We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good value”
Review of Yuma Cabana Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yuma Cabana Motel
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Yuma
Arizona
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very good value”
Reviewed 17 October 2009

We stopped at the Yuma Cabana Motel in mid-October. I was more than a little concerned about our stay because of mixed reviews. However the price, less than $50 with tax was appealing. The motel is in the old part of Yuma about a mile off of I-8. The motel itself is old. However, it is well maintained and very clean. Our room was not large but clean and quite satisfactory for our one night there. The bed was comfortable, sheets and towels clean. The air was on when we arrived but it was not a particularily warm evening. My one concern might be the air conditioning in the summer because Yuma can get very warm and it looked as if the one outside wall was also an interior wall. Overall however this motel was an very good value for the price.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vince47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    39
    15
    11
    10
See reviews for
11
41
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2009

Very average place to stay, no frills, rooms could do with an upgrade.

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ross_Eld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2009

This is a very decent indie motel, and very clean. The best at this price point, no doubt. But you are not getting the Four Seasons here, just a good, clean motel. And this is the way every motel at this price point should be; its not an expensive thing to make sure housekeeping does a good job. Even with 5 HBO's, the cable is a little lacking. And it amazes me what people will call a "continental" breakfast. Yuma Cabana offers machine-type packaged pastries, coffee. Lots of preservatives and sugar. But this place is the best of the inexpensive motels.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markfoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2009

We stayed here on the strength of the other reviews and were glad we did. Budget digs ($50 for king-size bed), includes refrigerator. It was nice to be able to open the sliding-glass door and get a cool breeze; pretty bougainvillea too.
Continental breakfast nothing to write home about (cellophane-wrapped processed pastries), but that's no surprise given the reasonable price, and there is a Starbucks about a mile down the road.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tumblingwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
63 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2009

Just an update from our previous review: This is still our fave in Yuma, well priced, clean and comfortable. There has been some extensive remodeling, at least in our unit, and we like this place even more. Their pool no longer used chlorine, it is salt water based, and very clean. Fridge, microwave, good wired internet: all add to this motel's qualities.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lesbriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2008

This is an older style motel and is clean. The beds were however pretty uncomfortable and there was a strange smell in the corridors! Check in and the front desk were very helpful. There was nothing particularly good or bad about the place and would be ok if you were staying for a couple of nights!

  • Liked — nothing in particular
  • Disliked — nothing in particular
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lvera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2008

I stayed here for three nights on business at the recommendation of my boss. Let me begin by stating that I am not usually an especially finicky person, and I have stayed at my share of dives in my time. I travel a lot, and I've seen it all. This place, however, has some gross stuff going on!

THE BAD:
The hallways has an overwhelming, musty odor. I'd be interested to see a mold inspection report for this building.

The carpet in the room was filthy, and felt dank and clammy. Again, mold was a huge concern for me.

The matress was stained, with numerous cigarette burns, and had no pad, just a cheap, thin sheet over it. It sagged and was horribly uncomfortable. Apparently, I did not get one of the "good" beds. The blanket on the bed had several "personal" stains on it and had obviously not been washed recently.

My stay coincided with the peak of Dove Hunting Season, so the hallways were filled nightly with drunk hunters wandering from room to room. The doors are paper thin, which made getting any sleep a challenge given the party atmosphere in the hallways.

THE GOOD:
The front desk staff were courteous and friendly. If not for them, this review would have earned a 1/5.

I will not be staying at this motel again, despite several trips a year to Yuma for work.

  • Liked — Front Desk staff
  • Disliked — it was disgusting!!!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sakpase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaCrawford, Owner at Yuma Cabana Motel, responded to this review, 6 October 2008
Dear Guests:

I always appreciate feedback from guests, good or bad. It's what makes our business better and better. There is no better feedback than from someone who experiences the room and the service. I have always encouraged honest feedback, and often I get it! :) And when I have an unhappy guest, I have gone above and beyond to make them happy. I have even put guests up elsewhere, if we have run into a situation that can't be cured in that moment, and we are booked solid.

At the Yuma Cabana Motel we "guarantee" guest satisfaction - before you leave. In every room you will find a suggestion/complaint card and we direct all unhappy guests to our Front Desk Manager or Maintenance Manager for immediate assistance. My personal toll-free telephone number is printed right there, in the event response from management is inadequate. I am sorry that we did not hear any complaint from this person. If we had, we would have taken care of the situation, or at a minimum, given a refund. There isn't much we can do for a guest that continues to stay in an unsatisfactory room, but doesn't complain or give us a chance to fix the problem. I am very sorry for the situation, and would have liked the opportunity to correct the issue at the time it occurred.

Sincerely yours,

Melissa Crawford
Owner, Yuma Cabana Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Yuma hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yuma hotels
1.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Yuma
0.1 mi away
El Rancho Hotel
El Rancho Hotel
#23 of 33 in Yuma
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.5 mi away
Friendship Inn Torch Lite Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hacienda Motel Yuma
0.7 mi away
Arizona Inn & Suites
0.7 mi away
Motel 6 Yuma - Oldtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yuma Cabana Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yuma Cabana Motel

Property: Yuma Cabana Motel
Address: 2151 S 4th Ave, Yuma, AZ 85364-6433
Region: United States > Arizona > Yuma
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Yuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Yuma Cabana Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on a main strip in Yuma, away from freeway congestion, the Yuma Cabana Motel offers a price for value that simply cannot be beat. Perhaps the top independently owned property in Yuma, the Yuma Cabana offers 63 large, 100% non-smoking rooms that are constantly upgraded to keep a fresh and modern feel. Here's some of what we offer: Personalized customer service, rated two diamond from AAA, free HBO, free high speed internet, free continental breakfast, hairdryers, eco-friendly saltwater swimming pool, refrigerators, and microwaves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Yuma Cabana Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yuma Cabana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing