We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Again, the Cabana is a winner”
Review of Yuma Cabana Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yuma Cabana Motel
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Yuma
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
63 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Again, the Cabana is a winner”
Reviewed 19 March 2009

Just an update from our previous review: This is still our fave in Yuma, well priced, clean and comfortable. There has been some extensive remodeling, at least in our unit, and we like this place even more. Their pool no longer used chlorine, it is salt water based, and very clean. Fridge, microwave, good wired internet: all add to this motel's qualities.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lesbriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    39
    15
    11
    10
See reviews for
11
41
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2008

This is an older style motel and is clean. The beds were however pretty uncomfortable and there was a strange smell in the corridors! Check in and the front desk were very helpful. There was nothing particularly good or bad about the place and would be ok if you were staying for a couple of nights!

  • Liked — nothing in particular
  • Disliked — nothing in particular
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lvera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2008

I stayed here for three nights on business at the recommendation of my boss. Let me begin by stating that I am not usually an especially finicky person, and I have stayed at my share of dives in my time. I travel a lot, and I've seen it all. This place, however, has some gross stuff going on!

THE BAD:
The hallways has an overwhelming, musty odor. I'd be interested to see a mold inspection report for this building.

The carpet in the room was filthy, and felt dank and clammy. Again, mold was a huge concern for me.

The matress was stained, with numerous cigarette burns, and had no pad, just a cheap, thin sheet over it. It sagged and was horribly uncomfortable. Apparently, I did not get one of the "good" beds. The blanket on the bed had several "personal" stains on it and had obviously not been washed recently.

My stay coincided with the peak of Dove Hunting Season, so the hallways were filled nightly with drunk hunters wandering from room to room. The doors are paper thin, which made getting any sleep a challenge given the party atmosphere in the hallways.

THE GOOD:
The front desk staff were courteous and friendly. If not for them, this review would have earned a 1/5.

I will not be staying at this motel again, despite several trips a year to Yuma for work.

  • Liked — Front Desk staff
  • Disliked — it was disgusting!!!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sakpase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaCrawford, Owner at Yuma Cabana Motel, responded to this review, 6 October 2008
Dear Guests:

I always appreciate feedback from guests, good or bad. It's what makes our business better and better. There is no better feedback than from someone who experiences the room and the service. I have always encouraged honest feedback, and often I get it! :) And when I have an unhappy guest, I have gone above and beyond to make them happy. I have even put guests up elsewhere, if we have run into a situation that can't be cured in that moment, and we are booked solid.

At the Yuma Cabana Motel we "guarantee" guest satisfaction - before you leave. In every room you will find a suggestion/complaint card and we direct all unhappy guests to our Front Desk Manager or Maintenance Manager for immediate assistance. My personal toll-free telephone number is printed right there, in the event response from management is inadequate. I am sorry that we did not hear any complaint from this person. If we had, we would have taken care of the situation, or at a minimum, given a refund. There isn't much we can do for a guest that continues to stay in an unsatisfactory room, but doesn't complain or give us a chance to fix the problem. I am very sorry for the situation, and would have liked the opportunity to correct the issue at the time it occurred.

Sincerely yours,

Melissa Crawford
Owner, Yuma Cabana Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Yuma hotels

Farr West ,Utah
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2008

A good motel to stay in .The year of 2009 will be are 4th time to stay in YUMA.Rooms are quite and house keeping is very good.
The only fault we found was the bed was worn out and very uncomfortable.We stay about 10 days. I ask if in 2009 if could have new mattress on the beds in room 130.We really like this room and hate to change to anotherroom. They said there were no plans to change mattress . But if you could it would be nice.
Thanks a lot.
[-]

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank mj3837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, WA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2008

The Yuma Cabana is an older motel in the heart of Yuma that is in excellent shape. The owner, Melissa, takes personal pride in the motel. She even emailed us several times. We stayed for a week.

The staff is very accomodating, the pool area is just fine and the internet connections are quick. The beds are also newer and firm. The maid service is also very good.

The Yuma Cabana is a nice choice for people who want a secure location that has all the amenities, like grocery stores and restaurants, within a few blocks. We ran into several couples who have stayed there year after year.

  • Liked — Great location
  • Disliked — Small rooms
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Spokane12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covington, Washington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2008

We were looking for a motel closer to my parent's home in Yuma and found Yuma Cabana through TripAdvisor. The cost was so much less ($211 total for a Deluxe King room for three nights) than the chain motel places we had stayed in previously, but the quality was much better. The staff was very friendly and professional.
We stayed in room 101. The room was large, exceptionally clean and in excellent shape. We had a king-sized bed, desk with chair and large armchair. It was on the poolside and had a patio door with two chairs provided to sit outside if we wanted to. The windows on the street side were opaque glass for privacy even when we had the shades open. A microwave and refrigerator were also in the room.
The bathroom was very big. The shower had a great shower head, and a shower seat was provided in case someone needed to sit and wash. There is a door between the shower/toilet area and the sink area, but none between the sink and room.
The only sounds we heard from other rooms were when doors closed in the hallway. There were traffic sounds since our room was on the road end, but the air conditioner fan was enough to cover it.
The continental breakfast consisted of coffee, juice and muffins.
We have already recommended this motel to other members of our family who will be visiting Yuma.

  • Liked — Large, clean room away from major traffic.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lumsden, SK
1 review
Reviewed 2 March 2008

We had a room with two double beds and a balcony overlooking the inner courtyard and pool area. The room had a small fridge and a microwave and coffee pot. Large TV and remote. Clock. On arrival the room was clean and smelled clean. Plenty of clean white towels with no "used" smell about them. Maid service daily was second to none. They did an exceptional job.

Pool was superior with no chlorine but as clean as your own bath at home. The salt water system used to keep this pool hygenic is simply a joy to swim in. Around the pool you can enjoy a picnic lunch or Bar B Q your own hamburgers or hotdogs. There are tables, lounges and chairs and lots of umbrellas. An area pleasing to the eye. Always kept very clean and neat.

Staff were pleasant, helpful and professional. Couldn't have asked for a better experience. Everything about our stay was #1. We shall return to the Yuma Cabana. Not the fanciest of Motels, but definitely a well operated business enterprise.

Oh, and the small laundry wasn't fancy but each of the two washers and dryers worked well and quickly.

If I had any suggestions for the owners/management of this Motel it would be to add a couple of kinds of cereal to the Continental Breakfast and perhaps put a couple of chairs near the laundry area. Otherwise, my husband and I couldn't have been more pleased with our accommodation and our stay.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank Saskanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yuma hotels
1.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Yuma
0.1 mi away
El Rancho Hotel
El Rancho Hotel
#23 of 33 in Yuma
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.5 mi away
Friendship Inn Torch Lite Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hacienda Motel Yuma
0.7 mi away
Arizona Inn & Suites
0.7 mi away
Motel 6 Yuma - Oldtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yuma Cabana Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yuma Cabana Motel

Property: Yuma Cabana Motel
Address: 2151 S 4th Ave, Yuma, AZ 85364-6433
Region: United States > Arizona > Yuma
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Yuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Yuma Cabana Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on a main strip in Yuma, away from freeway congestion, the Yuma Cabana Motel offers a price for value that simply cannot be beat. Perhaps the top independently owned property in Yuma, the Yuma Cabana offers 63 large, 100% non-smoking rooms that are constantly upgraded to keep a fresh and modern feel. Here's some of what we offer: Personalized customer service, rated two diamond from AAA, free HBO, free high speed internet, free continental breakfast, hairdryers, eco-friendly saltwater swimming pool, refrigerators, and microwaves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Yuma Cabana Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yuma Cabana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing