We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good honest hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shilo Inn & Suites - Yuma
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Yuma
Reviewed 22 September 2008

On Mon. 8 Sept 2008 I checked into the SHILO INNS Yuma Arizona as part of a 105 person group involved inThe Shamrock Run-a fundraising Motorcycle run raising funds for a childrens hospital in Dublin Ireland.
After a very pleasant overnight in the Shilo Inn we departed for Tucson at 6.30 AM.While re-fuelling at Gila Bend approx 120 miles from Yuma, I discovered I had left my wallet under the pillow in my room. It contained all my cash-1800 Dollars-and all my credit cards and I.D.
I rang the hotel and Sheri Doney who I think is the front desk manager answered my call.She listened as I described my problem and told me not to worry and that she would ring me back in 5 mins.She immediately went to the room,which had already been made over and then contacted the cleaner who had the wallet safely in his possession.
She rang me back,as promised and confirmed she had the wallet safe and sound. When I suggested returning to Yuma to collect it she advised me that she could arrange to FedEx it to our next hotel in Grand Canyon This she did and I received my wallet safe and sound next morning.
I cant say how much I appreciated her prompt action in dealing with my problem and the very professional way she sorted everything out for me.Good old-fashioned American hospitality is alive and well and living in The Shilo Inn in Yuma in the person of Sheri Doney.Her prompt action meant that I was able to continue the tour with the group and lose no time out of our very tight itinerary.My sincerest thanks to Sheri and Shilo Inns .

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank EagleriderDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (537)
There are newer reviews for Shilo Inn & Suites - Yuma
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

490 - 496 of 537 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2008

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were large and clean. Pool area was beautiful. All this combined for a very relaxing stay. Only issue was the free happy hour daily. I don't use alcohol and they wouldn't give me an O'Doul's (non-alcohol brew). Breakfast was good and popcorn in the lobby was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MustEatOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2008

Staying at the Shilo in Yuma was a great experience. i stayed there for almost 30 days and had no problems.
The staff was very helpfull with any special needs we had, ie stamps, mail, quarters for laundry, directions, etc.
We started work before the free breakfast at 6am, so they would pack us a breakfast burrito and have it ready for us every morning.
Free popcorn in the lobby at any hour.
2 Free drinks at happy hour.
For location, it was right off the freeway and just a short walk to the shopping center.
The hotel was always kept clean.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank thedonmiguel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2008

The staff was awesome! The hotel grounds were beautifu. Like an oasis in the desert! I walked in and immediatley was made to feel right at home.

My room was not only comfortable but immaculately cleaned as well.

The restaurant staff was terrific! the food was fantastic!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BonzoTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2008

Room definitely not worth the price. I was the phone system installer when they built this hotel back in 1985/86, I knew it wasnt worth the money, I just wanted to see what ever became of the hotel. The staff seems a little enthusiastic about its customers, I dont blame them, not much going on. I didnt care for anything they had to offer, Internet could be a little better. Food at restaurant was buffet level at best. I dont see the"fine dining" quality. The hotel just looks and has a "tired" feel. If that was my hotel, I would try to bring in some fun staff, wet t-shirt contests, volleyball championships, turn the restaurant into a sports bar, get the staff into lighter uniform so they can move around and get some hotter women working behind the counter. I would like to see Hooters invest in a hotel like this and Yuma would benefit from it and so would the locals.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank fmfdawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2008

The hotel is one of the oldest hotels in Yuma, a big building on beautiful grounds, well groomed outdoors and swimming pool excellently maintained by staff and management. The staff is very friendly and very customer oriented and willing to accommodate individual needs of their guests, night or day. I often stay there when I work nights and they always have a quiet room for me to sleep during the day. There is an attached restaurant that has the most beautiful view of Yuma valley that you can imagine and a wondefful big patio to watch the moon rise. The food is great with an outstanding breakfast bar. Management is very present around the hotel and all staff is so pleasant and polite. It is always a pleasure to stay there and I highly recommend this place. There are many choices on Yuma and it is a rather big hotel, but they provide a personable environment that feels very caring for the weay traveler.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank roroxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2007

Rooms were "okay"
Breakfast was below average
Pool was excellent
Staff friendly
Price was too much for what you got in return.

This is an average hotel, over-priced for the value received. Staff and pool made up for poor breakfast and older rooms.

Stayed: July 2007
2  Thank bgagnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yuma hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western InnSuites Yuma Mall Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
La Fuente Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Yuma
Radisson Hotel Yuma
#1 of 33 in Yuma
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Yuma
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Yuma
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Yuma Pivot Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shilo Inn & Suites - Yuma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shilo Inn & Suites - Yuma

Address: 1550 S Castle Dome Ave, Yuma, AZ 85365-1702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Yuma
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Yuma
Price Range: £59 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shilo Inn & Suites - Yuma 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The friendly staff at the Shilo Inn Hotel & Suites will welcome you with gracious Shilo hospitality. Each of the 134 spacious rooms and suites are tastefully decorated with southwestern furnishings. Children 12 and under always stay free with an adult at Shilo Inns. Dogs welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Shilo Inn & Suites - Yuma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing