We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay, friendly staff”
Review of Yuma Cabana Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yuma Cabana Motel
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Yuma
Grootschermer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great place to stay, friendly staff”
Reviewed 25 October 2012

I have stayed at the Yuma Cabana many times in the past.
In May 2012 new owners took over and fired some of the staff members I had gotten to know and like.
Frankly, this made me hesitant to go back.

I did go back though.
And was welcomed by a very nice desk clerk named Darlene.
Because I had been here before I did not have to fill out the whole form, just sign it, hand over my credit card and then I got my key.
Very fast, very efficient - just great after a long drive.
A few days later we chatted and discovered we both have a love of birds and photographing them in common.

All rooms have La-Z-Boy-recliners.
Mine didn't recline because someone had broken off the handle.

I left a note about that for the housekeeper and immediately the chair was replaced.
Nice!

I also got an extra notepad. Turned out the housekeeper (Sonia) had recognized my name and had remembered that I love those notepads! This made me feel extra welcome and I especially appreciated it because I hadn't stayed here in over a year and when I did stay here that last time she had not even been my housekeeper.

When Sonia cleaned my room for the last time (I was leaving the next day) she even left me a short note saying she had missed me and hoped I would be back soon.
What a wonderful way to make a guest feel appreciated!

I love the spacious apartment (Rm 227), enjoyed sitting on my balcony, really appreciated the very fast WiFi internet.

I read on TripAdvisor that some guests have experienced problems with the plumbing and bad service.
I feel bad about that and all I can say is that apart from the problem with the chair (which was quickly resolved) I have had no problems at all.
On the contrary. Everyone has been very nice and helpful.
I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JDm452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    39
    15
    11
    10
See reviews for
11
41
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Crescent City, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

After I checked in I was told that the pump on the water heater was broken and that I would have to let the water run for a long time to get hot water. It turned out to be much longer than I expected because the shower head is stoped up and only a trickle comes out. When I flushed the toilet this morning it backed up into the shower and then on to the floor getting my feet soaked with raw sewage. When I called the desk about it the man said there was nothing he could do untill the cleaning staff came in to work. After a while I went to the office and asked if I could barrow a mop so I could mop it up. Again he said "there is nothing I can do". When I pressed him some more he came and mopped up. I'm glad I decided to pay for only one night. I will move to some other motel tonight. I am in room 104.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Yuma hotels

Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Had found this recommended by people on Tripadvisor so gave it a go. It was by far our best motel experience with a friendly, helpful receptionist and clean, if slightly dated, rooms at a good price. Didn't get to try the swimming pool but it looked fine

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

I stayed here overnight in early July with the wife and our puppy. The staff was very friendly and welcoming toward our entire family, including the pooch. They said we could leave the puppy in the room as long as he didn't bark. They took our cell phone number in case there was any problems with barking. The room was very clean and well maintained for a budget motel except for the bathroom sink. The water from the tap stunk like rotten eggs. The shower water was fine so we used that for shaving and brushing our teeth. The AC kept the room about 70 degrees despite 100 degree heat outside but it never got colder. We stayed in room 103, very close to the 4-lane street that fronts the motel. The staff assured us traffic noise wouldn't be a nuisance and they were right. The pool was clean and fairly warm by 9 AM so we even got a swim in before checking out. Other than the minus 1 star for the tap water, I was very pleased with our stay and would recommend the Yuma Cabana to anybody on a budget.

Room Tip: The first floor rooms have sliding patio doors that lead to the parking lot so that you can park rig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrBoxty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

I chose this motel for a one night stopover in Yuma based on Tripadvisor reviews. I was not disappointed. It is dated but is clean, quiet, comfortable and well maintained.

The staff was friendly and efficient.

It is my understanding that the motel has changed ownership recently. It is my hope that the new owners will maintain the excellent standard of service I experienced.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pedalcrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We were on continue travelling and found this a beautiful location to spend the night .
we want to stay longer because everything were well, the position, the chambers, the swimming pool where you can BBQ
the rooms are big with large good beds .
the nights are there nice quiet.
very pleasant staff at the reception
fast internet

Room Tip: no tip everything was ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ronloris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

I won't repeat all of the positive comments that have already been posted about the Yuma Cabana other than to say I found it well located for an overnight stop. The room far exceeded my expectations, it was large, clean and the bed was very comfortable. The pool looked wonderful, although I didn't get a chance to try it. The continental breakfast was more than adequate when you consider the price. There are lots of places to eat and drink in the immediate vicinity - just don't try the India Palace, tiny portions and very expensive! If in Yuma, stay here.

Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yuma hotels
1.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Yuma
0.1 mi away
El Rancho Hotel
El Rancho Hotel
#23 of 33 in Yuma
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.5 mi away
Friendship Inn Torch Lite Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hacienda Motel Yuma
0.7 mi away
Arizona Inn & Suites
0.7 mi away
Motel 6 Yuma - Oldtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yuma Cabana Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yuma Cabana Motel

Property: Yuma Cabana Motel
Address: 2151 S 4th Ave, Yuma, AZ 85364-6433
Region: United States > Arizona > Yuma
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Yuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Yuma Cabana Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on a main strip in Yuma, away from freeway congestion, the Yuma Cabana Motel offers a price for value that simply cannot be beat. Perhaps the top independently owned property in Yuma, the Yuma Cabana offers 63 large, 100% non-smoking rooms that are constantly upgraded to keep a fresh and modern feel. Here's some of what we offer: Personalized customer service, rated two diamond from AAA, free HBO, free high speed internet, free continental breakfast, hairdryers, eco-friendly saltwater swimming pool, refrigerators, and microwaves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Yuma Cabana Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yuma Cabana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing