We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sub par and quite strange...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Yuma
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Yuma
Reviewed 9 January 2014

My Dad and I spent a night in Yuma and weren't looking for anything fancy. What we got at the Microtel was far, far less than fancy. The man who checked us in mumbled and was rather expressionless. We didn't actually see the room until we came back later that night. The beds looked decent but the rest of the room was bare with very outdated and well worn furniture. No fridge, or coffee maker (i don't think I've ever been in a hotel without an in-suite coffee maker...even if there is complimentary beverages in the lobby...). The lighting in the room was bizarre. No lamps. Many switches didn't work. One long florescent light over the beds, yes over the beds. Probably the most unsettling aspect of our room was the huge mirrored wall that the beds were against. My Dad cracked a joke about 2-way mirrors and it was honestly the only thing I could think of for the rest of the night.
Yes we could have complained, but we were tired and weren't convinced that any other rooms would be different. Instead, I fell asleep in a mediocre bed with my blanket up to my chin in case someone was looking in on me, listening to the TV playing in the next room. Maybe acceptable for a $60/nt joint, but at $90 something after taxes we felt ripped.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vacay-J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (713)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

547 - 553 of 713 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2014

Had a bad sewer odour in our room at nite, on main floor, when we complained, the desk clerk said they have that happen on main floor sometimes!! We asked tobe moved, so he moved us to 2nd floor.WE HAD BAD HEAD ACHE"S for a number of days!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
Thank John H. W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Microtel_Yuma, Director of Sales at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Yuma, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

John,

Thank you for your feedback. I have sent you a private message and hope to hear from you.

Unfortuantelly, it appears that we had a maintenance issue during your stay. My apologies that the entire expereince was anything less than perfect.

However, thank you for alerting us and allowing us the opportunity to give you an alternate room. For all travelers at any hotel, we highly encourage this. If you have an issue small or large please inform the staff ASAP. It allows the property to make needed corrections for guests to help make the stay the best it can be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
Thank Sheldon L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Microtel_Yuma, Director of Sales at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Yuma, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 January 2014

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
Thank RICHARD G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Microtel_Yuma, Director of Sales at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Yuma, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Unfortunately, we were very displeased with our stay. The first night we were there, we ran our air conditioner to keep the air circulating, but the unit was so loud that it rattled the wall and we couldn't even hear our TV. We also had VERY loud neighbors that we could clearly hear arguing through the thin walls. At about 11pm, we had had enough so I called down to the front desk to complain and ask to change rooms, but got no answer. Called 3 or 4 times but never reached anyone. I banged on the walls but my neighbors didn't seem to care about how loud they were being. We did NOT stay for the second night we booked. I would very much like a refund for our second night if that is at all possible.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
Thank Ryan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Microtel_Yuma, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Yuma, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Ryan,

Thank you for writing. I have sent you a personal message and hope to hear from you.

Naturally, we hope that all guest stays go as well as possible. It was good that when having an issue you called the front desk, which is always recommended. Depending on what time of the late evening / early morning It appears that our night person may have been assisting a guest or doing a property check (we have someone posted 24/365).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Microtel_Yuma, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Yuma, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 December 2013

The condition and cleanliness of the room was not what I've experienced from this hotel in the past. The carpet was very very worn and dirty. The furniture was chipped and smudged. The staff however, was very good.
Towels seemed thread bare.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
Thank Dennis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Microtel_Yuma, Director of Sales at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Yuma, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Dennis,

Thank you for your feedback. I have sent you a private message and hope to hear from you.

Our goal like all hotels is to provide the best stay possible. In this case we did not live up to your expectations or ours. The message will be shared to our maintenance and housekeeping staff today. Please know that we do take pride in our business and hope to have you as a guest in the future.

For all guests, if you ever experience an issue large or small please inform the Front Desk so that may have the chance to help you with an issue during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yuma hotels
9.6 mi away
Best Western InnSuites Yuma Mall Hotel & Suites
9.4 mi away
La Fuente Inn & Suites
9.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Yuma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Yuma
10.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Yuma
9.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel Yuma
Radisson Hotel Yuma
#1 of 33 in Yuma
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Yuma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Yuma

Address: 10731 E South Frontage Rd, Yuma, AZ 85367-5628
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Yuma
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Yuma
Price Range: £44 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Yuma 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham provides guests the best value, comfort, and service in the area. We cater to leisure, commercial, and military/government travel. Our property features a mixture of quality standard rooms and suites at affordable pricing. We are conveniently located in the Yuma Foothills, just off of Fortuna Road and Interstate 8 (exit 12). Our location offers easy access to central Yuma, Marine Corps Air Station Yuma (MCAS), the Yuma Proving Grounds (YPG), Martinez Lake, and more. All stays include complementary: Continental breakfast, in-room wireless and wired Internet, and local and long distance calling with voicemail. Other property amenities include a heated pool and Jacuzzi, fitness room, business center, conference room, and a guest laundry. We are also on-site, inside of a 29 acre shopping center giving access to multiple restaurants and shops with-in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Yuma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn & Suites Of Yuma Hotel Yuma
Microtel Inn And Suites Of Yuma
Microtel Hotel Yuma
Yuma Microtel
Microtel Yuma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing