they're on Route 66 which is really wonderful to see and the scenery around Winslow, including the Navajo Reservation is gorgeous.

The room we stayed in was a corner room on the street side. It was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. Beautiful southwestern artwork adorns the hotel and the restoration by the owners is just lovely. Take note that they have just bought another railroad hotel (developed by Fred Harvey who developed La Posada) in Las Vegas, New Mexico - 400 miles away. Soon you'll be able to get on the train right outside La Posada and get off right in front of the newly restored hotel in Las Vegas. I'm looking forward to it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anglogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winslow hotels
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Winslow Inn
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn Winslow
Quality Inn Winslow
#3 of 14 in Winslow
711 reviews
1.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Winslow
Econo Lodge Winslow
#6 of 14 in Winslow
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#5 of 14 in Winslow
165 reviews
1.2 mi away
Oak Tree Inn
Oak Tree Inn
#9 of 14 in Winslow
18 reviews
0.7 mi away
Motel 10
Motel 10
#12 of 14 in Winslow
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada Hotel

Property: La Posada Hotel
Address: 303 E Second Street, Winslow, AZ 86047-3941
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Winslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Winslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Posada Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Posada (1930) is the masterpiece of architect Mary Colter, hotelier Fred Harvey and the Santa Fe Railway. This was the last great railway hotel built in America, and the finest historic hotel on Route 66. National Landmark building and gardens, famous art collection, and one of the best restaurants (The Turquoise Room) in the southwest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your La Posada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Posada
La Posada Hotel Winslow
La Posada Winslow Az

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing