We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coronado Motor Hotel-Yuma
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Yuma
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fakapuna
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Surprised”
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Check in was slow and I was the only person in the lobby, check out was quick. The property is in an older part of Yuma. It is spread out across the street and such. You get a complimentary breakfast coupon for "The Landing" which I used. Breakfast was OK but it was free so to speak so no complaints. Back to the hotel, the exterior reminded me of the Bates Motel. This was just an observation and I don't mean to be negative. The room was spacious and there was a flat screen TV. The windows are very old and don't feel safe. Each room has a rod iron chair and table outside the front door which is a nice place to sit and mingle with other guests. The proximity to the road and bad windows contribute to the room being loud/noisy. Everything else about the motel not hotel was average. I am not sure about the area yet as there was a bum that walked by and a large intimidating man that appeared to have no purpose on the property that sort of sneaked up on me. This review comes across as negative but my stay was overall very pleasant. I would stay here again for $75 or less.

Room Tip: Can't think of any tips for this property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fakapuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne P, General Manager at Coronado Motor Hotel-Yuma, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Looking forward to your return to Yuma. We have made a alot of changes in the recent month so waiting for your comments on your next visit to the Best Western Coronado.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    97
    44
    24
    10
See reviews for
59
111
25
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We recently took a trip to Yuma and were looking forward to staying at the Best Western Coronado hotel in the historic district of town. The hotel is touted as a charming, historical property with beautiful landscaping and upgraded rooms.
Generally it was a disappointment, despite the welcoming and friendly front desk staff. In actual fact, it is a very basic motel on a busy street. There have been some attempt to upgrade the beds and the TV, but the kitchenette units and bathrooms are needing attention in both modernization and in cleanliness. There was a very small swimming pool surrounded by concrete with no landscaping. The sound of traffic was audible day and night, and the back window of our unit looked out on a blank wall.
A full breakfast was included in a neighboring restaurant, which was nice, but the bar in this restaurant was also an off track betting establishment, which did not entice us to patronize it the remainder of the day. No other restaurants are within walking distance.
Staying in the historic area of Yuma does not offer much for the tourist. There have been an attempt to revitalize the downtown, but with little success to this point, since many properties are vacant, and people are not around, especially in the evening. This establishment was at best 2 star in our experience, and should not be represented as 3+ stars. We would not stay here again, and were surprised that the Best Western logo did not provide us with the service and accommodation we are accustomed to.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shimmerlinglife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne P, General Manager at Coronado Motor Hotel-Yuma, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Thank you for your comments on your stay. Sorry we did stand up to your expectations. We have been renovating the hotel for the past several months, We are almost completed so please return and give us a second chance to show you the changes.We appreciate your business and looking forward to your return to Best Western.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

We took a suite across the road from the check in desk, hoping it would be big enough for three people and two pets. It had two bedrooms each with an air-conditioner, which was glacial, but there wasn't enough room for three average-size suitcases let alone our camera bags and our cooler. The bathroom didn't have a vanity to lay out our toothpaste and toothbrushes. I don't know the square footage, but it was much smaller than the average motel room. Maybe that's because it was built in 1938 and was one of the original Best Westerns.

Room Tip: The suite with the kitchen used to be the best room, but they've permanently rented it out to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne P, General Manager at Coronado Motor Hotel-Yuma, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Thanks you for your comments about your recent stay with us. I'm sorry the the room you had was not what you expected. One of the advance of this hotel is we have so many room types next time you book a room, book the excutive suite. That is a room with a sofa sleeper and a King size bed, plus another room with a Queen size bed. These rooms also have two TV's but have a lot more room. Looking forward to your call when you return to Yuma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lompoc
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

My wife and I were a little skeptical at first, but we were pleasantly surprised. Nice room and easy location to get too. We also enjoyed the breakfast every morning. We would stay Here again and are planning too in the near future.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lompocian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne P, General Manager at Coronado Motor Hotel-Yuma, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Thank you for your comments about your recent visit to our hotel. Looking forward to your next visit. We really appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

My family and I stayed 2 nights (and commuted back and forth to the imperial sand dunes during the day). Pulled into the complex and was a little surprised that it was older and not a traditional style hotel. Went to check-in and the staff was great, offering me a nice room with 2 queen beds. I booked through Priceline and so I asked if I could upgrade to a suite, which they happily said no problem. I paid just an additional $10/night, which I thought was more than fair. I got to the suite and there was a problem with the HUGE PLASMA TV in the main room. Went back to the front desk and they came out to check, and verified there was a problem. The very nice lady then offered to upgrade me to a deluxe suite for no additional charge. This was exceptional service. I enjoyed the size of the room and my kids had their own room with tv/dvd as well. The included breakfast at restaurant next door was average to above average, much more than you get other places. Thank you so much for a wonderful stay and we hope to stay there with you again next month. High recommend!

Ryan Van Langen

Room Tip: Go for a suite if you have any kids... much more room and kids have own tv/dvd in their room. It w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne P, General Manager at Coronado Motor Hotel-Yuma, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
We apprecaite your comments and glad you enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Priceline and other sites rate this place as 3 stars. Sorry but no. At best 1.5 to 2 stars. Located on the old highway through town, noise from passing vehicles continues all night. Unsafe part of town so don't venture outside at night. Room was very tastefully updated and everything worked just fine. Staff really went out of their way to make us feel welcome. They could see the look of surprise on our faces when we arrived. Had it not been prepaid we would have left. Free breakfast is across the street in a local pub.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yvrtravelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne P, General Manager at Coronado Motor Hotel-Yuma, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
We want to thank you for your comments about your stay at the hotel. We are located in the historic area of Yuma, but the county sheriff dept. is right behind the hotel. So I think we are in a pretty safe area. Noise is normally out of our hands but I recommend on your next stay ask for a quiet area and we will do our best. We apprecaite your business and are looking forward to you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013 via mobile

I love vintage motels and often get off an interstate to find one. This Best Western provided a nice upgraded vintage motor inn room for our one night stay. It was very clean and the bed comfortable. It consists a several properties that are centrally managed so I can only report on my room. Breakfast was included and served in the restaurant across from my building. I have no complaints about my stay and would recommend this vintage motel to friends.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mmcquest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne P, General Manager at Coronado Motor Hotel-Yuma, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
We want to thank you for letting us know about your stay here at he Best Western Coronado. We apprecaite your comments and are looking forward to your next visit to Yuma, Arizona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yuma hotels
2.0 mi away
La Fuente Inn & Suites
1.7 mi away
Best Western InnSuites Yuma Mall Hotel & Suites
2.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Yuma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel Yuma
Radisson Hotel Yuma
#2 of 33 in Yuma
825 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Yuma Pivot Point
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Yuma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coronado Motor Hotel-Yuma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coronado Motor Hotel-Yuma

Property: Coronado Motor Hotel-Yuma
Address: 233 S 4th Ave, Yuma, AZ 85364-2231 (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Yuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Yuma
#8 Business Hotel in Yuma
#10 Family Hotel in Yuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Coronado Motor Hotel-Yuma 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this Yuma hotel - newly renovated, close to Colorado River, Mexico and California border. The historic Coronado Motor Hotel is near the Imperial Sand Dunes, the Yuma Territorial Prison, the Federal East and West Wetland Area and the Yuma Crossing National Heritage Area, Yuma Crossing State Park, St. Thomas Mission, and Lake Martinez are also conveniently nearby. Hotel is 5 miles to Yuma International Airport and 10 minutes to Marine Corp. Air Station, 25 minutes to Yuma Army Proving Grounds. Hotel offers government rate year round and last room availability. Affordable guest rooms are newly remodeled and equipped with refrigerator, microwave, flat screen cable television with HBO and free hard wired and wireless high-speed Internet access. Guests will wake each morning to a complimentary full cooked-to-order breakfast. Amenities include 2 outdoor swimming pools, hot tub, fitness center, 3 guest laundries, and 2 full-service business centers. The hotel also boasts an onsite cocktail lounge, the Hanger Sports Bar, an Espresso Bar, and dining room Pets are welcome for a small fee. Business travelers will appreciate the hotel's proximity to the Yuma County Courthouse, the Boeing Training Station, the Bose Factory, Dole Food and the Marine Corps Base. For superior customer service and a convenient location, make a reservation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Coronado Motor Hotel-Yuma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Yuma
Yuma Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing