We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shilo Inn & Suites - Yuma
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Yuma
Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awful....”
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Unfortunately we followed the recommendation of a colleague that didn't do his home work and spent the weekend at this hotel. Supplies are very far and between. The hotel smelled like a nursing home, you know that overwhelming smell of urine? Yuma has plenty of new hotels to offer. Don't stay at this one unless the are doing som major remodeling of the place. Nasty.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABTex10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn & Suites - Yuma, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
Dear ABTex10,

We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay with us I am sorry you felt this way after leaving the hotel. I can assure you that I will use this review as a training point to ensure we are all paying strict attention to detail during routine maintenance of our suites and grounds. We do hope that you will give us another chance in the future should your travels bring you back to the Yuma area.

Sincerely,

Sheri D.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    196
    72
    47
    26
See reviews for
153
144
54
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We stayed at the Shilo Inn for 9 days while playing the snowbird routine. A great place to use as a base for day trips into Mexico.The hotel location is great for getting around Yuma and area. Breakfast was the usual stuff but very good. Every thing was clean and neat. The pool and spa area was very well looked after. The exercise room was small and didn't have a tread mill. Very worth while to be looked at.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Terrible!!! bed was dirty full of hair and who knows what!!! They brought new sheets to my room for me to changed them after I called the front desk and complaint...the rooms stink pretty bad also. Their answer to my complaints was" well... this is not the four seasons", are you serious? My company is paying them a lot of money for a crew of 10 to stay here for two months!!! I will never stay at this chain of hotels again! Ill be sure to tell my company also. On a good note,The house keeping staff it's very friendly. Breakfast is very limitled to hard boiled eggs, orange juice, cereal, milk, yogurt sometimes and coffee/ tea.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shahbaz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn & Suites - Yuma, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Dear Shahbaz1,

I am sorry to hear about the areas of concern in your guest room. Please know we take your comments very seriously and use them as a tool to improve. I shared your review with the staff and discussed the need to respect and appreciate our guests while providing the cleanliness our guests expect. I would like to extend my apologies for your encounter with these issues and would like very much to talk to you in person to discuss this matter. Please contact me by phone or email at your convenience.

Sincerely,

Sheri Doney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

We had a great stay in this hotel. Everyone was friendly and the rooms were spacious and friendly. The Shilo has an absolutely great outdoor pool which is heated and open all year round. We were surprised how warm the water was even at 6 pm in November. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you have children or you enjoy year round swimming!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn & Suites - Yuma, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Dear Louise D,

We are so pleased to hear about your awesome experience at our hotel, and look forward to having you stay with us again anytime you are in the Yuma area.

Best Regards,

Sheri Doney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We first discovered the Shilo in Yuma in 1996 when our children were small, we have such fond and happy memories of them playing in the beautiful pool and gardens. We have returned many times over the years but sadly the hotel is in complete decline. The pool is not warm, the fences are rusty, the interior decor and pictures are exactly the same, it needs a complete revamp. The staff are nice and helpful. The main problem for us were the other 'guests'. The large sign hanging outside speaks volumes 'Discount weekly and monthly rates'. I guess the chain has to make a living out of this hotel somehow. Seemed to be populated by lots of construction workers. Breakfast was included in the rate but very very poor. I went to reception one evening to witness the lovely assistant being completely intimidated by a 'guest' who seemed either drunk, or drugged, she had to call security. Later that evening she kindly said she would apply a discount to our bill and we left the next morning. Lots of noise from rowdy 'guests' on balconies, lots of cigarette butts littered on the lawns. Dozens of young people crowding in to the pool in the evenings for their 'own party', much encouragement from balconies above. A very great shame, it was a last visit for us.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BusyBie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn & Suites - Yuma, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Dear BusyBie,

Thank you for providing your feedback. We always welcome our guest’s comments on where we need improvement. Please know that I have shared your concerns with our team and we are using them as a learning tool to improve for our future guests. I would like to apologize for the inconveniences during your stay. Should you change your mind on staying with us, I am confident we can exceed your expectations. Hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Sheri Doney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamestown, Indiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

once again in yuma...once again in shilo inn. we have spent so much time here in the past 2 years, we are beginning to feel like family. there is more to a hotel than lighting in the hallways and smells after years of faithful service. there is a dedication to a clients personal needs or situation. and this shilo inn has hoardes of caring. the personel are great. they are attentive to the needs and circumstances of those who choose to walk the musty, dimly lit halls. your comfort is there top priority. we go to visit family in Az. this trip i lost my Mother. there were terrible circumstances requiring faxes back and forth, long distance calling and verifications, all kinds of waiting and legalities and these people were the most willing to help in any way they possibly could. so if you are looking for the Ritz...but if you want a nice, quiet, comfy place to rest, this is your place. comes with weight room, sauna, huge pool and hot tub. very friendly and obliging staff. surrounded by scenery, attractions, malls, theaters, great places to eat. we are very good with shilo and will keep going back.

Room Tip: rooms with verandes are more welcoming...higher floors are warmer than those lower, but a/c keeps ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank typratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn & Suites - Yuma, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Dear typratt,

Thank you for your continued patronage of Shilo Inns, we are delighted to hear that we remain your favorite place to stay in Yuma! Rest assured that we look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit!

Best Regards,

Sheri Doney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yuma hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western InnSuites Yuma Mall Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
La Fuente Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Yuma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Yuma
Radisson Hotel Yuma
#2 of 33 in Yuma
809 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Yuma
9.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Yuma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shilo Inn & Suites - Yuma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shilo Inn & Suites - Yuma

Property: Shilo Inn & Suites - Yuma
Address: 1550 S Castle Dome Ave, Yuma, AZ 85365-1702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Yuma
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Yuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shilo Inn & Suites - Yuma 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The friendly staff at the Shilo Inn Hotel & Suites will welcome you with gracious Shilo hospitality. Each of the 134 spacious rooms and suites are tastefully decorated with southwestern furnishings. Children 12 and under always stay free with an adult at Shilo Inns. Dogs welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Shilo Inn & Suites - Yuma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing