We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Now an Econolodge! ”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Winslow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Americas Best Value Inn - Winslow
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Winslow
Gold Canyon, Arizona
Level Contributor
97 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Now an Econolodge! ”
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

Booked through Booking.com with payment to "ABV" motel on arrival. Price was as expected even though it is no longer ABV. Problem finding the hotel (especially in the dark) as it had recently become Econolodge. Large room (108) with comfortable king bed. Twelve (12!!!) outlets conveniently placed ~4 ft off the floor means no furniture moving to plug in laptops, phones, etc. CRT TV in room / flat screen in lobby. After the fact, we read TripAdvisor reviews - ouch. We had no problems but we don't (yet) require handicap or travel with pets. Adequate breakfast. Convenient to I-40. We would stay again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Vernelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    26
    14
    4
    20
See reviews for
26
23
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
boise
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Did stay a night, room was big, clean and quiet. Slept very well. Front desk was very helpful to find a restaurant. I enjoyed fresh waffle in the breakfast. Enjoyed pool and spa. It was very good.I will stay here again when go to Grand canyon.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joe l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ione, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

On 110/29/2013 I booked a one night stay for 2 adults and 2 children. We arrived at the hotel at 8:40 PM and I went inside to check in. I informed the man at the desk that I had two children in wheelchairs, just like I do every time check into a hotel. He then told me that we could not have a room with two beds, which is what I reserved, but I would have to take the one handicapped room which only had one bed and then pay for another room for my husband and son to sleep in. I asked him, just to make sure I was hearing him correctly, "So you are telling me that because our children are in wheelchairs that we can not have a room with two beds and I would have to pay for a second room?" He said yes and I that I needed to cancel our reservation and find another hotel. I was shocked, we are frequent travelers and we have never been in this situation before. I went outside to tell my husband what the man told me so my husband went inside to talk to him. The man told my husband that it was against the hotel's policy to have two wheelchairs in one room. (When we made our reservations I never saw anything in your policy about that, by the way.) My husband then said that he thinks that might be a violation of the ADA law and that is when the man at the desk became upset and confrontational so we left. We returned about 10 minutes later to make sure we were going to get a refund and when the man behind the desk saw us he immediately said "I will not talk to you" and ran into another room. I said "we just want to make sure we get a refund" and eventually he came back out and said "You will not stay in this hotel", told me to call Travelocity for the refund and my husband told the man that this is not over, we will pursue this further. As we preceded to leave he followed us out to our vehicle and began screaming obscenities and making graphic sexual remarks and gesturing to his genitalia while we were driving away, all in front of our children. This man should not be in a service related job. We should not be discriminated against because we have children in wheelchairs and we are looking into the ADA laws and will pursue this. Also, my children have a rare terminal illness and shame on this man for treating my kids this way...we are on, what might be one of our last family trips and he treated us and more importantly our kids like dirt.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Alicia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Winslow hotels

Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Do NOT plan to stay at this Americas Best Value Inn in Winslow, AZ, if you have family members in wheelchairs. They tried to force a family with two children in wheelchairs to stay in separate rooms, stating that their policy is to not have more than one wheelchair per room. Their "unwritten" policy is against ADA and they are presently being investigated...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 66Traveler84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We are another couple that was REFUSED SERVICE at this hotel, despite the fact that we had reserved in advance. Vic, who wouldn't give us his last name when we asked, must hate customers who dare question ANYTHING. We had reserved a queen room, knowing it was not ADA accessible. When my husband asked at the counter (which has a large sign saying "We Reserve The Right To Deny Service To Anyone") if the hotel might have an ADA room with a queen or king, that's when Vic erupted and said my husband might slip and fall in the reserved queen room, since he was using a cane, and then refused to give us any room. Now of course any customer might fall in any room, but by that time Vic was just busy showing us the counter sign, and the door. We had to find another hotel in a city we'd never been in before, at night. Our advice: only stay here if your only other option is jail.
UPDATE: in our 10 day trip we stayed at three or four other America's Best Value Inns, with lovely service.
UPDATE #2: America's Best refunded us the difference between our ABVI reserved rate and where we stayed that night. They also sent us a hotel voucher for our troubles. Thank you for that.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Darlene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
207 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

rooms clean, indoor pool is nice, staff is nice. a good value for the money. hot b'fast is always sausage and self-cooked waffles, coffee, cereal etc. I lived here for 2 mo.s to work a local contract. right on route 66.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

So we have 4 Australian's doing the first leg of their Road Trip driving from LA to New York in 2 weeks. Coming back from the Grand Canyon, with the little reception we have left, we look up Trip Advisor for a place to spend the night in Winslow.

We read all the reviews and decide to give Americas Best Inn a go. It was comfortably in our price range $62 per room per night and there were rooms available when we needed to check in at midnight after an exhaughsting drive. We thought there are worse things then an angry owner that was described in the other reviews.

The reception was fantastic. Vic greeted us in the middle of the night when we rang the bell. He asked us where we had heard about this inn and when he heard Trip Advisor he was really surprised! Telling us how brave we were for coming here despite all the bad reviews on the site. He took everything with a smile and laugh and was incredibly helpful.

Each room came with a surprisingly wide queen bed. Our room also has a fold out couch, heaps of floor space, desk and coffee machine. Sheets were clean and light for the hot weather going on at the moment. Best thing about the place though is the pool and spa. It's almost like a green house creating a relaxing humid atmosphere, even at 8 in the morning. The pool was clean and cool and the spa was hot and comfortable.

There were no additional charges and even received a complimentary breakfast (your choice of cereals inc. frosty flakes, oats, toast, sausages, waffles and doughnuts.

Great stay, Kudos to Vic the owner, the stay here got us ready for the 8 hour drive ahead of us.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melb0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winslow hotels
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Winslow Inn
1.9 mi away
La Posada Hotel
La Posada Hotel
#1 of 14 in Winslow
1,746 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn Winslow
Quality Inn Winslow
#3 of 14 in Winslow
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Winslow
Econo Lodge Winslow
#5 of 14 in Winslow
173 reviews
1.5 mi away
Oak Tree Inn
Oak Tree Inn
#9 of 14 in Winslow
17 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#7 of 14 in Winslow
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Winslow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Winslow

Property: Americas Best Value Inn - Winslow
Address: 2035 West Highway 66, Winslow, AZ 86047 (Formerly Days Inn)
Region: United States > Arizona > Winslow
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Winslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 62
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn - Winslow Hotel Winslow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing