We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Hotel”
Review of Holiday Inn Yuma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Yuma
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Yuma
Reviewed 24 September 2007

Brand new Holiday Inn is clean, friendly and close to lots of places to eat. The rooms are contemporary and look high end. The only drawback was the wall are a little thin and you can hear folks walking above. The A/C was loud enough to drown that out. Even with the walls, I'll be staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank tempejim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2007

Stayed here one night on a cross country vacation. What a great hotel! Both the website directions and google directions are misleading, so it was difficult to find from the highway. But we were glad we did, because our short stay was excellent. The place STILL seems brand new. Everything was clean and in working order. The restaurant staff was friendly. The kids loved the restaurant because each booth has its own flat screen tv. The pool was terrific. Very clean, plenty of towels. Front desk staff friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again, and I recommend it to any traveler without hesitation. Holiday Inns have become inconsistent and unpredictable, but Yuma shines!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank threedixiegrits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2007

If you are a *very* sociable person, this is the place for you!
Even for a new hotel I was surprised at how easily I could hear the neighbors. And their TVs. It has been by far the worst place for privacy I have ever stayed. Terrible.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank zzyzxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2007

I was in Yuma in December for a dog show. This Holiday Inn is a GREAT place to stay. It is new, immaculate, friendly hotel staff and very near the new mall with lots of good places to eat and wonderful shops. The room was clean, spacious and modern with microwave and refrigerator, and the restaurant was open early for a hearty breakfast. My dog and I were treated very nicely by the staff. I highly recommend this hotel.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank chicsinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2006

We were on a road trip recently, and made it to Yuma! As I am a platinum card holder - hunted out the Holiday Inn - which is difficult as there are no signs once you are off the Freeway! Got a walk-in rate of $99 - plus the obligatory hidden US taxes.(why cant you just include the taxes???) Hotel seems brand new - lovely rooms - spotlessly clean - ours had a microwave and was on the top floor.
Nearby is a brand new shopping centre and cinema complex. When we arrived, we headed over there for a bite to eat. Seemingly like most American hotels, they are right by the freeway! - not much of a view and can be noisy all night. Did not have time to use the nice pool area - headed out of town in the morning!

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank Gags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2006

We were on a family vacation and visiting friends in Yuma and were lucky enough to stumble on the Holiday Inn Yuma. What a beautiful new motel. Town was packed because of car shows and other events so the hotel was booked. Beds were comfortable, service was great, staff was friendly. Pool area was nice even though overcrowded one afternoon. I would stay here again in a heartbeat and will if we go down again next winter. Lots of activities and good eating in same area. Also lots of good shopping. Stay here you won't be sorry.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Leslie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2005

Good things happened when I first called to book a room at the Holiday Inn, Yuma. The gal who fielded my call hooked me up with the rate I needed, and was just plain nice to talk to, a real plus in my book. I ride my motorcycle as often as I can when I travel, and my trip to Yuma was no exception. Upon arrival, after a stirring trip through a sandstorm in the Imperial Dunes, I presented myself at the check-in desk looking something like James Mason's portrayal of Erwin Rommel in "The Desert Fox".

No worries; glad to see you. Check-in was quick and utterly painless.

My room was exceptional for a hotel in this price class. The decor seeks to lift its nostrils above the corporate cheese of the normal and the beds are, no kidding, really comfortable. The place is pet-friendly, has Wi-Fi on the ground floor (restaurant, bar, lobby, poolside) but you have to plug in for Internet service in the rooms via a (supplied at the desk) Cat-5 cable. Broadband is free for guests, however, and painless in all regards. I am posting this review from an immaculate poolside, feet propped up on a table, livin' the dream.

Not bad at all.

This hotel opened in June of 2005 and still shows its newness. The trees are planted, but it is going to be a few years before there will be shade to speak of in the parking lot. On the other hand, everything here just seems to sparkle. And it's not just the newness; whoever is running this joint has hired an excellent staff, top to bottom. Housekeeping is exceptional, the wait staff make sure you get what you want, and the place is just plain spotless. It's as clean a hotel as I have ever stayed in, and I have stayed in a bunch. Just today, while shuffling myself into the bar to get myself a tall, frosty beer, I noticed a housekeeper pulling one of the outside garbage cans out of the way so she could retrieve a carelessly discarded cigarette butt from behind it. Which brings me to:

Smoking ---

This place is a no-smoking facility, top to bottom. You cannot smoke anywhere in the building so if that is important to you, book elsewhere. Personally, even though I do smoke, I don't mind going outside to burn one. I never smoke inside my own home, either, and fully understand the reluctance of non-smokers to put up with ciggy funk.

Service ---

The restaurant, bar, and guest staff are so "up on the step" that I cannot say anything, anything, bad about them. What a great crew! They have made me feel very welcome here. In so many hotels I have stayed, the staff "play" nice, but there is often a kind of subtextual bitterness imparted like outdated mints on the pillow: not here. These folks are genuinely nice people who care about what they do, and want to do it well.

The Food ---
Whoever is working the grill in back is doing a good job with what he or she has to work with. I have only been eating in the restaurant for breakfast, but I can tell you one thing: Holiday Inn coffee reeks and Holiday Inn potatoes reek worse. You know, good coffee is easy to find: I recommend Jose's brand Colombian Supremo for your daily dose (from Costco) and as far as potatoes go, just go get a potato and cook it however you like. Unfortunately, Holiday Inn has settled on a "Corporate Tie-In" with some goddamned Maxwell House/Folger's/or some-other-bozo coffee supplier and the result is torture.

Bad coffee.

I would say not to get me started on the potatoes, but it's too late: This noble tuber, nourisher of the huddled, has found its final debauchment at the hands of the Holiday Inn. A curse upon all who conspire to remove the potato from our hearts, and the Holiday Inn is trying its best to do just that. Do me a favor, stay at a Holiday Inn, and complain about the potatoes, won't you? There is simply no excuse for serving airy, tasteless, disgusting, potatoes to anyone, but that is what you will get at every Holiday Inn, nationwide.

Hot Elevators:

Whoever engineered the elevators at the Holiday Inn, Yuma, neglected to inform themselves of the peculiarities of the Sonora Desert. It is very hot here. When you step into the elevators, prepare to sweat. Apparently, there is a direct conduit of heat from the outside desert into the very shafts of the elevators you must use to reach your room. They are hot as a sauna. As I mentioned, I rode my motorcycle here, and when I climb off it in the desert sun, I am usually pretty hot: but not as hot as I am when I step on to the elevators here! I am tempted to lodge a few rocks onboard and pour some water on them while riding up and down the shafts. The only thing these elevators are missing is fat mafiosi in bathtowels.

Overall:

Okay, so I burned them on the coffee, potatoes, and the lifts. But truth is, none of that holds a candle to the exceptional service, kindness, professionalism, and cleanliness, of this place. I will go out of my way in any future travels to Yuma, Arizona, to stay right here. Something tells me it may be tough: when word gets out about this place, I will probably have to book months in advance.

Posted from Yuma, AZ, 10-7-2005

Stayed: October 2005
18  Thank axesbowledaslove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yuma hotels
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Yuma Pivot Point
0.7 mi away
Best Western InnSuites Yuma Mall Hotel & Suites
0.8 mi away
Radisson Hotel Yuma
Radisson Hotel Yuma
#2 of 33 in Yuma
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Yuma
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Yuma
0.4 mi away
La Fuente Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Yuma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Yuma

Address: 1901 E 18th Street, Yuma, AZ 85365-2041
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Yuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Yuma
#11 Business Hotel in Yuma
Price Range: £85 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Yuma 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Yuma Hotel represents the best of both worlds by offering an upscale stay, at a not so upscale price. The Holiday Inn Yuma is a premiere full service non-smoking hotel, only minutes from the Marine Corps Air Station, Yuma Proving Grounds and the new Yuma Palms Mall.The newly built hotel features a restaurant, lounge, meeting and banquet facilities, and a self-serve sundries shop. The Holiday Inn Yuma Hotel boasts a beautiful outdoor swimming pool and hot tub oasis that is suited to both sun worshippers and shade seekers alike. With more travelers wanting to maintain their exercise routines while on the road, the hotel also offers a fitness center equipped with state-of-the-art cardiovascular equipment. When it is time to get down to business, the Holiday Inn allows you to do it without leaving the front doors. The fully equipped business center provides guests with everything they need including a full-size photocopier and two high-speed ready workstations. The meeting rooms also feature a generous pre-function area and come complete with audio-visual equipment. Kem's restaurant and lounge showcases an extensive menu, as well as a comprehensive daily hot breakfast selection, in a cool and comfortable atmosphere. All 121 beautifully decorated rooms are non-smoking and appointed with everything required to ensure your stay will be an enjoyable experience which includes complimentary hi-speed Internet! Holiday Inn, Look Again! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Yuma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Yuma Hotel Yuma
Yuma Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing