We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My new favorite Mexican Restaurant”
Review of El Zarape

El Zarape
Ranked #46 of 256 Restaurants in Yuma
Price range: US$2 - US$25
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Delivery
Description: High Quality and Generous Quantities Authentic Mexican cuisine from Sonora in family operated business. Under new management since 2012. Only licensed Certified Angus Beef offerings in the region. Original recipes and beverages. Catering. Parties, takeout and delivery. Generous portions and reasonable cost. Gift Cards and Discounts available. Great Reviews!
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My new favorite Mexican Restaurant”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

Went for lunch on a Sunday afternoon. The ample and secure parking lot was nearly full -- always a sign of good eats inside a restaurant you are visiting for the first time.

Very friendly staff sat us promptly at a booth and provided ample chips and delicious salsa. Decor was charming Mexican with murals and other regionally appropriate decorations. Authentic Mexican music was playing. Very pleasant and clean with a delicious aroma wafting through the air.

I had an enchilada-style burrito dinner plate and wife had a tostada. Food came promptly, even with the large crowd. It was absolutely delicious.

Prices were very reasonable. Our lunch came to just over $13 for the food and $7 for two imported Mexican beers.

Definitely recommend El Zarape for people looking for great Mexican food and a pleasant dining experience.

Helpful?
3 Thank Wendell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    10
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
yuma
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“great mexican food!!!!!!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

they are a great family run restaurant.......the food was excellent and service was good,prices are fair and they have a hot sauce that is killer....

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rickcasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Food is excellent, service is superb and prices very reasonable”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Went there with friends not expecting much after looking at the outside of the building and the inside decor. Surprise!!!the shrimp in my tacos were wonderful--not dried out or overdone, but nice sized shrimp. Jim had the super burrito... We thought the waitress was joking when she said it was 14". Say what??? Yup,she was right. And then it came with rice and beans. We almost had to move to another table just for his meal!! Shelly had the combo plate...she declared the chile relleno to be excellent. What a little gem... But remember you come here for food... You can't eat atmosphere!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Edmontonsmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Only 5 Reviews, Yuma you're missing out!”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I have to admit, I might have just walked on by El Zarape but the 5 reviewers REALLY seemed pleased and we wanted authentic Mexican food, so we decided to go for it! What a delightful experience - the waitress had a great, fun personality from the moment we walked in and the food was absolutely delicious!

My husband ordered the taco plate (3 tacos) and the waitress suggested (after his inquiring) he switch from 2 carne asada and 1 fish to 2 fish and 1 carne asada and he was quite pleased with the recommendation. He very much enjoyed carne asada but thought the fish tacos were incredible! My rolled tacos were terrific and the beans were YUMMY with lots of cheese.

The food was excellent, the service was phenomenal and the prices were very reasonable. Other reviewers were spot on, the Duron family has done an excellent job and their staff truly deserves to be commended on outstanding service! Wish San Diego wasn't so far from this fabulous find!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yuma
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“don`t miss this restaurant”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

they have new owners that are just great,,,,They have a special hot sauce that is very hot and good..The specials are very reasonable and the service is quick......The food is fresh and the dishes are abundant.how can you miss.......check it out and we will see you at least once a week,,especially on Tuesday.....

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rickcasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to El Zarape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing