We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (419)
Filter reviews
419 results
Traveller rating
383
26
6
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
383
26
6
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestshorseback ridingexperienced ridersline dancingstage coacharizona desertperfect family vacationskill levellittle piece of paradisemeal timesdesert sceneryspecial thankswagon ridehot tubthe main lodgeping pongperfect hosts
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 419 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2018

This is a great place. Wonderful people at a very beautiful location. They have very comfortable accommodations. Great horse rides with well experienced guides. We are looking forward to another stay there.

Room Tip: Excellent horse-trail guest ranch
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

What a terrific place to stay, I would recommend staying for four days any less would leave you wanting more. From the minute you arrive the hospitality of the family and the wranglers was brilliant, the rides out are taken at 6am and 6pm and you set the pace. We became cowboys for our stay
believing that the more you put into an experience, the more you get out. We hope to return to this little piece of paradise one day and would not hesitate in recommending the Stagecoach Trails Guest Ranch.
Thanks you JP, Tricia and the gang

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017 via mobile

We have stayed at this magical place twice now and find it difficult to describe how wonderful it is. From the rooms to the wranglers, the horses, the sunsets.. Everything here is perfection and you really haven't lived until you've sampled Randy's cooking! We cannot recommend Stagecoachtrails highly enough, suffice to say we've been twice and are already planning our 3rd visit. GO TO STAGECOACHTRAILS BEFORE YOU DIE!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017

YEEE HAAAAW!!!! and YIPEEE!!! Our family chose this location for a family reunion because of its ability to meet our needs and fulfill our interests. By far the friends and staff of Stagecoach Trails Guest Ranch exceeded our expectations. If time and resources were not a question, the kids would have us 'staying put' for another round of days on the ranch. Now that we are home, I am still hearing, "When can we go back?"

Immediately upon arrival the warm welcome helped us make early and comfortable connections with the staff, guests, and facility. Never would we have imagined what it would be like to travel the distance off a beaten path to land in the middle of a SLICE OF HEAVEN. We stayed for 4 nights and maximized the offerings all 5 days. We flew into Vegas and it was an easy drive to the ranch. Our children, ages 10,12, & 14 found it easy to navigate their way, loved the spaces and friendships of other youth that were guests, and appreciated how attentive the staff were to individualizing opportunities to engage them. For example, we had 5 kids in our reunion group -- with a broad range of interests and abilities. All five came away wishing to return or stay longer based on their experiences.

What a treat for us parents to be able to relax and have our minds be at ease knowing that the kids could partake in what they liked, and additionally, we could entertain our own trail rides that were longer than what the kids desired. The kids did not mind at all that they could "stay back" and swim while a relative supervised the pool, could find a challenge mate for a game of billiards or archery, or spend time with Butterscotch, Seminole, and friends.

Nice job to JP, Trisha, the wranglers- George, Wes, Katie, Tristan, Jon, the head chef- Randy and all those who like us, see that making the choice to spend time with Stagecoach Trails Guest Ranch is one that makes a "bucket list" more complete. We slept beautifully, we had all the comforts of home, we enjoyed tasteful and delightful foods, and we didn't mind one bit that we brought some of the AZ dessert back on our boots. Even grandma and grandpa who hadn't been on a horse in 50+ years found that the staff helped them successfully take a trail ride. The wranglers made grandma and grandpa feel so good about themselves, and day after day found ways to put smiles on people's faces. It is clear that they take pride and love the work that they do. For those who enjoy a bit of history, the staff offer little books in the main lodge that highlight the area. They are thoughtfully assembled and make for easy conversation and discovery.

We are most grateful that we chose to spend our family reunion at STGR, and we feel blessed that we were ready to step out of our comfort zone to do something really different, really fun, and most relaxing.

Thank you STGR family! You left a gentle and fond footprint-- or shall we say "hoofprint"-- in our hearts.

** NOTE: If I were thinking of scheduling a team-building experience for a business group, this would be a great place to entertain that possibility. The rooms can sleep multiple guests, there are ample places for people to have individual, small group, or large group activities, and it is a wonderful break from the rigor and routine of a "typical busy day in the office."

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017

I feel compelled to write a review post my family's 4 night stay at Stagecoach. I would summarize in saying that the warmth of our hosts and the splendor of the setting is uniquely amazing.

A summary of a day --
I open my eyes at around 8am as my two daughters (ages 6 and 9) start to stir, they dress themselves and head out to explore ranch. I never have even a moments concern for their safety, as I know they will be well looked after as they talk to the wranglers, play with the goats, chase after Seminole (their dog) and generally do what kids are supposed to do. The breakfast bell rings and everyone gathers to eat. The community of guests and our hosts is truly unique, many smiles and good mornings are exchanged.

After a soulful meal we prepare for a 3 hour horsehide through the desert. After one day on the ranch I am a greenhorn no longer, having developed enough confidence to manage my horse through walking, trotting and loping. We gather at the stables, are called to mount our horses, line up. Our wrangler is Wes, I wonderful person through and through. We meander through this exquisite high desert landscape, alternating between walking and trotting. Wes educates us on the ecosystem and the way the different critters we encounter interact with it - coyotes, fox, hair, bird.

Oh, the new found glory of the working our way through the desert, watching my daughters excel at riding and thrilled with the experience, looking off to the mountains on either side, admiring the 100 year old cactus and Joshua Trees, thinking about how timeless this experience is, the mountains, rocks and landscape - much the same today as centuries past.

We return to the barn, come together to celebrate our adventure with cold bear and lively conversation.

Then follows relaxation of ones choice. My children are in the pool, wife sleeping, im reading.

Supper time. American west soul food.

Drinks, beers, cowboy shows, then a old western on the movie screen out back.

Blessed day, deep sleep.

Repeat.

Room Tip: For a family of 4 it was nice to have two adjoining rooms
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jberlin2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews